Non-Hodgkin lymphoma

You are here: 

Post-transplant lymphoproliferative disorder

Post-transplant lymphoproliferative disorder (PTLD) is a complication that can develop after an organ transplant or after an allogeneic stem cell transplant. With PTLD, the body makes too many lymphocytes (a type of white blood cell) or the lymphocytes don’t act normally. PTLD behaves like a fast-growing (aggressive) type of non-Hodgkin lymphoma (NHL). Most PTLDs are B-cell lymphomas (less than 15% are T-cell lymphomas).

People who have an organ transplant, such as a heart, lung, liver or kidney transplant, usually need to take drugs that suppress their immune system for the rest of their lives. These drugs help stop the body from rejecting the organ. Having your immune system suppressed (called immunosuppression) gives you a higher risk of developing a type of NHL.

PTLD develops in 1%–2% of people who receive organ transplants. People who receive more than one organ (called a multi-organ transplant), such as a heart and lung, have the highest risk of developing PTLD.

PTLD often develops in people infected with the Epstein-Barr virus (EBV), usually in the first year after an organ transplant. When it occurs in people who aren’t infected with EBV, it usually develops about 5 years after an organ transplant.


People with PTLD have larger than normal lymph nodes or a cancerous tumour. It has often spread to organs or tissues outside of the lymph nodes (called extranodal sites) when it is diagnosed. These organs and tissues include the lungs and the gastrointestinal (GI) tract.


There is no standard approach to treating PTLD. You may be offered one or more of the following treatments.

Immunosuppressant therapy

The drugs given to help prevent rejection after an organ transplant are called immunosuppressant therapy. In most cases, lowering the dose of immunosuppressant drugs can help manage PTLD. Other types of treatments are often needed as well.

Targeted therapy

Targeted therapy uses drugs to target specific molecules (such as proteins) on the surface of cancer cells. These molecules help send signals that tell cells to grow or divide. By targeting these molecules, the drugs stop the growth and spread of cancer cells while limiting harm to normal cells.

If doctors can’t lower the dose of immunosuppressant drugs, or if lowering the dose doesn’t help manage PTLD, they may consider giving targeted therapy. Rituximab (Rituxan) may be used alone or with chemotherapy.

Biological therapy

Biological therapy uses natural or artificial substances that change the way cells behave.

Interferon alfa (Intron A, Wellferon) is a type of biological therapy used for PTLD. It may be given alone or with a drug called acyclovir (Zovirax). Acyclovir is an antiviral drug that can be used to treat a virus such as EBV.


If the drug therapies mentioned above do not seem to be working, you may be offered a combination of chemotherapy drugs that includes doxorubicin (Adriamycin). These drug combinations include:

  • CHOP – cyclophosphamide (Cytoxan, Procytox), doxorubicin, vincristine (Oncovin) and prednisone
  • R-CHOP – CHOP with rituximab
  • ProMACE-CytaBOM – cyclophosphamide, doxorubicin, etoposide (Vepesid), prednisone, bleomycin (Blenoxane), cytarabine (Cytosar, Ara-C), methotrexate and leucovorin (folinic acid)

Surgery or radiation therapy

Either surgery or radiation therapy may be used alone to treat PTLD that hasn’t spread beyond the place where it started (called a localized tumour). A localized tumour tends to occur a few weeks or months after a transplant and can grow over a period of months.


Referring to DNA, cells, tissues or organs taken (harvested) from a donor to be given to a recipient who is a close, but not identical, genetic match.

For example, an allogeneic stem cell transplant takes blood or bone marrow from a donor (usually a first-degree relative) and gives it to a recipient.

Epstein-Barr virus (EBV)

A type of herpes virus that causes mononucleosis (a highly infectious disease that causes fever, fatigue, malaise and sore throat).

Epstein-Barr virus is associated with an increased risk of certain cancers, including Burkitt lymphoma.

Also called Human herpesvirus 4 (HHV-4).

gastrointestinal (GI)

Referring to or having to do with the digestive organs.

The gastrointestinal (GI) tract, or digestive tract, includes the mouth, pharynx (throat), esophagus, stomach, small intestine and large intestine.


Eleanor Rudd We realize that our efforts cannot even be compared to what women face when they hear the words ... ‘you have cancer.’

Read more

Investing to reduce cancer burden

Icon - piggy bank

Last year CCS funded $40 million in cancer research, thanks to our donors. Discover how you can help reduce the burden of cancer.

Learn more

Lymphome non hodgkinien

Vous êtes ici:

Syndrome lymphoprolifératif post-greffe

Le syndrome lymphoprolifératif post-greffe (SLPG) est une complication qui peut apparaître après une greffe d’organe ou une greffe allogénique de cellules souches. Dans le cas du SLPG, les lymphocytes, un type de globule blanc, sont produits en trop grande quantité ou ils agissent anormalement. Le SLPG se comporte comme un type de lymphome non hodgkinien (LNH) qui évolue rapidement (agressif). La plupart des SLPG sont des lymphomes à lymphocytes B (moins de 15 % sont des lymphomes à lymphocytes T).

Les personnes qui ont eu une greffe d’organe, comme de cœur, de poumon, de foie ou de rein, doivent habituellement prendre des médicaments qui inhibent leur système immunitaire pour le reste de leur vie. Ces médicaments aident à empêcher le corps de rejeter l’organe greffé. Si votre système immunitaire est affaibli (immunosuppression), vous risquez davantage d’être atteint d’un type de LNH.

Le SLPG apparaît chez 1 à 2 % des personnes qui ont reçu une greffe d’organe. Celles qui reçoivent plus d’un organe (greffe multi-organes), comme un cœur et un poumon, risquent le plus d’être atteintes d’un SLPG.

Le SLPG apparaît souvent chez des personnes infectées au virus d’Epstein-Barr (VEB), habituellement au cours de la première année qui suit la greffe d’organe. Quand cela se produit chez une personne qui n’est pas infectée au VEB, c’est habituellement environ 5 ans après la greffe.

Symptômes

Les personnes atteintes d’un SLPG ont des ganglions lymphatiques plus gros que la normale ou une tumeur cancéreuse. Le SLPG s’est souvent propagé à des organes ou des tissus à l’extérieur des ganglions lymphatiques (sièges extraganglionnaires) quand on le diagnostique. Ces organes et tissus sont entre autres les poumons et le tube digestif (tractus gastro-intestinal).

Traitements

Il n’y a pas d’approche standard pour traiter le SLPG. On peut vous proposer l’un ou plusieurs des traitements qui suivent.

Traitement immunosuppresseur

Les médicaments administrés pour aider à prévenir le rejet d’un organe greffé sont des immunosuppresseurs. Dans la plupart des cas, réduire la dose d’immunosuppresseurs peut aider à traiter le SLPG. D’autres types de traitements sont souvent nécessaires.

Traitement ciblé

Le traitement ciblé a recours à des médicaments pour cibler des molécules spécifiques (comme des protéines) situées à la surface des cellules cancéreuses. Ces molécules contribuent à l’envoi de signaux qui indiquent aux cellules de croître ou de se diviser. En ciblant ces molécules, les médicaments interrompent la croissance et la propagation des cellules cancéreuses tout en limitant les dommages aux cellules normales.

Si les médecins ne peuvent pas réduire la dose des immunosuppresseurs, ou si la réduire n’aide pas à traiter le SLPG, ils peuvent envisager le traitement ciblé. Le rituximab (Rituxan), un médicament ciblé, peut être administré seul ou avec une chimiothérapie.

Thérapie biologique

La thérapie biologique a recours à des substances naturelles ou artificielles pour modifier le comportement des cellules.

L'interféron alpha (Intron A, Wellferon) est un type de médicament biologique employé pour traiter le SLPG. On peut l’administrer seul ou l'associer à l’acyclovir (Zovirax). L’acyclovir est un médicament antiviral qu’on peut employer pour traiter un virus comme le VEB.

Chimiothérapie

Si les traitements médicamenteux mentionnés ci-dessus ne semblent pas efficaces, on pourrait vous proposer une association d’agents chimiothérapeutiques à base de doxorubicine (Adriamycin) dont celles-ci :

  • CHOP – cyclophosphamide (Cytoxan, Procytox), doxorubicine, vincristine (Oncovin) et prednisone
  • R-CHOP – CHOP avec rituximab
  • ProMACE-CytaBOM – cyclophosphamide, doxorubicine, étoposide (Vepesid), prednisone, bléomycine (Blenoxane), cytarabine (Cytosar, Ara-C), méthotrexate et leucovorine (acide folinique)

Chirurgie ou radiothérapie

On peut avoir recours à la chirurgie ou à la radiothérapie pour traiter un SLPG qui ne s’est pas propagé au-delà de son emplacement d’origine (tumeur localisée). La tumeur localisée a tendance à apparaître quelques semaines ou quelques mois après une greffe et peut prendre des mois pour se développer.

allogénique

Terme qui fait référence à l’ADN, aux cellules, aux tissus ou aux organes prélevés chez un donneur pour être administrés à un receveur qui est fortement, mais non entièrement, compatible avec le donneur sur le plan génétique.

Dans le cas d’une greffe allogénique de cellules souches, par exemple, on prélève du sang ou de la moelle osseuse chez un donneur (habituellement un parent au premier degré) et on les injecte à un receveur.

virus d’Epstein-Barr (VEB)

Type de virus de l’herpès qui est à l’origine de la mononucléose (maladie très infectieuse qui cause la fièvre, la fatigue, un malaise et des maux de gorge).

Le virus d’Epstein-Barr engendre une hausse du risque d’apparition de certains cancers, dont le lymphome de Burkitt.

Le virus d’Epstein-Barr est aussi appelé herpès-virus humain 4 (HHV-4).

gastro-intestinal (GI)

Terme qui désigne tout ce qui a rapport aux organes digestifs.

Le tractus gastro-intestinal (GI), ou tube digestif, comprend la bouche, le pharynx (gorge), l’œsophage, l’estomac, l’intestin grêle et le gros intestin.

Histoires

Dr Edward Chow Une nouvelle norme pour le soulagement de la douleur

Plus de details

Comment stopper le cancer avant qu’il n’apparaisse?

Découvrez l’impact de vos habitudes de vie sur le risque de cancer et voyez comment prendre les choses en main à l’aide de notre outil interactif – C’est ma vie!

Apprenez-en plus