Neuroendocrine
cancer

You are here: 

If neuroendocrine cancer spreads

Cancer cells have the potential to spread from their original location to other parts of the body where they can grow into new tumours. This process is called metastasis. The tumours are also called metastasis (singular) or metastases (plural). Metastases are also called secondary tumours.

Understanding the usual progression of cancer helps the doctor to predict its probable course, plan treatment and anticipate further care.

The most common sites where neuroendocrine cancer spreads are:

  • regional lymph nodes
  • liver
  • lung
  • bones (rare)
  • brain (rare)

Neuroendocrine cancers can sometimes cause complications if a reaction around the tumour creates scar tissue. The growth of neuroendocrine tumours or carcinomas can also cause complications. For example, intestinal neuroendocrine tumours or carcinomas may block (obstruct) the intestine or bile duct. The hormone serotonin released by intestinal neuroendocrine tumours or carcinomas is often associated with heart valve damage (carcinoid heart disease), carcinoid syndrome and carcinoid crisis.

Stories

Woman at market in front of CCS poster This truly is a life-saving program, and we are so grateful to Husky Energy for making it happen.

Read more

Clinical trial discovery improves quality of life

Illustration of test tubes

A clinical trial led by the Society’s NCIC Clinical Trials group found that men with prostate cancer who are treated with intermittent courses of hormone therapy live as long as those receiving continuous therapy.

Learn more

Cancer
neuroendocrinien

Vous êtes ici:

Si le cancer neuroendocrinien se propage

Les cellules cancéreuses ont la capacité de se propager à partir de leur lieu d’origine vers d’autres parties du corps où elles peuvent former de nouvelles tumeurs. Ce processus porte le nom de métastase. Les nouvelles tumeurs sont aussi appelées métastase (au singulier, s’il n’y en a qu’une seule) ou métastases (au pluriel, s’il y en a plusieurs). Les métastases sont aussi connues sous le nom de tumeurs secondaires.

Comprendre comment progresse habituellement le cancer aide le médecin à prévoir son évolution probable et à planifier le traitement ainsi que les soins futurs.

Le cancer neuroendocrinien se propage le plus couramment vers :

  • les ganglions lymphatiques régionaux
  • le foie
  • les poumons
  • les os (rare)
  • le cerveau (rare)

Un cancer neuroendocrinien cause parfois des complications si une réaction près de la tumeur entraîne la formation de tissus cicatriciels. La croissance d’une tumeur neuroendocrine ou d’un carcinome neuroendocrinien peut aussi entraîner des complications. Par exemple, une tumeur neuroendocrine ou un carcinome neuroendocrinien intestinal peut bloquer (obstruer) l’intestin ou le canal biliaire. L’hormone appelée sérotonine sécrétée par les tumeurs neuroendocrines ou les carcinomes neuroendocriniens intestinaux est souvent associée à une atteinte des valvules cardiaques (maladie cardiaque carcinoïde), au syndrome carcinoïde et à une crise carcinoïde.

Histoires

Robert Heimbecker Les enfants ne devraient pas s’inquiéter à propos de chirurgie et de chimiothérapie.

Plus de details

Faire face au fardeau financier du cancer

Illustration de pièces de monnaie

La Société canadienne du cancer fournit de précieux renseignements sur les programmes gouvernementaux en matière de revenu, l’aide financière et les autres ressources à la disposition des familles qui essaient de boucler leur budget en cette période difficile.

Apprenez-en plus