Non-Hodgkin lymphoma

You are here: 

Primary central nervous system lymphoma

Primary central nervous system lymphoma (PCNSL) is an uncommon type of non-Hodgkin lymphoma (NHL). It starts in the brain or spinal cord (called the central nervous system, or CNS), in the membranes that cover and protect the brain and spinal cord (called the meninges) or in the eyes. It rarely spreads, or metastasizes, outside of the CNS.

Most PCNSLs are B-cell lymphomas, usually diffuse large B-cell lymphomas (DLBCL). T-cell PCNSL is rare.

PCNSL is more common in older adults. The average age at diagnosis is 65.

The main risk for developing PCNSL is a weakened, or suppressed, immune system. It often develops in people who have:

  • acquired immunodeficiency syndrome (AIDS)
  • a weakened immune system because they are taking medicines to lower the risk that their body will reject a donated organ
  • an inherited disorder that weakens the immune system

Treatments

The treatments offered for PCNSL depend on your age and performance status. Doctors will also consider how well your body can fight infections if your immune system is weakened (you are immunosuppressed).

People with AIDS-related PCNSL are given the same treatments as people who have a normal immune system. These treatments cause more and worse side effects and can be less effective in people who have AIDS. AIDS-related PCNSL is often treated with highly active antiretroviral therapy (HAART), as well as corticosteroids and radiation to all of the brain (called whole-brain radiation therapy, or WBRT). Some people may be offered chemotherapy depending on how well their immune system is working.

People who develop PCNSL after an organ transplant may need to lower the dose of or stop taking their immunosuppressant drug.

Corticosteroids

A corticosteroid is any steroid hormone that acts as an anti-inflammatory by reducing swelling and lowering the body’s immune response (the immune system’s reaction to the presence of foreign substances). PCNSL responds very well to corticosteroid therapy. Drugs like prednisone are used to destroy lymphoma cells and reduce swelling of the brain tissue.

Corticosteroids are usually not given until after diagnostic tests confirm that you have PCNSL. This is because these drugs can significantly shrink tumours and affect test results.

Chemotherapy

Certain chemotherapy drugs need to be used to treat PCNSL because they can cross the blood-brain barrier. The blood-brain barrier is a network of blood vessels and cells that filters blood flowing to the brain. It makes it hard for some substances (such as anticancer drugs) to enter the brain.

Either of the following can be used to treat PCNSL:

  • high-dose methotrexate with leucovorin (folinic acid) alone or with other chemotherapy drugs
  • high-dose cytarabine (Cytosar, Ara-C)

These drugs may be given directly into the cerebrospinal fluid (CSF) if there are lymphoma cells in the CSF. They may be given as intrathecal chemotherapy. This means that the chemotherapy drugs are injected directly into the CSF. They may also be given as intraventricular chemotherapy. This means that the drugs are given directly into the CSF through a small device called an Ommaya reservoir.

Radiation therapy

External beam radiation therapy is sometimes given as WBRT to treat PCNSL. Radiation therapy may also be used to treat PCNSL that starts in the eyes.

Radiation therapy may be given on its own or with chemotherapy. When both radiation therapy and chemotherapy are used, radiation therapy is usually given after chemotherapy. The doses of radiation therapy and chemotherapy may need to be adjusted if both treatments are used.

The combination of radiation therapy and chemotherapy often causes harmful side effects to the nervous system (called neurotoxicity). These side effects can include changes in cognitive function, dementia, behaviour changes, balance and coordination problems and other neurologic problems. The elderly are most at risk for these nervous system problems.

WBRT may be given when PCNSL comes back (recurs) after treatment, even though there is the risk of nervous system problems.

performance status

The measure of how well a person is able to perform ordinary tasks and carry out daily activities.

Examples of scales used to evaluate performance status include the Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group (ECOG), World Health Organization (WHO) and the Karnofsky performance status scale.

corticosteroid

Any steroid hormone that acts as an anti-inflammatory by reducing swelling and lowering the body’s immune response (the immune system’s reaction to the presence of foreign substances).

Corticosteroids are made by the adrenal gland. They can also be produced in the lab.

Ommaya reservoir

A device surgically implanted beneath the scalp that is used to deliver chemotherapy drugs directly into the cerebrospinal fluid (CSF) around the brain and spinal cord.

Stories

Lusomé Founder and CEO Lara Smith Seeing my sister Erin – a young mother – struggle with the emotional blow and then the physical toll of cancer treatment made me want to do something to help women feel confident.

Read Lara's story

Taking action against all cancers

Icon - question mark

The latest Canadian Cancer Statistics report found that of all newly diagnosed cancers in 2017, half are expected to be lung, colorectal, breast and prostate cancers. Learn what you can do to reduce the burden of cancer.

Learn more

Lymphome non hodgkinien

Vous êtes ici:

Lymphome primitif du système nerveux central

Le lymphome primitif du système nerveux central (LPSNC) est un type rare de lymphome non hodgkinien (LNH). Il prend naissance à l’intérieur de l’encéphale ou de la moelle épinière, qui forment ensemble le système nerveux central (SNC), dans les membranes qui recouvrent et protègent l’encéphale et la moelle épinière, soit  les méninges, ou dans les yeux. Il se propage (métastases) rarement hors du SNC.

La plupart des LPSNC sont des lymphomes à lymphocytes B, habituellement des lymphomes diffus à grandes cellules B (LDGCB). Le LPSNC à lymphocytes T est rare.

Le LPSNC affecte plus souvent les aînés. L’âge moyen lors du diagnostic est de 65 ans.

Le principal risque d’apparition du LPSNC est un système immunitaire affaibli (immunosuppression). Il affecte souvent les personnes :

  • atteintes du syndrome d'immunodéficience acquise (sida);
  • dont le système immunitaire est affaibli parce qu’elles prennent des médicaments qui réduisent le risque de rejet d’un organe greffé;
  • qui ont un trouble héréditaire qui affaiblit leur système immunitaire.

Traitements

Les traitements proposés pour le LPSNC dépendent de votre âge et de votre indice fonctionnel. Les médecins prennent aussi en considération comment votre corps parvient à combattre les infections si votre système immunitaire est affaibli (immunosuppression).

Les personnes atteintes d’un LPSNC lié au sida reçoivent les mêmes traitements que les personnes dont le système immunitaire est normal. Ces traitements provoquent plus d’effets secondaires qui sont plus graves également et risquent d’être moins efficaces chez les personnes atteintes du sida. On traite souvent le LPSNC lié au sida avec un traitement antirétroviral hautement actif (HAART) ainsi que des corticostéroïdes et une radiothérapie au cerveau en entier, soit une irradiation encéphalique totale. On peut proposer une chimiothérapie à certaines personnes selon l’efficacité de leur système immunitaire.

Les personnes qui ont un LPSNC après une greffe d'organe pourraient devoir réduire leur dose de médicaments immunosuppresseurs ou en cesser l'emploi.

Corticostéroïdes

Un corticostéroïde est une hormone stéroïde qui agit comme un anti-inflammatoire en atténuant l’enflure et la réaction immunitaire du corps, c’est-à-dire la réaction du système immunitaire à la présence de substances étrangères. Le LPSNC réagit très bien aux corticostéroïdes. On a recours à des médicaments comme la prednisone pour détruire les cellules du lymphome et atténuer l'enflure du tissu du cerveau.

On n'administre habituellement pas de corticostéroïdes avant que les épreuves diagnostiques ne confirment que vous êtes atteint d’un LPSNC puisque ces médicaments peuvent réduire de façon importante la taille des tumeurs et ainsi affecter les résultats des tests.

Chimiothérapie

On doit avoir recours à des agents chimiothérapeutiques spécifiques pour traiter le LPSNC puisqu’ils parviennent à traverser la barrière hémato-encéphalique. La barrière hémato-encéphalique est un réseau de vaisseaux sanguins et de cellules qui filtrent le sang qui circule jusqu’à l’encéphale. Elle rend à certaines substances, comme les médicaments anticancéreux, l’accès difficile à l’encéphale.

On peut avoir recours à l’un ou l’autre des protocoles suivants pour traiter le LPSNC :

  • méthotrexate à forte dose et leucovorine (acide folique) seulement ou associés à d’autres agents chimiothérapeutiques
  • cytarabine (Cytosar, Ara-C) à forte dose

On peut administrer ces médicaments directement dans le liquide céphalorachidien (LCR) s’il y a des cellules du lymphome dans le LCR. On peut le faire par chimiothérapie intrathécale, c’est-à-dire que les agents chimiothérapeutiques sont injectés directement dans le LCR. On peut aussi le faire par chimiothérapie intraventriculaire, c’est-à-dire que les agents chimiothérapeutiques sont administrés directement dans le LCR par un petit dispositif appelé réservoir d'Ommaya.

Radiothérapie

On administre parfois une radiothérapie externe sous forme d’irradiation encéphalique totale pour traiter le LPSNC. On peut aussi avoir recours à la radiothérapie pour traiter un LPSNC qui a pris naissance dans les yeux.

On peut administrer seulement une radiothérapie ou bien l'associer à une chimiothérapie. Quand on a recours à la radiothérapie et à la chimiothérapie, on administre habituellement la radiothérapie après la chimiothérapie. Il est possible qu'on doive ajuster les doses de radiothérapie et de chimiothérapie si on a recours à ces deux traitements.

L'association de la radiothérapie à la chimiothérapie cause souvent des effets secondaires nocifs au système nerveux, soit une neurotoxicité. On parle entre autres de changements de la fonction cognitive, de démence, de changements du comportement, de troubles de l'équilibre et de la coordination et d'autres problèmes neurologiques. Les aînés risquent le plus d’éprouver ces troubles du système nerveux.

On peut administrer une irradiation encéphalique totale quand le LPSNC réapparaît (récidive) après le traitement, même si cela risque de causer des troubles du système nerveux.

indice fonctionnel

Mesure de la capacité d’une personne à effectuer des tâches courantes ainsi que ses activités quotidiennes.

Des exemples d’échelles utilisées pour évaluer l’indice fonctionnel incluent celle du Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group (ECOG), celle de l’Organisation mondiale de la Santé (OMS) et l’échelle de l’indice fonctionnel de Karnofsky.

corticostéroïdes

Hormones stéroïdiennes qui agissent comme anti-inflammatoire en réduisant l’enflure et en affaiblissant la réaction immunitaire (réaction du système immunitaire à la présence de substances étrangères).

Les corticostéroïdes sont sécrétés par les glandes surrénales. Ils peuvent aussi être fabriqués en laboratoire.

réservoir d’Ommaya

Dispositif inséré par voie chirurgicale sous le cuir chevelu en vue d’administrer des agents chimiothérapeutiques directement dans le liquide céphalorachidien (LCR) entourant le cerveau et la moelle épinière.

Histoires

Catherine Coulson Peu à peu, j’ai pris conscience que moi aussi, je pouvais faire partie des survivants.

Plus de détails

D’immenses progrès ont été accomplis

Icône – flèche

Pour certains cancers, comme ceux de la thyroïde et du testicule, les taux de survie dépassent 90 pour cent. Pour d’autres cancers, comme ceux du pancréas, du cerveau et de l’œsophage, les taux de survie demeurent très bas.

Apprenez-en plus