Non-Hodgkin lymphoma

You are here: 

Cutaneous T-cell lymphoma

Cutaneous T-cell lymphoma (CTCL) is an uncommon type of non-Hodgkin lymphoma (NHL). CTCL is a cancer that starts in mature T cells in the skin. Other types of B-cell and T-cell lymphoma can affect the skin, but they are different from CTCL.

CTCL usually occurs in adults who are 50 to 60 years old. It develops more often in men than in women.

Types of cutaneous T-cell lymphoma

CTCL is not one disease. It is a group of different T-cell lymphomas that affect the skin.

Mycosis fungoides is the most common form of CTCL. It starts in the skin on areas of the body that are not usually exposed to the sun. It may appear as a scaly, itchy red rash or raised lumps (called plaques). Mycosis fungoides may be hard to diagnose because it can be confused with other skin problems. It is slow growing (indolent), and the symptoms may be present for many months or years before mycosis fungoides is diagnosed. The disease can progress to tumours on the skin and may eventually spread to the lymph nodes, liver, spleen, lungs or blood. In rare cases, it can spread to the bone marrow.

Sezary syndrome is very rare. Doctors used to think of it as an advanced form of mycosis fungoides, but it is actually a different disease. Sezary syndrome is fast growing (aggressive). The lymphoma cells are in the skin, blood and lymph nodes. Most or all of the skin on the body is affected. It can look like a sunburn, and the skin is often red, itchy and peeling. In advanced stages the skin may be very itchy, painful and intolerant to cold. The disease may also spread to other organs and cause other symptoms. People with Sezary syndrome often have weakened immune systems and a higher risk for infections.

Primary cutaneous anaplastic large cell lymphoma (ALCL) is slow growing (indolent). It usually starts as only one lump or a few lumps or tumours in the skin. The tumours can be different sizes and some may break open and become an open sore. Primary cutaneous ALCL is usually only found in the skin. It may spread to nearby lymph nodes. It rarely spreads to other organs. Primary cutaneous ALCL is different from systemic ALCL that affects the skin.

Symptoms

CTCL can cause different types of skin problems. In the early stages, the tumours on the skin may be mistaken for non-cancerous conditions like psoriasis or eczema. CTCL can cause:

  • small lumps that look like pimples (called papules)
  • flat, thin, red patches
  • thick, raised areas (called plaques)
  • lumps that can be felt (called nodules or tumours)
  • lumps with open sores

Treatments

Different treatments can be used for CTCL. Some treatments are localized, which means they are given only to the affected skin. Other treatments are systemic, which means they travel through the whole body.

Ultraviolet light therapy

Ultraviolet light therapy uses either ultraviolet A (UVA) or ultraviolet B (UVB) light to help destroy lymphoma cells. It is given with a special type of light.

PUVA combines psoralen and UVA light. Psoralen is a drug taken as a pill by mouth. It is usually given about 2 hours before the skin is treated with the UVA light. Psoralen makes the skin very sensitive to the effects of UVA light, which helps destroy the lymphoma cells. PUVA treatments are given about 3 times a week until there are no more signs of CTCL on the skin. They are continued less often as maintenance therapy.

UVB phototherapy uses only UVB light because you don’t need to take a drug to make the skin sensitive to it. It is often used to treat thin patches of CTCL. UVB phototherapy is usually given 3–4 times a week until there are no more signs of CTCL on the skin (about 30–40 treatments). Then it is given less often as maintenance therapy.

Radiation therapy

External beam radiation therapy may be used alone or with other treatments for CTCL. Electron beam radiation therapy is commonly used. It uses electrons to deliver the radiation. The electrons don’t go all the way through the skin so the radiation doesn’t affect other organs or the bone marrow.

Local external beam radiation therapy means the radiation is given to a small area of skin. It may be used if there is only one tumour or if there are thicker tumours in one small area. It may also be used to treat patches that remain after PUVA.

Total skin electron beam (TSEB) therapy means that radiation is given to skin all over the body. It is used if CTCL is more widespread. It is usually given only once, but it can sometimes be repeated using lower doses if CTCL comes back after treatment. TSEB therapy can cause a sunburn-like reaction, and some people may lose their fingernails, toenails and hair.

Chemotherapy

Chemotherapy drugs used to treat CTCL are put directly onto the skin (called topical chemotherapy) as an ointment or liquid. They can also be given as a systemic therapy that circulates through the blood and destroys cancer cells all over the body.

Topical chemotherapy is usually given to treat early stage CTCL that only affects small areas of the skin (called limited disease). The topical chemotherapy drugs that may be used include:

  • mechlorethamine (nitrogen mustard, Mustargen)
  • carmustine (BiCNU, BCNU)

 

Systemic chemotherapy is used to treat CTCL that is more advanced and has spread to other organs. It is also used to treat CTCL that comes back after (recurs) or that no longer responds to other treatments. Chemotherapy drugs used to treat CTCL include:

  • fludarabine (Fludara)
  • cladribine (Leustatin)
  • pentostatin (deoxycoformycin, Nipent)
  • pegylated liposomal doxorubicin (Caelyx)
  • gemcitabine (Gemzar)
  • methotrexate
  • chlorambucil (Leukeran)
  • etoposide (Vepesid, VP-16)
  • temozolomide (Temodal)
  • pralatrexate (PDX)
  • vorinostat (Zolinza)

The chemotherapy combinations that may be used to treat CTCL are:

  • CHOP – cyclophosphamide (Cytoxan, Procytox), doxorubicin (Adriamycin), vincristine (Oncovin) and prednisone
  • R-CHOP – CHOP with rituximab (Rituxan)
  • EPOCH – etoposide, vincristine, doxorubicin, cyclophosphamide and prednisone

Retinoids

Retinoids are drugs that are similar to vitamin A and interfere with cell growth. Bexarotene (Targretin) is a retinoid drug that may be used to treat CTCL. It comes as a gel that can be put on the skin. This topical form is used for early stage CTCL that only affects small areas of the skin (called limited disease). It can also be taken as a pill. This systemic form is used when CTCL is more widespread or when it comes back after other treatments.

Biological therapy

Biological therapy works by stimulating, boosting, restoring or acting like the body’s immune system to create a response against cancer cells. Biological therapy drugs like interferon alfa (Intron A, Wellferon) may be used to help boost the immune response and treat CTCL. Interferon alfa is injected into fat underneath the skin using a needle. It may be used alone or with other treatments, such as PUVA.

Targeted therapy

Targeted therapy uses drugs to target specific molecules (such as proteins) on the surface of cancer cells. These molecules help send signals that tell cells to grow or divide. By targeting these molecules, the drugs stop the growth and spread of cancer cells while limiting harm to normal cells. Targeted therapy drugs used to treat CTCL include:

  • rituximab (Rituxan)
  • alemtuzumab (Campath)
  • denileukin diftitox (Ontak), which is a combination of interleukin-2 (Aldesleukin, Proleukin) and the diphtheria toxin
  • romidepsin (Istodax)

Photopheresis

Photopheresis is also called extracorporeal photopheresis, or ECP. It is a systemic treatment that is sometimes used to treat Sezary syndrome or CTCL that is progressing.

The procedure for photopheresis is similar to donating blood, but the blood goes into a special machine rather than a collection bag. The machine takes out the lymphocytes, including the lymphoma cells. The lymphocytes are treated with psoralen and UVA light. After they are treated, the lymphocytes are mixed with the rest of the blood and given back to the person. The procedure takes a few hours. It is usually done for 2 days in a row. It is then repeated about every 4 weeks.

Surgery

Surgery is sometimes used for CTCL. It is most often used to do a skin biopsy to diagnose CTCL. In some cases, it is used to completely remove tumours on the skin. Even if surgery is used to remove a tumour, other treatments will also be used.

Stem cell transplant

A stem cell transplant is sometimes offered for CTCL that doesn’t respond to other treatments.

Stories

Now I know that I will help someone with cancer even after I’m gone. It’s a footprint I want to leave behind me.

Read Barbara's story

Funding world-class research

Icon - paper

Cancer affects all Canadians but together we can reduce the burden by investing in research and prevention efforts. Learn about the impact of our funded research.

Learn more

Lymphome non hodgkinien

Vous êtes ici:

Lymphome T cutané

Le lymphome T cutané (LTC) est un type rare de lymphome non hodgkinien (LNH). Le LTC est un cancer qui prend naissance dans les lymphocytes T matures de la peau. D’autres types de lymphome à lymphocytes T ou B peuvent affecter la peau, mais ils diffèrent du LTC.

Le LTC apparaît habituellement chez les adultes âgés entre 50 et 60 ans. Il affecte davantage l'homme que la femme.

Types de lymphome T cutané

Le LTC ne représente pas une seule maladie mais un ensemble de différents lymphomes à lymphocytes T qui affectent la peau.

Le mycosis fongoïde est la forme la plus courante de LTC. Il prend naissance dans la peau de régions du corps qui ne sont habituellement pas exposées au soleil. Il peut se présenter comme des éruptions cutanées ou des plaques bosselées surélevées (placards) écailleuses, rouges et qui démangent. Il peut être difficile de diagnostiquer le mycosis fongoïde puisqu’on risque de le confondre avec d’autres problèmes de peau. Il évolue lentement (indolent), et les symptômes peuvent être présents pendant de nombreux mois ou des années avant qu’on le diagnostique. La maladie peut évoluer en tumeurs sur la peau et finir par se propager aux ganglions lymphatiques, au foie, à la rate, aux poumons ou au sang. Dans de rares cas, le myosis fongoïde peut se propager à la moelle osseuse.

Le syndrome de Sézary est très rare. Les médecins pensaient que c’était une forme avancée de mycosis fongoïde, mais c’est en fait une maladie différente. Le syndrome de Sézary évolue rapidement (agressif). Les cellules du lymphome sont présentes dans la peau, le sang et les ganglions lymphatiques. Presque toute ou toute la peau est affectée. Cela peut ressembler à un coup de soleil, et il arrive souvent que la peau soit rouge, qu’elle démange et qu’elle pèle. Aux stades avancés de la maladie, la peau peut beaucoup démanger, être douloureuse et intolérante au froid. La maladie peut aussi se propager à d’autres organes et provoquer d’autres symptômes. Le système immunitaire des personnes atteintes du syndrome de Sézary est souvent affaibli, faisant ainsi augmenter leur risque d’attraper des infections.

Le lymphome anaplasique à grandes cellules (LAGC) primitif cutané évolue lentement (indolent). Il apparaît habituellement sous la forme d’une ou de plusieurs masses dans la peau. Ces tumeurs peuvent être de différentes tailles et certaines peuvent se fendre et devenir des lésions ouvertes. On observe généralement le LAGC primitif cutané dans la peau seulement. Il peut se propager aux ganglions lymphatiques voisins. Il se propage rarement à d’autres organes. Le LAGC primitif cutané diffère du LAGC primitif systémique qui affecte la peau.

Symptômes

Le LTC peut causer différents types de problèmes de peau. Au cours des premiers stades, les tumeurs cutanées peuvent être confondues avec des affections non cancéreuses comme le psoriasis ou l’eczéma. Le LTC peut causer :

  • de petites masses semblables à des boutons (papules);
  • des plaques plates, minces et rouges;
  • des surfaces épaisses surélevées (placards);
  • des masses qu’on peut sentir au toucher (nodules ou tumeurs);
  • des masses avec lésions ouvertes.

Traitements

On peut avoir recours à différents traitements pour le LTC. Certains sont localisés, ce qui signifie qu’on les administre seulement à la peau affectée. D’autres sont systémiques, c’est-à-dire qu’ils circulent dans tout le corps.

Thérapie par les rayons ultraviolets

Pour la thérapie par les rayons ultraviolets, on a recours aux rayons ultraviolets A (UVA) ou ultraviolets B (UVB) pour aider à détruire les cellules du lymphome. On se sert d’un type spécial de lumière pour les administrer.

En PUVA thérapie, on associe le psoralène aux rayons UVA. Le psoralène est un médicament pris sous forme de pilule. On l’administre habituellement environ 2 heures avant de traiter la peau par rayons UVA. Le psoralène rend la peau très sensible aux effets des rayons UVA, ce qui aide à détruire les cellules du lymphome. Les séances de PUVA thérapie se déroulent environ 3 fois par semaine jusqu’à ce qu’il n’y ait plus de signe de LTC sur la peau. Par la suite, on en administre encore mais moins souvent comme traitement d’entretien.

La photothérapie aux rayons UVB n’a recours qu’aux rayons UVB puisqu’il n’est pas nécessaire de prendre un médicament pour y rendre la peau plus sensible. On s’en sert souvent pour traiter des plaques minces de LTC. On administre habituellement la photothérapie aux rayons UVB de 3 à 4 fois par semaine jusqu’à ce qu’il n’y ait plus de signe de LTC sur la peau (environ 30 à 40 séances). Par la suite, on en administre encore mais moins souvent comme traitement d’entretien.

Radiothérapie

On peut administrer seulement une radiothérapie externe ou l’associer à d’autres traitements du LTC. On a souvent recours à l’électronothérapie, c’est-à-dire que ce sont des électrons qui émettent la radiation. Les électrons ne traversent pas toute la peau, alors la radiation n’affecte pas d’autres organes ou la moelle osseuse.

La radiothérapie externe locale est l’administration de radiations à une petite surface de peau. On peut y avoir recours s’il n’y a qu’une seule tumeur ou s’il y a des tumeurs épaisses étalées sur une petite surface. Elle peut également permettre de traiter des plaques qui restent après une PUVA thérapie.

L'irradiation totale de la peau par faisceaux d’électrons (TSEB) est l’administration de radiations à la peau du corps entier. On y a recours si le LTC est plus étendu. En général, on l'administre seulement une fois, mais on répète parfois le traitement à doses plus faibles si le LTC réapparaît après le traitement. La TSEB peut causer une réaction semblable à un coup de soleil et certaines personnes peuvent perdre les ongles de leurs doigts et de leurs orteils tout comme leurs poils et leurs cheveux.

Chimiothérapie

Les agents chimiothérapeutiques employés pour traiter le LTC sont appliqués directement sur la peau (chimiothérapie topique) sous forme d'onguent ou de liquide. On peut aussi les administrer comme traitement systémique, c’est-à-dire qui circule dans le sang et qui détruit les cellules cancéreuses présentes dans tout le corps.

On a habituellement recours à la chimiothérapie topique pour traiter un LTC précoce qui n’affecte que de petites surfaces de peau (maladie limitée). On peut employer les agents chimiothérapeutiques topiques suivants :

  • méchloréthamine (moutarde à l'azote, Mustargen)
  • carmustine (BiCNU, BCNU)

On a recours à la chimiothérapie systémique pour traiter un LTC qui est plus avancé et qui s’est propagé à d’autres organes. On l’administre également pour traiter un LTC qui est réapparu (récidive) ou qui ne réagit plus à d’autres traitements. Les agents chimiothérapeutiques administrés pour traiter le LTC sont les suivants :

  • fludarabine (Fludara)
  • cladribine (Leustatin)
  • pentostatine (déoxycoformycine, Nipent)
  • doxorubicine liposomale pégylée (Caelyx)
  • gemcitabine (Gemzar)
  • méthotrexate
  • chlorambucil (Leukeran)
  • étoposide (Vepesid, VP-16)
  • témozolomide (Temodal)
  • pralatrexate (PDX)
  • vorinostat (Zolinza)

On peut avoir recours aux associations chimiothérapeutiques suivantes pour traiter le LTC :

  • CHOP – cyclophosphamide (Cytoxan, Procytox), doxorubicine (Adriamycin), vincristine (Oncovin) et prednisone
  • R-CHOP – CHOP et rituximab (Rituxan)
  • EPOCH – étoposide, vincristine, doxorubicine, cyclophosphamide et prednisone

Rétinoïdes

Les rétinoïdes sont des médicaments qui ressemblent à la vitamine A et qui nuisent à la croissance des cellules. Le bexarotène (Targretin) est un rétinoïde qu'on peut employer pour traiter le LTC. Il se présente sous la forme d'un gel qu'on peut appliquer sur la peau. On a recours à cette forme topique pour traiter le LTC précoce qui n’affecte que de petites surfaces de peau (maladie limitée). On peut aussi le prendre sous forme de pilule. Cette forme systémique permet de traiter un LTC qui est plus répandu ou qui est réapparu après avoir été traité.

Thérapie biologique

La thérapie biologique stimule, renforce, rétablit ou imite le système immunitaire du corps afin d’engendrer une réaction contre les cellules cancéreuses. On peut avoir recours à des médicaments biologiques comme l'interféron alpha (Intron A, Wellferon) pour aider à renforcer la réaction immunitaire et traiter le LTC. On injecte l'interféron alpha dans la graisse située sous la peau à l’aide d’une aiguille. On peut l’administrer seul ou l'associer à d'autres traitements, comme la PUVA thérapie.

Traitement ciblé

Le traitement ciblé a recours à des médicaments pour cibler des molécules spécifiques (comme des protéines) situées à la surface des cellules cancéreuses. Ces molécules contribuent à l’envoi de signaux qui indiquent aux cellules de croître ou de se diviser. En ciblant ces molécules, les médicaments interrompent la croissance et la propagation des cellules cancéreuses tout en limitant les dommages aux cellules normales. Les médicaments ciblés administrés pour traiter le LTC sont entre autres ceux-ci :

  • rituximab (Rituxan)
  • alemtuzumab (Campath)
  • dénileukine diftitox (Ontak), qui est une association d’interleukine 2 (Aldesleukin, Proleukin) et de la toxine diphtérique
  • romidepsine (Istodax)

Photophérèse

La photophérèse est aussi appelée photochimiothérapie extracorporelle (PCE). C’est un traitement systémique qu’on administre parfois pour traiter le syndrome de Sézary ou un LTC qui évolue.

La photophérèse ressemble au don de sang, sauf que le sang se rend dans un appareil particulier plutôt que dans un sac collecteur. L’appareil retire les lymphocytes du sang, dont les cellules du lymphome. On traite ensuite ces lymphocytes avec du psoralène et des rayons UVA. Une fois traités, on les mélange au reste du sang avant de les retourner à la personne. L’intervention dure quelques heures. Elle se déroule habituellement 2 jours de suite. On la répète aux 4 semaines environ.

Chirurgie

On fait parfois une chirurgie pour traiter le LTC. On y a le plus souvent recours pour faire une biopsie cutanée afin de diagnostiquer le LTC. Dans certains cas, elle permet d’enlever complètement une tumeur de la peau. Même si on fait une chirurgie pour enlever la tumeur, on aura recours à d’autres traitements.

Greffe de cellules souches

On propose parfois la greffe de cellules souches pour traiter un LTC qui ne réagit pas à d’autres traitements.

Histoires

Researcher Dr John Bell Combattre le cancer au moyen de virus sur mesure

Plus de details

Passer à l’action contre tous les cancers

Icône – point d’interrogation

Le plus récent rapport Statistiques canadiennes sur le cancer révèle que les cancers du poumon, colorectal, du sein et de la prostate devraient représenter la moitié de tous les nouveaux cas de cancer diagnostiqués en 2017. Découvrez ce que vous pouvez faire pour réduire le fardeau du cancer.

Apprenez-en plus