Non-Hodgkin lymphoma

You are here: 

Nodal marginal zone lymphoma

Nodal marginal zone lymphoma is a rare, slow-growing (indolent) B-cell non-Hodgkin lymphoma (NHL). It can change into a fast-growing (aggressive) type of NHL.

Nodal marginal zone lymphoma usually only affects the lymph nodes. In rare cases, it may develop in other organs outside of the lymph nodes (called extranodal disease). Sometimes it can develop in the spleen or bone marrow.

Nodal marginal zone lymphoma is more common in older adults. People with this disease are usually diagnosed when they are 60 years old or older. It is more common in women than in men. More than 70% of people are stage III or IV at the time of diagnosis.

Symptoms

Most people with nodal marginal zone lymphoma don’t have any symptoms. Some people have B symptoms, which are unexplained fever, drenching night sweats and unexplained weight loss.

Treatments

Experts don’t really know how best to treat nodal marginal zone lymphoma. You may be offered one or more of the following treatments.

Watchful waiting

Watchful waiting (also called active surveillance) may be an option because nodal marginal zone lymphoma develops slowly and may not need to be treated right away. The healthcare team will monitor the person with nodal marginal zone lymphoma carefully and start treatment when symptoms appear or there are signs that the disease is progressing more quickly.

Chemotherapy

Nodal marginal zone lymphoma usually responds well to chemotherapy. It may be given as a single drug or a combination of drugs and is often given with a targeted therapy drug.

Single drugs that may be used for nodal marginal zone lymphoma are:

  • fludarabine (Fludara)
  • bendamustine (Treanda)

Combinations of chemotherapy drugs that may be used are:

  • CHOP – cyclophosphamide (Cytoxan, Procytox), doxorubicin (Adriamycin), vincristine (Oncovin) and prednisone
  • R-CHOP – CHOP with rituximab (Rituxan)
  • CVP – cyclophosphamide, vincristine and prednisone
  • R-CVP – CVP with rituximab
  • BR – bendamustine and rituximab

Targeted therapy

Targeted therapy uses drugs to target specific molecules (such as proteins) on the surface of cancer cells. These molecules help send signals that tell cells to grow or divide. By targeting these molecules, the drugs stop the growth and spread of cancer cells while limiting harm to normal cells.

Rituximab is a targeted therapy drug commonly used alone or in combination with chemotherapy to treat nodal marginal zone lymphoma.

Ibritumomab (Zevalin) is a type of radioimmunotherapy. This treatment attaches a radioactive material to the targeted therapy drug. The drug attaches to the lymphoma cells so the radiation is delivered directly to them, which may mean fewer or less severe side effects.

Biological therapy

Biological therapy uses natural or artificial substances to change the way cells behave. Interferon alfa (Intron A, Wellferon) may be given to people with nodal marginal zone lymphoma who also have a hepatitis C virus (HCV) infection. Interferon alfa may be used alone or with ribavirin, which is a drug used to treat viral infections like HCV.

Radiation therapy

External beam radiation therapy may be given to the lymph nodes to treat early stage (stage I or stage II) nodal marginal zone lymphoma. It is used when this type of lymphoma affects only 1 or 2 areas of lymph nodes in the body.

Stories

Norma Kehoe We need to support research into all causes of cancer in order to save lives.

Read Norma's story

Reducing the burden of cancer

Icon - hand with dollar sign floating above it

Canadians can help CCS fund the best research and support people living with cancer by donating and volunteering.

Learn more

Lymphome non hodgkinien

Vous êtes ici:

Lymphome de la zone marginale ganglionnaire

Le lymphome de la zone marginale ganglionnaire est un type rare de lymphome non hodgkinien (LNH) à lymphocytes B qui évolue lentement (indolent). Il peut se transformer en un type de LNH qui évolue rapidement (agressif).

Le lymphome de la zone marginale ganglionnaire n’atteint habituellement que les ganglions lymphatiques. Dans de rares cas, il peut apparaître dans d’autres organes situés à l’extérieur des ganglions lymphatiques (maladie extraganglionnaire). Il se développe parfois dans la rate ou la moelle osseuse.

Le lymphome de la zone marginale ganglionnaire est plus fréquent chez les aînés. Les personnes qui en sont atteintes reçoivent habituellement leur diagnostic à 60 ans ou plus. Il affecte davantage la femme que l’homme. Dans plus de 70 % des cas, la maladie est de stade III ou IV lors du diagnostic.

Symptômes

La plupart des personnes atteintes d’un lymphome de la zone marginale ganglionnaire n’éprouvent pas de symptômes. Certaines ont des symptômes B, c’est-à-dire une fièvre inexpliquée, des sueurs nocturnes importantes et une perte de poids inexpliquée.

Traitements

Les experts ne savent pas vraiment quel est le meilleur traitement du lymphome de la zone marginale ganglionnaire. On peut vous proposer l’un ou plusieurs des traitements qui suivent.

Observation vigilante

On peut proposer l’observation vigilante, aussi appelée surveillance active, pour le lymphome de la zone marginale ganglionnaire puisqu’il se développe lentement et n’a peut-être pas besoin d’être traité immédiatement. L’équipe de soins surveille attentivement la personne atteinte d’un lymphome de la zone marginale ganglionnaire et commence le traitement quand des symptômes apparaissent ou s’il y a des signes que la maladie évolue plus rapidement.

Chimiothérapie

Le lymphome de la zone marginale ganglionnaire réagit habituellement bien à la chimiothérapie. On peut administrer un seul agent chimiothérapeutique ou en associer. On y ajoute souvent un médicament ciblé.

Les médicaments suivants peuvent être administrés seuls :

  • fludarabine (Fludara)
  • bendamustine (Treanda)

On peut avoir recours aux associations chimiothérapeutiques qui suivent :

  • CHOP – cyclophosphamide (Cytoxan, Procytox), doxorubicine (Adriamycin), vincristine (Oncovin) et prednisone
  • R-CHOP – CHOP avec rituximab (Rituxan)
  • CVP – cyclophosphamide, vincristine et prednisone
  • R-CVP – CVP avec rituximab
  • BR – bendamustine et rituximab

Traitement ciblé

Le traitement ciblé a recours à des médicaments pour cibler des molécules spécifiques (comme des protéines) situées à la surface des cellules cancéreuses. Ces molécules contribuent à l’envoi de signaux qui indiquent aux cellules de croître ou de se diviser. En ciblant ces molécules, les médicaments interrompent la croissance et la propagation des cellules cancéreuses tout en limitant les dommages aux cellules normales.

Le rituximab (Rituxan) est un médicament ciblé auquel on a fréquemment recours seul ou associé à une chimiothérapie pour traiter le lymphome de la zone marginale ganglionnaire.

L’ibritumomab (Zevalin) est un type de radioimmunothérapie, qui fixe une matière radioactive au médicament ciblé. Le médicament ciblé se fixe aux cellules du lymphome, faisant en sorte que la radiation est administrée directement à ces cellules, ce qui peut signifier moins d’effets secondaires ou des effets secondaires moins graves.

Thérapie biologique

La thérapie biologique a recours à des substances naturelles ou artificielles pour modifier le comportement des cellules. On peut administrer de l'interféron alpha (Intron A, Wellferon) aux personnes atteintes d’un lymphome de la zone marginale ganglionnaire qui sont également infectées par le virus de l’hépatite C (VHC). On peut administrer seulement l’interféron alpha ou l'associer à un médicament appelé ribavirine, qui sert à traiter les infections virales comme celle au VHC.

Radiothérapie

On peut administrer une radiothérapie externe aux ganglions lymphatiques pour traiter un lymphome de la zone marginale ganglionnaire qui est précoce (stade I ou II). On y a recours quand ce type de lymphome n’affecte que 1 ou 2 régions ganglionnaires.

Histoires

La Dre Trang Hoang, chercheuse La Dre Trang Hoang cible les cellules leucémiques résistantes chez les enfants.

Plus de details

Comment stopper le cancer avant qu’il n’apparaisse?

Découvrez l’impact de vos habitudes de vie sur le risque de cancer et voyez comment prendre les choses en main à l’aide de notre outil interactif – C’est ma vie!

Apprenez-en plus