Canadian Cancer Society logo

Non-Hodgkin lymphoma

You are here: 

Intravascular large B-cell lymphoma

Intravascular large B-cell lymphoma is a very rare subtype of diffuse large B-cell lymphoma (DLBCL). It is also considered a distinct type of non-Hodgkin lymphoma (NHL) in the World Health Organization (WHO) classification system. Intravascular large B-cell lymphoma affects small blood vessels. With this B-cell type of lymphoma, cancer cells circulate in the blood and block (occlude) small blood vessels. Intravascular large B-cell lymphoma may also be called intravascular lymphomatosis or malignant angioendotheliomatosis.

Intravascular large B-cell lymphoma usually affects the small blood vessels in many organs, including:

  • central nervous systemcentral nervous systemThe brain and spinal cord, which work together to control all the functions of the body. (CNS)
  • kidneys
  • lungs
  • skin

However, almost any site can be affected.

People with intravascular large B-cell lymphoma have a variety of symptoms. The symptoms will depend on the tissue or organ affected when the blood vessels become occluded. This type of lymphoma is often difficult to diagnose because the symptoms can be so varied.

Intravascular large B-cell lymphoma is a fast-growing (aggressive) lymphoma. People with this type of lymphoma often have a poor prognosis.

Treatment

Treatment of intravascular large B-cell lymphoma often involves chemotherapy.

Chemotherapy

A combination of chemotherapy drugs is usually used to treat intravascular large B-cell lymphoma. The same combination used to treat DLBCL is often used.

  • CHOP – cyclophosphamide (Cytoxan, Procytox), doxorubicin (Adriamycin), vincristine (Oncovin) and prednisone (Deltasone)

Biological therapy

Rituximab (Rituxan) is a type of biological therapy called a monoclonal antibody. Monoclonal antibodies are effective in treating certain types of NHL. Rituximab is usually used with chemotherapy to treat intravascular large B-cell lymphoma.

For more detailed information on specific drugs, go to sources of drug information.

Stories

Dr Simon Graham Developed a new technology for brain cancer surgery

Read more

Facing the financial burden of cancer

Illustration of coins

The Canadian Cancer Society provides helpful information about government income programs, financial resources and other resources available to families struggling to make sense of the personal financial burden they face.

Learn more

Logo Société canadienne du cancer

Lymphome non hodgkinien

Vous êtes ici:

Lymphome intravasculaire à grandes cellules B

Le lymphome intravasculaire à grandes cellules B est un sous-type très rare de lymphome diffus à grandes cellules B (LDGCB). On le considère aussi comme un type distinct de lymphome non hodgkinien (LNH) selon le système de classification de l’Organisation mondiale de la Santé (OMS). Le lymphome intravasculaire à grandes cellules B affecte les petits vaisseaux sanguins. Dans le cas de ce type de lymphome B, les cellules cancéreuses circulent dans le sang et bloquent (occlusion) les petits vaisseaux sanguins. Le lymphome intravasculaire à grandes cellules B peut aussi être appelé lymphomatose intravasculaire ou angioendothéliomatose maligne.

Le lymphome intravasculaire à grandes cellules B affecte habituellement les petits vaisseaux sanguins de nombreux organes dont ceux-ci :

  • système nerveux centralsystème nerveux centralEnsemble constitué de l’encéphale et de la moelle épinière qui travaillent ensemble pour contrôler toutes les fonctions du corps. (SNC)
  • reins
  • poumons
  • peau

Cependant, presque n’importe quel site peut être affecté.

Les personnes atteintes d’un lymphome intravasculaire à grandes cellules B ont divers symptômes. Ces symptômes dépendent du tissu ou de l’organe affecté quand les vaisseaux sanguins s’obstruent. Ce type de lymphome est souvent difficile à diagnostiquer puisque les symptômes peuvent être si variés.

Le lymphome intravasculaire à grandes cellules B évolue rapidement (agressif). Les personnes atteintes de ce type de lymphome ont souvent un pronostic sombre.

Traitement

Le traitement du lymphome intravasculaire à grandes cellules B comprend souvent une chimiothérapie.

Chimiothérapie

On administre habituellement une association d’agents chimiothérapeutiques pour traiter le lymphome intravasculaire à grandes cellules B. On a souvent recours à l’association employée pour traiter le LDGCB :

  • CHOP – cyclophosphamide (Cytoxan, Procytox), doxorubicine (Adriamycin), vincristine (Oncovin) et prednisone (Deltasone)

Thérapie biologique

Le rituximab (Rituxan) est un type de thérapie biologique appelé anticorps monoclonal. Les anticorps monoclonaux se sont révélés efficaces comme traitement de certains types de LNH. On associe habituellement le rituximab à une chimiothérapie pour traiter le lymphome intravasculaire à grandes cellules B.

Pour obtenir des renseignements sur des médicaments spécifiques, consultez la section Sources d’information sur les médicaments.

Histoires

Dr Senthil Muthuswamy Des tumeurs pancréatiques expérimentales

Plus de details

Comment stopper le cancer avant qu’il n’apparaisse?

Découvrez l’impact de vos habitudes de vie sur le risque de cancer et voyez comment prendre les choses en main à l’aide de notre outil interactif – C’est ma vie!

Apprenez-en plus