Canadian Cancer Society logo

Non-Hodgkin lymphoma

You are here: 

Lymphoplasmacytic lymphoma

Lymphoplasmacytic lymphoma gets its name because the lymphoma cells have characteristics of both lymphocytes and plasma cells. It is an uncommon type of non-Hodgkin lymphoma (NHL), accounting for about 1–2% of all lymphomas. It is a B-cell lymphoma. Lymphoplasmacytic lymphoma may also be called immunocytoma or Waldenstrom’s macroglobulinemia (WM).

With lymphoplasmacytic lymphoma, the lymphoma cells are usually found in the bone marrow, lymph nodes and spleen. This type of NHL usually occurs in older adults.

Large amounts of a protein called immunoglobulin M (IgM or macroglobulin) are made by the lymphoma cells. Increased amounts of this protein in the blood can cause the blood to thicken (hyperviscosity syndrome) and lead to problems with circulation, such as decreased blood flow to organs like the brain or eyes. This can cause:

  • dizziness
  • headache
  • blurring or loss of vision
  • numbness and tingling of the fingers or toes (peripheral neuropathy) and other neurologic symptoms

People with lymphoplasmacytic lymphoma tend to bleed easily. They also have fatigue and weakness.

Lymphoplasmacytic lymphoma is usually a slow-growing (indolent) lymphoma. Sometimes it can change (transform) into an aggressive large cell lymphoma.

Treatment

Lymphoplasmacytic lymphoma is treated like other slow-growing (indolent) lymphomas, with a few differences. There are several treatment options for lyphoplasmacytic lymphoma.

Watchful waiting

Like other indolent lymphomas, people with lymphoplasmacytic lymphoma who do not have any symptoms and whose cancer does not seem to be progressing often do not need treatment right away. However, treatment is given if there are symptoms, such as hyperviscosity syndrome, or when the cancer seems to be progressing.

Plasmapheresis

People with lymphoplasmacytic lymphoma who have signs or symptoms of hyperviscosity syndrome often have a procedure called plasmapheresis. Plasmapheresis can relieve their symptoms rapidly, before other treatments like chemotherapy have had a chance to work. Plasmapheresis temporarily lowers IgM levels by removing some of the abnormal IgM from the blood, which makes the blood thinner. However, plasmapheresis does not affect the lymphoma cells. Additional treatment, such as chemotherapy or biological therapy, is needed or the IgM protein will increase again. Plasmapheresis is usually given until chemotherapy starts to work.

During plasmapheresis, a machine is used to separate the plasmaplasmaThe liquid part of blood that carries the blood cells. Plasma contains many proteins and minerals. from the blood cells. The part of the blood that contains the abnormal protein is removed and blood cells are mixed with new plasma and given back to the person. A central venous catheter or 2 intravenous lines are needed to remove and return the blood to the body. Each plasmapheresis treatment takes a few hours.

Plasmapheresis is combined with chemotherapy to control the disease for a longer period of time.

Chemotherapy

People with lymphoplasmacytic lymphoma who have symptoms or hyperviscosity syndrome are usually started on chemotherapy. Drugs that may be used are:

  • chlorambucil (Leukeran) or cyclophosphamide (Cytoxan, Procytox), with or without prednisone (Deltasone)
  • fludarabine (Fludara) or cladribine (2-CDA, Leustatin)

These chemotherapy drugs may be used alone or in combination with other drugs. For example, CVP – cyclophosphamide, vincristine (Oncovin) and prednisone with rituximab (Rituxan) – is one combination that may be used to treat lymphoplasmacytic lymphoma.

Biological therapy

Monoclonal antibodies are a type of biological therapy that is effective in treating certain types of NHL. Rituximab (Rituxan) may be used alone or in combination with chemotherapy. It seems to improve the outcome for people with lymphoplasmacytic lymphoma.

Stem cell transplant

A stem cell transplant (SCT) is occasionally used to treat some people with lymphoplasmacytic lymphoma. It may be used for people whose lymphoma relapses or is not responding to other treatments (refractory). Many people with lymphoplasmacytic lymphoma are older or may not be in good health, so a SCT may not be a suitable option for them.

For more detailed information on specific drugs, go to sources of drug information.

Stories

Dr Edward Chow A new standard for managing cancer pain

Read more

A helping hand for families

Illustration of crowd

The Canadian Cancer Society helps with expenses for children in cancer treatment and their families.

Learn more

Logo Société canadienne du cancer

Lymphome non hodgkinien

Vous êtes ici:

Lymphome lymphoplasmocytaire

Le lymphome lymphoplasmocytaire est ainsi nommé parce que les cellules qui le composent ont des caractéristiques des lymphocytes et des plasmocytes. C'est un type rare de lymphome non hodgkinien (LNH) puisqu'il ne représente que de 1 à 2 % de tous les lymphomes. C'est un lymphome B. Le lymphome lymphoplasmocytaire peut aussi être appelé immunocytome ou macroglobulinémie de Waldenström (MW).

En présence d'un lymphome lymphoplasmocytaire, on observe habituellement des cellules dans la moelle osseuse, les ganglions lymphatiques et la rate. Ce type de LNH affecte généralement les aînés.

Une grande quantité d'une protéine appelée immunoglobuline M (IgM, ou macroglobuline) est fabriquée par les cellules du lymphome. Un excès de cette protéine dans le sang peut le faire épaissir (syndrome d'hyperviscosité) et engendrer des troubles circulatoires, comme une diminution du débit sanguin vers des organes tels que le cerveau ou les yeux, qui risquent de causer :

  • des étourdissements
  • des maux de tête
  • une vision légèrement floue ou une perte de vision
  • des engourdissements et des picotements dans les doigts ou les orteils (neuropathie périphérique) et d'autres symptômes neurologiques

Les personnes atteintes d'un lymphome lymphoplasmocytaire ont tendance à saigner facilement. Elles éprouvent aussi de la fatigue et des faiblesses.

Le lymphome lymphoplasmocytaire a tendance à évoluer lentement (indolent). Il arrive parfois qu'il se transforme en lymphome agressif à grandes cellules.

Traitement

On traite le lymphome lymphoplasmocytaire comme d'autres lymphomes qui évoluent lentement (indolents), à quelques différences près. Il existe plusieurs options de traitement pour le lymphome lymphoplasmocytaire.

Observation vigilante

Tout comme dans le cas d'autres lymphomes indolents, les personnes atteintes d'un lymphome lymphoplasmocytaire qui n'éprouvent pas de symptômes et dont le cancer ne semble pas évoluer n'ont souvent pas besoin de traitement immédiatement. Cependant, on administre un traitement si des symptômes sont présents, comme le syndrome d'hyperviscosité, ou quand le cancer semble évoluer.

Plasmaphérèse

On fait souvent une intervention appelée plasmaphérèse aux personnes atteintes d'un lymphome lymphoplasmocytaire qui présentent des signes ou des symptômes du syndrome d'hyperviscosité. La plasmaphérèse permet de soulager rapidement leurs symptômes avant que d'autres traitements, comme la chimiothérapie, n'aient eu la chance d'agir. La plasmaphérèse réduit temporairement le taux d'IgM puisqu'on enlève une partie des IgM anormales dans le sang, ce qui le rend moins épais. Cependant, elle n'affecte pas les cellules du lymphome. On doit administrer d'autres traitements, comme une chimiothérapie ou une thérapie biologique, pour empêcher le nombre de protéines IgM d'augmenter à nouveau. La plasmaphérèse se déroule habituellement jusqu'à ce que la chimiothérapie commence à agir.

Lors de la plasmaphérèse, un appareil sépare le plasmaplasmaPartie liquide du sang qui transporte les cellules sanguines et qui contient de nombreuses protéines et substances minérales. des cellules sanguines. On enlève la partie du sang qui contient la protéine anormale puis on mélange les cellules sanguines à du nouveau plasma qu'on administre à la personne. Un cathéter veineux central ou 2 lignes intraveineuses sont nécessaires pour enlever le sang du corps et l'y retourner. Chaque séance de plasmaphérèse dure quelques heures.

On associe la plasmaphérèse à une chimiothérapie pour maîtriser la maladie pendant une plus longue période.

Chimiothérapie

On commence habituellement à administrer une chimiothérapie aux personnes atteintes d'un lymphome lymphoplasmocytaire qui ont des symptômes ou le syndrome d'hyperviscosité. Les médicaments suivants peuvent être employés :

  • chlorambucil (Leukeran) ou cyclophosphamide (Cytoxan, Procytox), avec ou sans prednisone (Deltasone)
  • fludarabine (Fludara) ou cladribine (2-CDA, Leustatin)

Ces agents chimiothérapeutiques peuvent être administrés seuls ou associés à d'autres médicaments. Le protocole CVP – cyclophosphamide, vincristine (Oncovin) et prednisone – par exemple, peut être associé au rituximab (Rituxan) pour traiter le lymphome lymphoplasmocytaire.

Thérapie biologique

Les anticorps monoclonaux sont un type de thérapie biologique efficace pour traiter certaines formes de LNH. On peut administrer seulement du rituximab (Rituxan) ou l'associer à la chimiothérapie. Il semble que cela améliore l'issue des personnes atteintes d'un lymphome lymphoplasmocytaire.

Greffe de cellules souches

À l'occasion, on fait une greffe de cellules souches (GCS) pour traiter certaines personnes atteintes d'un lymphome lymphoplasmocytaire. On peut y avoir recours quand le lymphome récidive ou qu'il ne réagit pas à d'autres traitements (réfractaire). De nombreuses personnes atteintes d'un lymphome lymphoplasmocytaire sont âgées ou ne sont pas en bonne santé, alors la GCS risque de ne pas être une option de traitement adéquate pour elles.

Pour obtenir des renseignements sur des médicaments spécifiques, consultez la section Sources d’information sur les médicaments.

Histoires

La Dre Miriam Rosin, chercheuse Les recherches de la Dre Miriam Rosin aident à mieux comprendre le lien entre le papillomavirus et le cancer de la cavité buccale.

Plus de details

Comment stopper le cancer avant qu’il n’apparaisse?

Découvrez l’impact de vos habitudes de vie sur le risque de cancer et voyez comment prendre les choses en main à l’aide de notre outil interactif – C’est ma vie!

Apprenez-en plus