Non-Hodgkin lymphoma

You are here: 

AIDS-related lymphoma

AIDS (acquired immunodeficiency syndrome) is a disease caused by the human immunodeficiency virus (HIV). This virus attacks and weakens the immune system so the body can’t fight infections or diseases.

People with AIDS have a greater risk of developing certain cancers. Non-Hodgkin lymphoma (NHL) is the most common type of lymphoma that affects people with AIDS. Fewer people develop AIDS-related lymphoma now that highly active antiretroviral therapy (HAART) drugs are used to treat HIV infection.

AIDS-related lymphoma often grows and spreads quickly (is aggressive). It is often diagnosed at an advanced stage.

AIDS-related lymphomas are usually B-cell lymphomas. The main types of NHL that develop in people with AIDS include:

Symptoms

AIDS-related lymphomas often affect the bone marrow, brain and spinal cord (called the central nervous system, or CNS), lungs, liver and gastrointestinal (GI) tract. People with NHL related to AIDS often have tumours in the chest that are at least one-third as wide as the chest or tumours in other areas that are 10 cm or more across (called bulky disease) and B symptoms (unexplained fever, drenching night sweats and unexplained weight loss).

Treatments

You may be offered the following treatments for AIDS-related lymphoma.

Highly active antiretroviral therapy (HAART)

HAART slows down how quickly AIDS progresses. It may allow some people with AIDS-related lymphoma to safely receive combinations of chemotherapy drugs in standard or even higher doses.

Chemotherapy

Chemotherapy is the main treatment for AIDS-related lymphoma.

A common combination of chemotherapy drugs used to treat AIDS-related lymphoma is CHOP:

  • cyclophosphamide (Cytoxan, Procytox)
  • doxorubicin (Adriamycin)
  • vincristine (Oncovin)
  • prednisone

Targeted therapy

Targeted therapy uses drugs to target specific molecules (such as proteins) on the surface of cancer cells. These molecules help send signals that tell cells to grow or divide. By targeting these molecules, the drugs stop the growth and spread of cancer cells while limiting harm to normal cells.

Rituximab (Rituxan) is the most common targeted therapy used to treat NHL. Some people with AIDS-related lymphoma may be given rituximab combined with chemotherapy.

R-CHOP may also be given for AIDS-related lymphoma. It is the CHOP combination of drugs with rituximab, which is a type of targeted therapy.

Central nervous system prophylaxis

The central nervous system (CNS) is the brain and spinal cord. There is a risk that AIDS-related lymphoma will spread to the CNS. CNS prophylaxis is used to try to prevent lymphoma cells from entering the tissue covering the brain and spinal cord.

CNS prophylaxis may be given as intrathecal chemotherapy. This means that the chemotherapy drugs are injected into the cerebrospinal fluid (CSF). A common drug used in CNS prophylaxis is methotrexate.

Radiation therapy

Sometimes an AIDS-related lymphoma starts in the brain or spinal cord. This is called AIDS-related primary CNS lymphoma. It is treated either with chemotherapy or with external beam radiation therapy to the whole brain.

gastrointestinal (GI)

Referring to or having to do with the digestive organs.

The gastrointestinal (GI) tract, or digestive tract, includes the mouth, pharynx (throat), esophagus, stomach, small intestine and large intestine.

Stories

Dr Camilla Zimmermann Dr Camilla Zimmermann highlights the need to change the stigma of palliative care.

Learn more

Cancer affects all Canadians

Icon - 1 in 2

Nearly 1 in 2 Canadians is expected to be diagnosed with cancer in their lifetime.

Learn more

Lymphome non hodgkinien

Vous êtes ici:

Lymphome lié au sida

Le sida (syndrome d'immunodéficience acquise) est une maladie causée par le virus de l'immunodéficience humaine (VIH). Ce virus attaque et affaiblit le système immunitaire, empêchant ainsi le corps de combattre les infections ou les maladies.

Les personnes atteintes du sida risquent davantage d’avoir certains cancers. Le lymphome non hodgkinien (LNH) est le type de lymphome qui affecte le plus souvent les personnes atteintes du sida. Moins de personnes ont un lymphome lié au sida puisqu'on a maintenant recours au traitement antirétroviral hautement actif (HAART) pour traiter l'infection au VIH.

Il arrive souvent que le lymphome lié au sida se développe et se propage rapidement, c’est-à-dire qu’il est agressif. On le diagnostique fréquemment à un stade avancé.

Les lymphomes liés au sida sont habituellement des lymphomes B. Les principaux types de LNH qui apparaissent chez les personnes atteintes du sida sont entre autres ceux-ci :

Symptômes

Le lymphome lié au sida affecte souvent la moelle osseuse, l’encéphale et la moelle épinière (système nerveux central, ou SNC), les poumons, le foie et le tube digestif (tractus gastro-intestinal). Les personnes atteintes d’un LNH lié au sida ont souvent des tumeurs au thorax qui mesurent au moins le tiers de la largeur du thorax ou des tumeurs dans d’autres régions qui mesurent au moins 10 cm de large (maladie volumineuse) ainsi que des symptômes B (fièvre inexpliquée, sueurs nocturnes importantes et perte de poids inexpliquée).

Traitements

On peut vous proposer les traitements suivants pour un lymphome lié au sida.

Traitement antirétroviral hautement actif (HAART)

Le HAART ralentit la vitesse à laquelle le sida évolue. Il peut permettre à certaines personnes atteintes d'un lymphome lié au sida de recevoir sans danger des associations d'agents chimiothérapeutiques à doses standard ou même plus élevées.

Chimiothérapie

La chimiothérapie est le traitement principal du lymphome lié au sida.

Une association d’agents chimiothérapeutiques qu’on administre souvent pour traiter le lymphome lié au sida est le protocole CHOP :

  • cyclophosphamide (Cytoxan, Procytox)
  • doxorubicine (Adriamycin)
  • vincristine (Oncovin)
  • prednisone

Traitement ciblé

Le traitement ciblé a recours à des médicaments pour cibler des molécules spécifiques (comme des protéines) situées à la surface des cellules cancéreuses. Ces molécules contribuent à l’envoi de signaux qui indiquent aux cellules de croître ou de se diviser. En ciblant ces molécules, les médicaments interrompent la croissance et la propagation des cellules cancéreuses tout en limitant les dommages aux cellules normales.

Le rituximab (Rituxan) est le médicament ciblé le plus souvent administré pour traiter le LNH. Certaines personnes atteintes d’un lymphome lié au sida peuvent recevoir une association de rituximab et d’agents chimiothérapeutiques.

On pourrait aussi administrer le protocole R-CHOP en présence d’un lymphome lié au sida. On associe simplement les médicaments qui composent le CHOP au rituximab, un type de médicament ciblé.

Prophylaxie du système nerveux central

Le système nerveux central (SNC) est fait de l’encéphale et de la moelle épinière. Le lymphome lié au sida risque de se propager au SNC. On fait une prophylaxie du SNC pour essayer d’empêcher les cellules du lymphome de pénétrer le tissu qui recouvre l’encéphale et la moelle épinière.

Il est possible qu’on administre la prophylaxie du SNC par chimiothérapie intrathécale, c’est-à-dire que les agents chimiothérapeutiques sont injectés dans le liquide céphalorachidien (LCR). Un médicament souvent employé est le méthotrexate.

Radiothérapie

Il arrive parfois que le lymphome lié au sida prenne naissance dans l’encéphale ou la moelle épinière. C’est alors un lymphome primitif du SCN lié au sida. On le traite par chimiothérapie ou radiothérapie externe à tout l’encéphale.

gastro-intestinal (GI)

Terme qui désigne tout ce qui a rapport aux organes digestifs.

Le tractus gastro-intestinal (GI), ou tube digestif, comprend la bouche, le pharynx (gorge), l’œsophage, l’estomac, l’intestin grêle et le gros intestin.

Histoires

Robert Heimbecker Les enfants ne devraient pas s’inquiéter à propos de chirurgie et de chimiothérapie.

Plus de details

Ne manquez pas la Journée de sensibilisation à la reconstruction mammaire

La Journée de sensibilisation à la reconstruction mammaire est un événement annuel GRATUIT qui vous met en lien avec des experts en reconstruction mammaire renommés afin de répondre à toutes vos questions.

Plus de 30 événements à travers le Canada!

Apprenez-en plus