Non-Hodgkin lymphoma

You are here: 

Burkitt lymphoma

Burkitt lymphoma is a type of mature B-cell non-Hodgkin lymphoma (NHL). Burkitt lymphoma develops most often in children or young adults and is uncommon in older adults. It occurs most often in boys. Epstein-Barr virus (EBV) is a known risk factor, and most people diagnosed with Burkitt lymphoma are infected with this virus.

Burkitt lymphoma is a very fast-growing (aggressive) type of NHL. It tends to occur in organs or tissues other than the lymph nodes (called extranodal sites). It often spreads to the brain or spinal cord (called the central nervous system, or CNS).

Burkitt lymphoma can affect the bone marrow so that it doesn’t work normally. As a result, blast cells don’t mature properly, and these abnormal immature blood cells (called Burkitt lymphoma cells) are found in the circulating blood. If more than 25% of the cells in the bone marrow are Burkitt lymphoma cells, doctors may classify it as acute lymphocytic leukemia (ALL), L3 or Burkitt-type leukemia.

There is also a Burkitt-like lymphoma. When viewed under a microscope, Burkitt-like lymphoma cells look somewhat different from Burkitt lymphoma cells. They also have some features of diffuse large B-cell lymphoma (DLBCL) cells. Burkitt-like lymphoma is grouped with Burkitt lymphoma.

Subtypes of Burkitt lymphoma

There are 3 subtypes of Burkitt lymphoma.

Endemic Burkitt lymphoma is also called African Burkitt lymphoma because it mainly occurs in Africa. It is almost always linked with Epstein-Barr virus infection. It generally starts as a tumour on the jawbone or another bone in the face.

Sporadic Burkitt lymphoma is also called non-African, or non-endemic, Burkitt lymphoma. It is the most common type of Burkitt lymphoma in North American and European countries. It is sometimes linked with the Epstein-Barr virus, but many people who develop sporadic Burkitt lymphoma are not infected with this virus. This type of NHL most often starts as a tumour in the abdomen, but it can also start in the ovaries, testicles, kidneys or other organs. It can spread to the CNS.

Immunodeficiency-associated Burkitt lymphoma tends to occur in people with weakened immune systems, typically those with HIV infection. It is not usually linked to the Epstein-Barr virus. The number of cases of immunodeficiency-associated Burkitt lymphoma seems to be dropping because antiretroviral therapy is used to treat HIV.

Treatments

Chemotherapy is the main treatment for Burkitt lymphoma. Targeted therapy and CNS prophylaxis may also be given.

Chemotherapy

Combinations of chemotherapy drugs that may be used to treat Burkitt lymphoma include:

  • CODOX-M – cyclophosphamide (Cytoxan, Procytox), vincristine (Oncovin), doxorubicin (Adriamycin) and high-dose methotrexate
  • CODOX-M/IVAC (Magrath protocol) – CODOX-M plus IVAC, which is ifosfamide (Ifex), etoposide (Vepesid) and cytarabine (Cytosar, Ara-C)
  • hyperCVAD – cyclophosphamide, vincristine, doxorubicin, dexamethasone (Decadron, Dexasone), methotrexate and cytarabine
  • EPOCH – etoposide, prednisone, vincristine, cyclophosphamide and doxorubicin

Tumour lysis syndrome (TLS) is a group of side effects that develops when a large number of lymphoma cells are killed in a short period of time. It often develops with chemotherapy for Burkitt lymphoma, so the healthcare team will take measures to prevent TLS before chemotherapy starts. Find out more about tumour lysis syndrome.

Targeted therapy

Targeted therapy uses drugs to target specific molecules (such as proteins) on the surface of cancer cells. These molecules help send signals that tell cells to grow or divide. By targeting these molecules, the drugs stop the growth and spread of cancer cells while limiting harm to normal cells.

Rituximab (Rituxan) is the most common targeted therapy used to treat Burkitt lymphoma. It may be added to any of the above combinations of chemotherapy.

Central nervous system prophylaxis

CNS prophylaxis is used to try to prevent the lymphoma cells from entering the tissue covering the brain and spinal cord.

Methotrexate and cytarabine are used for CNS prophylaxis. They are given as intrathecal chemotherapy. This means that they are injected into the cerebrospinal fluid (CSF).

High-dose methotrexate is also used for CNS prophylaxis. It is given by a needle in a vein (intravenously).

Epstein-Barr virus (EBV)

A type of herpes virus that causes mononucleosis (a highly infectious disease that causes fever, fatigue, malaise and sore throat).

Epstein-Barr virus is associated with an increased risk of certain cancers, including Burkitt lymphoma.

Also called Human herpesvirus 4 (HHV-4).

blast cell

An immature bloodcell.

Different types of blast cells develop into different types of blood cells. For example, lymphoblasts develop into lymphocytes and erythroblasts develop into erythrocytes.

Also called a blast.

Stories

Parker Murchison My favourite thing about Camp Goodtime is being able to hang out with other kids who have survived cancer. They know what is going on in your life and can help you get through it.

Read Parker's story

Funding world-class research

Icon - paper

Cancer affects all Canadians but together we can reduce the burden by investing in research and prevention efforts. Learn about the impact of our funded research.

Learn more

Lymphome non hodgkinien

Vous êtes ici:

Lymphome de Burkitt

Le lymphome de Burkitt est un type de lymphome non hodgkinien (LNH) à cellules B matures. Le lymphome de Burkitt apparaît le plus souvent chez les enfants ou les jeunes adultes et rarement chez les adultes plus âgés. Il affecte davantage les garçons. Le virus d’Epstein-Barr (VEB) est un facteur de risque connu, et la plupart des personnes qui reçoivent un diagnostic de lymphome de Burkitt sont infectées par ce virus.

Le lymphome de Burkitt est un type de LNH qui évolue très rapidement (agressif). Il a tendance à apparaître dans des organes ou des tissus autres que les ganglions lymphatiques (sièges extraganglionnaires) et se propage souvent à l’encéphale ou à la moelle épinière (système nerveux central).

Le lymphome de Burkitt peut affecter la moelle osseuse de telle sorte qu’elle ne fonctionne plus normalement. Les cellules blastiques ne mûrissent donc pas correctement, et ces cellules sanguines immatures anormales, appelées cellules du lymphome de Burkitt, se retrouvent dans la circulation sanguine. Si plus de 25 % des cellules présentes dans la moelle osseuse sont des cellules du lymphome de Burkitt, les médecins peuvent le classer comme une leucémie aiguë lymphoblastique (LAL), une L3 ou une leucémie de Burkitt.

Il existe également un lymphome de type Burkitt. Quand on observe les cellules du lymphome de type Burkitt au microscope, elles diffèrent un peu des cellules du lymphome de Burkitt. Elles possèdent également des caractéristiques des cellules du lymphome diffus à grandes cellules B (LDGCB). Le lymphome de type Burkitt est classé parmi les lymphomes de Burkitt.

Sous-types de lymphome de Burkitt

Il y a 3 sous-types de lymphome de Burkitt.

Le lymphome de Burkitt endémique est aussi appelé lymphome de Burkitt africain puisqu'il se manifeste surtout en Afrique. On l'associe presque toujours à l'infection au virus d'Epstein-Barr. Il a l’habitude d’apparaître d’abord sous la forme d’une tumeur à la mâchoire ou dans un autre os du visage.

Le lymphome de Burkitt sporadique est aussi appelé lymphome de Burkitt non africain ou non endémique. C'est le type le plus courant de lymphome de Burkitt en Amérique du Nord et en Europe. On l'associe parfois au virus d'Epstein-Barr, mais de nombreuses personnes atteintes du lymphome de Burkitt sporadique ne sont pas infectées par ce virus. Ce type de LNH prend habituellement naissance sous forme de tumeur dans l'abdomen, mais il peut aussi le faire dans les ovaires, les testicules, les reins ou d'autres organes. Il est possible qu’il se propage au SNC.

Le lymphome de Burkitt lié à une immunodéficience a tendance à se manifester chez les personnes dont le système immunitaire est affaibli, généralement celles qui sont atteintes d'une infection au VIH. On ne l’associe habituellement pas au virus d’Epstein-Barr. Le nombre de cas de lymphome de Burkitt lié à une immunodéficience semble diminuer puisqu’on a recours au traitement antirétroviral pour traiter le VIH. 

Traitements

La chimiothérapie est le traitement principal du lymphome de Burkitt.  On peut aussi administrer un traitement ciblé ainsi qu’une prophylaxie du SNC.

Chimiothérapie

On peut avoir recours aux associations d'agents chimiothérapeutiques suivantes pour traiter le lymphome de Burkitt :

  • CODOX-M – cyclophosphamide (Cytoxan, Procytox), vincristine (Oncovin), doxorubicine (Adriamycin) et méthotrexate à forte dose
  • CODOX-M/IVAC (protocole Magrath) – CODOX-M et IVAC, qui est constitué d’ifosfamide (Ifex), d’étoposide (Vepesid) et de cytarabine (Cytosar, Ara-C)
  • hyper-CVAD – cyclophosphamide, vincristine, doxorubicine, dexaméthasone (Decadron, Dexasone), méthotrexate et cytarabine
  • EPOCH – étoposide, prednisone, vincristine, cyclophosphamide et doxorubicine

Le syndrome de lyse tumorale (SLT) est un ensemble d’effets secondaires qui se manifestent quand un grand nombre de cellules du lymphome sont détruites dans une courte période. Il apparaît souvent quand on administre une chimiothérapie pour un lymphome de Burkitt, alors l’équipe de soins prend les mesures nécessaires pour prévenir le SLT avant la chimiothérapie. Apprenez-en davantage sur le syndrome de lyse tumorale.

Traitement ciblé

Le traitement ciblé a recours à des médicaments pour cibler des molécules spécifiques (comme des protéines) situées à la surface des cellules cancéreuses. Ces molécules contribuent à l’envoi de signaux qui indiquent aux cellules de croître ou de se diviser. En ciblant ces molécules, les médicaments interrompent la croissance et la propagation des cellules cancéreuses tout en limitant les dommages aux cellules normales.

Le rituximab (Rituxan) est le médicament ciblé le plus souvent administré pour traiter le lymphome de Burkitt. On peut l’ajouter à l’une des associations chimiothérapeutiques mentionnées ci-dessus.

Prophylaxie du système nerveux central

On fait une prophylaxie du SNC pour essayer d’empêcher les cellules du lymphome de pénétrer le tissu qui recouvre l’encéphale et la moelle épinière.

On a recours au méthotrexate et à la cytarabine pour la prophylaxie du SNC. On les administre par chimiothérapie intrathécale, c’est-à-dire qu’on les injecte dans le liquide céphalorachidien (LCR).

On administre également de fortes doses de méthotrexate pour la prophylaxie du SNC. On l’administre par une aiguille insérée dans une veine (voie intraveineuse).

virus d’Epstein-Barr (VEB)

Type de virus de l’herpès qui est à l’origine de la mononucléose (maladie très infectieuse qui cause la fièvre, la fatigue, un malaise et des maux de gorge).

Le virus d’Epstein-Barr engendre une hausse du risque d’apparition de certains cancers, dont le lymphome de Burkitt.

Le virus d’Epstein-Barr est aussi appelé herpès-virus humain 4 (HHV-4).

cellule blastique

Cellule sanguine immature.

Différents types de cellules blastiques évoluent en divers types de cellules sanguines. Les lymphoblastes, par exemple, se développent en lymphocytes et les érythroblastes se développent en érythrocytes.

Cette cellule est aussi appelée blaste.

Histoires

La Dre Trang Hoang, chercheuse La Dre Trang Hoang cible les cellules leucémiques résistantes chez les enfants.

Plus de details

Réduire le fardeau du cancer

Icône – main avec signe de dollar flottant au-dessus d’elle

Les Canadiens peuvent aider la SCC à financer les meilleurs projets de recherche et à soutenir les personnes touchées par le cancer en étant donateurs ou bénévoles.

Apprenez-en plus