Neuroblastoma

You are here: 

Stages of neuroblastoma

Staging describes or classifies a cancer based on how much cancer there is in the body and where it is when first diagnosed. This is often called the extent of cancer. Information from tests is used to find out the size of the tumour, which parts of the organ have cancer, whether the cancer has spread from where it first started and where the cancer has spread. The healthcare team uses the stage to plan treatment and estimate your child’s outcome (prognosis).

Doctors use 2 systems to stage neuroblastoma:

  • International Neuroblastoma Staging System
  • International Neuroblastoma Risk Group Staging System

When describing the stage, doctors may use the words local, regional or distant. Local means that the cancer is only in the area where it first started to grow and has not spread to other parts of the body. Regional means close to the area where it started to grow or around it. Distant means in a part of the body farther from the area where it first started to grow.

Generally, the higher the stage number, the larger the cancer is or the more the cancer has spread. Talk to your child’s doctor if you have questions about staging.

Find out more about staging cancer.

International Neuroblastoma Staging System (INSS)

The most common staging system for neuroblastoma is the International Neuroblastoma Staging System (INSS). The INSS is based on the results of surgery to remove the tumour. Each stage is given a number from 1 to 4.

Stage 1

The tumour is only in the area where it started and is on only the right side or the left side of the body. It can be completely removed with surgery.

Stage 2A

The tumour is only in the area where it started and is on only one side of the body, but it can’t be completely removed with surgery.

Stage 2B

The cancer is on only one side of the body and it may be completely removed with surgery.

The cancer has spread to nearby lymph nodes on the same side of the body as the tumour (called ipsilateral lymph nodes).

Stage 3

The cancer can’t be completely removed with surgery and one of the following applies:

  • The tumour has grown across the midline of the body (defined as the spine) and the cancer may also have spread to nearby lymph nodes.
  • The main tumour is on one side of the body, but the cancer has spread to nearby lymph nodes on the other side of the body.
  • The tumour is growing on the midline of the body and the cancer has spread to lymph nodes or tissues on both sides of the body.

Stage 4

The cancer has spread to other parts of the body (called distant metastasis), such as to distant lymph nodes, bone, bone marrow, liver, skin or other organs. This is also called metastatic neuroblastoma. Stage 4 doesn’t include tumours that are stage 4S.

Stage 4S (special neuroblastoma)

This stage is only used for children younger than 1 year old.

The main tumour is only in the area where it started and is classified as stage 1, 2A or 2B. But the cancer has spread to the liver, skin or bone marrow. If it has spread to the bone marrow, less than 10% of the cells in the bone marrow are cancer cells.

International Neuroblastoma Risk Group Staging System (INRGSS)

The International Neuroblastoma Risk Group Staging System (INRGSS) is based on the results of imaging tests and sometimes other tests done before surgery. If image-defined risk factors (IDRFs) can be seen on the imaging tests, it may mean that the tumour will be harder to remove. IDRFs are when the cancer looks like it has spread to nearby important structures. The INRGSS divides neuroblastoma into 4 stages.

Stage L1

The tumour is only in one area of the body where it started (such as the neck, chest, abdomen or pelvis) and hasn’t grown into any vital structures listed as an IDRF.

Stage L2

The tumour has spread to a nearby area and there are 1 or more IDRFs.

Stage M

The cancer has spread to distant parts of the body (called distant metastasis) but doesn’t include tumours that are stage MS.

Stage MS

Stage MS is only used for children younger than 18 months with metastatic cancer (cancer that has spread to distant parts of the body).

The cancer has only spread to the skin, liver or bone marrow. If it has spread to the bone marrow, less than 10% of the cells in the bone marrow are cancer cells. An MIBG scan doesn’t show cancer in the bone or bone marrow.

Recurrent neuroblastoma

Recurrent neuroblastoma means that the cancer has come back after it has been treated. If it comes back in the same place that the cancer first started, it’s called a local recurrence. If it comes back in tissues or lymph nodes close to where it first started, it’s called a regional recurrence. It can also recur in another part of the body. This is called distant metastasis or distant recurrence.

Stories

Susan Penney Cancer doesn’t discriminate.

Read Susan's story

Reducing the burden of cancer

Icon - hand with dollar sign floating above it

Canadians can help CCS fund the best research and support people living with cancer by donating and volunteering.

Learn more

Neuroblastome

Vous êtes ici:

Stades du neuroblastome

La stadification décrit ou classe un cancer en fonction de la quantité de cancer présente dans le corps et de son emplacement lors du diagnostic initial. C’est ce qu’on appelle souvent l’étendue du cancer. On se sert de l’information révélée par les examens pour savoir quelle est la taille de la tumeur, quelles parties de l’organe sont atteintes par le cancer, si le cancer s’est propagé à partir de son lieu d’origine et où il s’est propagé. L’équipe de soins a recours au stade pour planifier le traitement de votre enfant et prévoir l’issue (son pronostic).

Les médecins utilisent 2 systèmes pour établir le stade du neuroblastome :

  • International Neuroblastoma Staging System 
  • International Neuroblastoma Risk Group Staging System

Quand les médecins décrivent le stade, ils peuvent employer les mots local, régional ou distant. Local signifie que le cancer se trouve seulement dans la région où il a pris naissance et qu’il ne s’est pas propagé à d’autres parties du corps. Régional signifie près ou autour de la région où il a pris naissance. Distant signifie dans une partie du corps plus éloignée de la région où il a pris naissance.

En général, plus le numéro du stade est élevé, plus le cancer est gros ou plus il s’est propagé. Parlez au médecin de votre enfant si vous vous posez des questions sur la stadification.

Apprenez-en davantage sur la stadification du cancer.

International Neuroblastoma Staging System (INSS)

Le système de stadification le plus fréquemment employé pour le neuroblastome est l’International Neuroblastoma Staging System, ou INSS, c’est-à-dire le système international de stadification du neuroblastome. L’INSS se base sur les résultats de la chirurgie pratiquée pour enlever la tumeur. On assigne un numéro de 1 à 4 à chaque stade.

Stade 1

La tumeur se trouve seulement dans la région où elle a pris naissance et uniquement du côté droit ou du côté gauche du corps. On peut l’enlever complètement par chirurgie.

Stade 2A

La tumeur se trouve seulement dans la région où elle a pris naissance et d’un seul côté du corps, mais on ne peut pas l’enlever complètement par chirurgie.

Stade 2B

Le cancer se trouve d’un seul côté du corps et il est possible qu’on puisse l’enlever complètement par chirurgie.

Le cancer s’est propagé aux ganglions lymphatiques voisins situés du même côté du corps que la tumeur (ganglions homolatéraux).

Stade 3

On ne peut pas enlever complètement le cancer par chirurgie et l’un des énoncés suivants s’applique :

  • La tumeur a traversé la ligne médiane du corps (définie par la colonne vertébrale) et il peut aussi s’être propagé aux ganglions lymphatiques voisins.
  • La tumeur principale se trouve d’un seul côté du corps, mais le cancer s’est propagé aux ganglions lymphatiques voisins situés de l’autre côté du corps.
  • La tumeur se développe sur la ligne médiane du corps et le cancer s’est propagé aux ganglions lymphatiques ou aux tissus des deux côtés du corps.

Stade 4

Le cancer s’est propagé à d’autres parties du corps (métastases à distance), comme à des ganglions lymphatiques éloignés, des os, la moelle osseuse, le foie, la peau ou d’autres organes. On parle aussi de neuroblastome métastatique. Le stade 4 ne comprend pas les tumeurs de stade 4S.

Stade 4S (neuroblastome spécial)

Ce stade est réservé aux enfants de moins de 1 an.

La tumeur principale se trouve seulement dans la région où elle a pris naissance et on la classe sous le stade 1, 2A ou 2B. Mais le cancer s’est propagé au foie, à la peau ou à la moelle osseuse. S’il s’est propagé à la moelle osseuse, moins de 10 % des cellules dans la moelle sont cancéreuses.

International Neuroblastoma Risk Group Staging System (INRGSS)

L’International Neuroblastoma Risk Group Staging System, ou INRGSS, soit le système international de stadification par catégorie de risque du neuroblastome, se base sur les résultats d’examens d’imagerie et parfois d’autres tests effectués avant la chirurgie. Si on observe des facteurs de risque définis par l’imagerie lors des examens d’imagerie, c’est-à-dire qu’il semble que le cancer se soit propagé à des structures importantes voisines, cela peut signifier que la tumeur sera plus difficile à enlever. L’INRGSS divise le neuroblastome en 4 stades.

Stade L1

La tumeur se trouve seulement dans la région du corps où elle a pris naissance, comme le cou, le thorax, l’abdomen ou le bassin, et elle n’a pas envahi de structures vitales décrites comme des facteurs de risque définis par l’imagerie.

StadeL2

La tumeur s’est propagée à une région voisine et on observe 1 ou plusieurs facteurs de risque définis par l’imagerie.

Stade M

Le cancer s’est propagé à des parties du corps éloignées de la tumeur (métastases à distance), mais ce stade ne comprend pas les tumeurs de stade MS.

Stade MS

Ce stade est réservé aux enfants de moins de 18 mois dont le cancer est métastatique, c’est-à-dire qu’il s’est propagé à des parties du corps éloignées de la tumeur.

Le cancer s’est propagé seulement à la peau, au foie ou à la moelle osseuse. S’il s’est propagé à la moelle osseuse, moins de 10 % des cellules dans la moelle sont cancéreuses. La scintigraphie à la MIBG ne permet pas de savoir si le cancer s’est propagé aux os ou à la moelle osseuse.

Récidive de neuroblastome

La récidive d’un neuroblastome signifie que le cancer réapparaît à la suite du traitement. S’il réapparaît à l’endroit où il a d’abord pris naissance, on parle de récidive locale. S’il réapparaît dans des tissus ou des ganglions lymphatiques situés près de l’endroit où il a d’abord pris naissance, on parle de récidive régionale. Il peut aussi réapparaître dans une autre partie du corps : on parle alors de récidive ou de métastase à distance.

pronostic

Issue ou évolution prévue d’une maladie.

Chance de guérison ou risque de récidive.

Histoires

Carol Leuken Prairie Women on Snowmobiles est une expérience qui vous transforme à jamais.

Plus de details

Faire avancer la lutte contre le cancer

Icône – flèche

Le taux de survie au cancer après cinq ans a augmenté, passant de 25 pour cent dans les années 1940 à 60 pour cent aujourd’hui.

Apprenez-en plus