Non-Hodgkin lymphoma

You are here: 

MALT lymphoma

Extranodal marginal zone lymphoma of mucosa-associated lymphoid tissue (MALT) is a B-cell non-Hodgkin lymphoma (NHL). MALT lymphoma is called extranodal because it starts in tissues or organs outside of the lymph nodes. It develops in lymphatic tissue in the mucous membranes or tissues that line body organs or cavities.

MALT lymphomas are also called maltomas. MALT lymphomas occur nearly equally in men and women, and usually in people in their 60s.

Most MALT lymphomas start in the stomach. More than 60% of people with MALT lymphoma of the stomach have a history of a bacterial infection caused by Helicobacter pylori (H. pylori). Other bacterial or viral infections are also linked to MALT lymphoma.

People with MALT lymphoma in areas other than the stomach often have a history of autoimmune disorders such as Hashimoto’s thyroiditis or Sjogren’s syndrome. These areas include:

  • other parts of the gastrointestinal tract, such as the small intestine or colon (the longest part of the large intestine)
  • the lungs
  • tissue around the eye
  • the skin
  • the salivary glands
  • the thyroid
  • the bladder
  • the breasts

MALT lymphoma is usually slow growing (indolent) but sometimes it can be fast growing (aggressive). It usually takes a long time for it to spread outside the area where it started, and it is often diagnosed when it is stage I or II. Even if several extranodal sites develop, it doesn’t mean that it has spread throughout the body (called widespread disease).

In rare cases, MALT lymphoma can change into a faster-growing (more aggressive) type of NHL.

Treatments

MALT lymphoma in the stomach is treated differently than MALT lymphoma in other parts of the body. Early stage MALT lymphoma is also treated differently than advanced MALT lymphoma.

Early stage MALT lymphoma in the stomach

The following are treatment options for early stage (stage I or II) MALT lymphoma that is only in the stomach.

Antibiotics are often the first treatment if a biopsy confirms you have H. pylori infection. Antibiotics may be the only treatment needed if a follow-up biopsy shows that the infection has cleared and there is no evidence of lymphoma.

Radiation therapy may be used if antibiotics don’t work. External beam radiation therapy is directed at tumours in the stomach.

Chemotherapy is sometimes used if MALT lymphoma doesn’t respond to antibiotics. Single drugs, such as chlorambucil (Leukeran) or cyclophosphamide (Cytoxan, Procytox) may be used. Sometimes a combination of chemotherapy drugs like CHOP may be given. CHOP is cyclophosphamide, doxorubicin (Adriamycin), vincristine (Oncovin) and prednisone.

Targeted therapy uses drugs to target specific molecules (such as proteins) on the surface of cancer cells. These molecules help send signals that tell cells to grow or divide. By targeting these molecules, the drugs stop the growth and spread of cancer cells while limiting harm to normal cells. Rituximab (Rituxan) is a targeted therapy drug that may be given if antibiotics aren’t effective or if MALT lymphoma progresses after chemotherapy.

Surgery is sometimes used to remove part or all of the stomach (called a partial or total gastrectomy). This is done if the lymphoma remains after antibiotics or if it progresses. Surgery is not used as often as it was in the past to treat MALT lymphoma in the stomach because other therapies can usually treat it successfully.

Early stage MALT lymphoma outside of the stomach

Early stage MALT lymphoma that starts in an area other than the stomach may be given local treatments, such as surgery or radiation therapy.

Surgery to remove the area affected by lymphoma may be an option depending on where it is in the body and how big it is.

External beam radiation therapy may be given to the affected area.

Advanced MALT lymphoma

More advanced MALT lymphomas (stage III or IV) in the stomach or other parts of the body may be offered the following treatments.

Watchful waiting (also called active surveillance) may be an option because MALT lymphoma develops slowly and may not need to be treated right away. The healthcare team will carefully monitor the person with MALT lymphoma and start treatment when symptoms appear or there are signs that the disease is progressing.

Radiation therapy may be used if the lymphoma is large, causing symptoms or growing. External beam radiation therapy is directed at the tumour and some tissue around it.

Chemotherapy may be used instead of radiation therapy if the lymphoma is large, it is growing, there is cancer throughout the body (it is widespread) or it comes back after it is treated. The following drugs or combinations of drugs may be given:

  • fludarabine (Fludara)
  • bendamustine (Treanda)
  • chlorambucil (Leukeran)
  • CHOP – cyclophosphamide (Cytoxan, Procytox), doxorubicin (Adriamycin), vincristine (Oncovin) and prednisone
  • CVP – cyclophosphamide, vincristine and prednisone

Targeted therapy may be given if MALT lymphoma in the stomach doesn’t respond to antibiotics, if the lymphoma is not linked with H. pylori infection or if the lymphoma comes back (recurs) after treatment. The targeted therapy drug rituximab may be given alone or combined with chemotherapy.

mucous membrane

The thin, moist layer of tissue that lines some organs and body cavities, including the nose, mouth, lungs, airways, vagina and gastrointestinal (GI) tract.

Glands in the mucous membrane make mucus (a thick, slippery fluid).

Also called mucosa.

Stories

Morgan Smith Even though we are high school students, we were able to raise so much money for the Canadian Cancer Society. It just goes to show what can happen when a small group of people come together for a great cause.

Read Morgan's story

Funding world-class research

Icon - paper

Cancer affects all Canadians but together we can reduce the burden by investing in research and prevention efforts. Learn about the impact of our funded research.

Learn more

Lymphome non hodgkinien

Vous êtes ici:

Lymphome du MALT

Le lymphome du tissu lymphoïde associé aux muqueuses (MALT) de la zone marginale extraganglionnaire est un lymphome non hodgkinien (LNH) à lymphocytes B. On dit que le lymphome du MALT est extraganglionnaire puisqu’il prend naissance dans des tissus ou des organes situés hors des ganglions lymphatiques. Il apparaît dans le tissu lymphatique des muqueuses ou le tissu qui tapisse des organes ou des cavités du corps.

Le lymphome du MALT est aussi appelé maltome. Il affecte presque autant l’homme que la femme, habituellement dans la soixantaine.

La plupart des lymphomes du MALT prennent naissance dans l’estomac. Plus de 60 % des personnes atteintes d’un lymphome du MALT de l’estomac ont des antécédents d’infection bactérienne à l’Helicobacter pylori (H. pylori). D’autres infections bactériennes et virales sont également liées au lymphome du MALT.

Les personnes atteintes d’un lymphome du MALT dans d’autres régions du corps que l’estomac ont souvent des antécédents de troubles auto-immuns comme la thyroïdite de Hashimoto et le syndrome de Sjögren. Ces régions du corps comportent celles-ci :

  • autres parties du tube digestif, comme l'intestin grêle ou le côlon (segment le plus long du gros intestin)
  • poumons
  • tissu autour de l’œil
  • peau
  • glandes salivaires
  • glande thyroïde
  • vessie
  • seins

En général, le lymphome du MALT évolue lentement (indolent), mais il arrive qu’il se développe rapidement (agressif). Il prend habituellement beaucoup de temps avant de se propager hors de la région où il a pris naissance, et on le diagnostique souvent au stade I ou II. Même si on observe plusieurs sièges extraganglionnaires, cela ne signifie pas que le lymphome s’est propagé dans tout le corps (maladie généralisée).

Dans de rares cas, le lymphome du MALT peut se transformer en un type de LNH qui évolue rapidement, c’est-à-dire qui est agressif.

Traitements

Le lymphome du MALT de l'estomac est traité différemment du lymphome du MALT qui apparaît dans une autre partie du corps. Le lymphome du MALT de stade précoce est souvent traité différemment du lymphome du MALT de stade avancé.

Lymphome du MALT de l’estomac de stade précoce

Les options de traitement du lymphome du MALT de stade précoce (stade I ou II) qui est confiné à l'estomac sont les suivantes.

Les antibiotiques constituent souvent le premier traitement si une biopsie confirme que vous avez une infection à H. pylori.  Les antibiotiques peuvent être le seul traitement nécessaire si une biopsie de suivi démontre que l’infection est disparue et qu’il n’y a aucun signe de lymphome.

On peut avoir recours à la radiothérapie si les antibiotiques ne sont pas efficaces. On dirige une radiothérapie externe vers les tumeurs à l’estomac.

On administre parfois une chimiothérapie si le lymphome du MALT ne réagit pas aux antibiotiques. Un seul médicament, comme le chlorambucil (Leukeran) ou la cyclophosphamide (Cytoxan, Procytox), peut être employé. Il arrive parfois qu’on associe des agents chimiothérapeutiques comme dans le cas du protocole CHOP, qui est à base de cyclophosphamide, de doxorubicine (Adriamycin), de vincristine (Oncovin) et de prednisone.

Le traitement ciblé a recours à des médicaments pour cibler des molécules spécifiques (comme des protéines) situées à la surface des cellules cancéreuses. Ces molécules contribuent à l’envoi de signaux qui indiquent aux cellules de croître ou de se diviser. En ciblant ces molécules, les médicaments interrompent la croissance et la propagation des cellules cancéreuses tout en limitant les dommages aux cellules normales. Le rituximab (Rituxan) est un médicament ciblé qu’on peut administrer si les antibiotiques ne sont pas efficaces ou si le lymphome du MALT évolue après la chimiothérapie.

On fait parfois une chirurgie pour enlever l’estomac en partie ou en totalité (gastrectomie partielle ou totale) si le lymphome n'a pas disparu après un traitement aux antibiotiques ou s'il évolue. On ne pratique pas autant qu'avant de chirurgie pour traiter le lymphome du MALT de l’estomac puisque d’autres traitements sont habituellement efficaces.

Lymphome du MALT hors de l’estomac de stade précoce

Le lymphome du MALT de stade précoce qui a pris naissance dans une autre région que l’estomac peut être traité localement, comme par chirurgie ou par radiothérapie.

La chirurgie visant à enlever la région atteinte par le lymphome peut être une option selon son emplacement dans le corps et sa taille.

On peut administrer une radiothérapie externe à la région affectée.

Lymphome du MALT de stade avancé

Un lymphome du MALT de stade avancé (stade III ou IV) qui se trouve dans l’estomac ou une autre partie du corps peut recevoir l’un des traitements suivants.

L’observation vigilante, aussi appelée surveillance active, peut être une option puisque le lymphome du MALT se développe lentement et n’a peut-être pas besoin d’être traité immédiatement. L’équipe de soins surveille attentivement la personne atteinte d’un lymphome du MALT et commence le traitement quand des symptômes apparaissent ou s’il y a des signes que la maladie évolue.

On peut avoir recours à la radiothérapie si le lymphome est volumineux, s'il cause des symptômes ou s'il grossit. On dirige une radiothérapie externe vers la tumeur et une partie du tissu qui l’entoure.

On peut avoir recours à la chimiothérapie au lieu de la radiothérapie si le lymphome est volumineux, s'il grossit, s'il y a du cancer dans tout le corps (maladie généralisée) ou s'il réapparaît après avoir été traité. On peut administrer les médicaments ou associations médicamenteuses qui suivent :

  • fludarabine (Fludara)
  • bendamustine (Treanda)
  • chlorambucil (Leukeran)
  • protocole CHOP – cyclophosphamide (Cytoxan, Procytox), doxorubicine (Adriamycin), vincristine (Oncovin) et prednisone
  • protocole CVP – cyclophosphamide, vincristine et prednisone

On peut administrer un traitement ciblé si le lymphome du MALT de l’estomac ne réagit pas aux antibiotiques, si le lymphome n’est pas lié à une infection à H. pylori ou s’il réapparaît (récidive) après le traitement. Le rituximab (Rituxan) est un médicament ciblé qu’on peut administrer seul ou associer à une chimiothérapie.

muqueuse

Couche mince et humide de tissu qui tapisse certains organes et cavités du corps, dont le nez, la bouche, les poumons, les voies respiratoires, le vagin et le tube digestif.

Les glandes présentes dans une muqueuse produisent du mucus (liquide épais et glissant).

Histoires

Lusomé Founder and CEO Lara Smith En voyant ma sœur Erin – une jeune mère de famille – lutter contre le tourbillon émotionnel puis affronter la douleur physique liée aux traitements contre le cancer, j’ai eu envie de faire quelque chose pour aider les femmes à se sentir en confiance.

Lisez l’histoire de Lara

Investir pour réduire le fardeau du cancer

Icône – tirelire

L’an dernier, la SCC a financé la recherche sur le cancer à hauteur de 40 millions de dollars, grâce à nos donateurs. Découvrez comment vous pouvez aider à réduire le fardeau du cancer.

Apprenez-en plus