Neuroblastoma

You are here: 

Prognosis and survival for neuroblastoma

If your child has neuroblastoma, you will have questions about their prognosis. A prognosis is the doctor’s best estimate of how cancer will affect someone and how it will respond to treatment. Prognosis and survival depend on many factors. Only a doctor familiar with your child’s medical history, the type, stage and other features of the cancer, the treatments chosen and the response to treatment can put all of this information together with survival statistics to arrive at a prognosis.

A prognostic factor is an aspect of the cancer or a characteristic of the child that the doctor will consider when making a prognosis. A predictive factor influences how a cancer will respond to a certain treatment. Prognostic and predictive factors are often discussed together. They both play a part in deciding on a treatment plan and a prognosis.

The following are prognostic and predictive factors for neuroblastoma.

Age

Children younger than 18 months of age usually have a better outcome.

Tumour histology

Tumour histology is what the cancer cells look like under the microscope and predicts how they behave. Doctors may use a classification system, such as the Shimada classification system, to determine if a tumour has a favourable or unfavourable histology.

Tumours with a favourable histology have more differentiated cancer cells, which means the cancer cells look and act more like normal cells. The cancer cells are also slower growing.

Tumours with an unfavourable histology often have less differentiated cancer cells, which means the cancer cells are very different from normal cells. The cancer cells are usually faster growing.

Stage

The earlier the stage at diagnosis, the better the prognosis. Surgery is the only treatment that most children with localized neuroblastoma need. Children with metastatic neuroblastoma need more intensive treatment with a combination of therapies.

Response to treatment

High-risk neuroblastoma that doesn’t respond well to initial induction chemotherapy (for example, if neuroblastoma remains in the bone marrow or if there is little improvement in the extent of disease shown on an MIBG scan) often has a poorer prognosis.

Risk group

The lower the risk group, the better the prognosis. Low-risk neuroblastoma responds better to treatment, requires less treatment and is less likely to come back (recur) than high-risk neuroblastoma.

DNA ploidy

DNA ploidy (DNA index) is the amount of DNA content in each cell. Healthy cells with a normal amount of DNA are classified as diploid and are given a DNA index of 1. Neuroblastoma cells that have excess (more than a normal amount of) DNA are classified as hyperdiploid and are given a DNA index greater than 1 (DNA index > 1).

Diploid (DNA index = 1) tumours tend to be less responsive to treatment and often need more aggressive therapy. Hyperdiploid (DNA index > 1) tumours tend to respond better to treatment and usually have a better prognosis.

MYCN status

MYCN is a gene that regulates cell growth. A single copy of the gene (described as non-amplified) is normal and is linked with a less aggressive form of cancer. Multiple extra copies of the gene (described as amplification) are usually seen in more aggressive tumours.

Chromosome changes

These changes can be losses or gains (fewer or more copies) of whole chromosomes (called numerical chromosomal aberrations) or losses or gains of just parts of individual chromosomes (called segmental chromosomal aberrations). Tumours with segmental chromosomal aberrations have a less favourable prognosis than tumours with only numerical abnormalities.

ALK mutation

The presence of an ALK gene mutation is not clearly associated with a difference in prognosis. But patients with ALK mutations may be eligible to receive specific treatments (with ALK inhibitors) on clinical trials.

Stories

Dr John Dick A new understanding of blood cells

Read more

Funding world-class research

Icon - paper

Cancer affects all Canadians but together we can reduce the burden by investing in research and prevention efforts. Learn about the impact of our funded research.

Learn more

Logo Société canadienne du cancer

Neuroblastome

Vous êtes ici:

Pronostic et survie pour le neuroblastome

Il est possible que les enfants atteints de neuroblastome et leurs parents se posent des questions sur le pronostic. Le pronostic est l’acte par lequel le médecin évalue le mieux comment le cancer affectera un enfant et comment il réagira au traitement. Le pronostic et la survie dépendent de nombreux facteurs. Seul un médecin qui connaît bien les antécédents médicaux de votre enfant, le type, le stade et les caractéristiques du cancer dont il est atteint, les traitements choisis et la réaction au traitement peut examiner toutes ces données de concert avec les statistiques de survie pour en arriver à un pronostic.

Les médecins se fondent sur les facteurs pronostiques suivants pour attribuer une catégorie de risque au neuroblastome. La catégorie de risque aide les médecins à établir un pronostic et à élaborer un plan de traitement.

Facteurs pronostiques

Un facteur pronostique est un aspect du cancer ou une caractéristique de l’enfant que le médecin prend en considération lorsqu’il établit un pronostic. Un facteur prédictif influence la façon dont le cancer réagit à un certain traitement. On aborde souvent les facteurs pronostiques et les facteurs prédictifs ensemble. Ils jouent tous les deux un rôle dans le choix du plan de traitement et dans l’établissement du pronostic.

Les éléments suivants sont des facteurs pronostiques et prédictifs du neuroblastome.

Âge

Les enfants âgés de moins de 12 mois ont généralement un meilleur pronostic.

Stade

Plus le stade est précoce au moment du diagnostic, meilleur est le pronostic. La chirurgie est le seul traitement nécessaire chez la plupart des enfants atteints d’un neuroblastome de stade 1. Les enfants atteints d’un neuroblastome de stade 4 nécessitent un traitement intensif associant différentes options de traitement.

Histologie de la tumeur

L’histologie de la tumeur désigne l’apparence des cellules cancéreuses au microscope et permet de prévoir leur comportement. Les médecins utilisent un système de classification, comme le système de classification de Shimada, pour déterminer si l’histologie de la tumeur est favorable ou non.

Les cellules cancéreuses des tumeurs dont l’histologie est favorable sont plus différenciées, ce qui signifie que leur apparence et leur comportement ressemblent davantage à ceux des cellules normales. Ces cellules cancéreuses croissent lentement.

Les cellules cancéreuses des tumeurs dont l’histologie est défavorable sont moins différenciées, ce qui signifie qu’elles sont très différentes des cellules normales. Ces cellules cancéreuses croissent habituellement rapidement.

Ploïdie

La ploïdie (ou index d’ADN) est la quantité d’ADN dans chaque cellule. Les cellules saines dont la quantité d’ADN est normale sont classées comme diploïdes et on leur attribue un index d’ADN de 1. Les cellules du neuroblastome dont la quantité d’ADN est supérieure à la normale sont classées comme hyperdiploïdes et on leur attribue un index d’ADN supérieur à 1.

Les tumeurs dont les cellules sont diploïdes (index d’ADN = 1) réagissent habituellement moins bien au traitement et nécessitent souvent un traitement agressif. Les tumeurs dont les cellules sont hyperdiploïdes (index d’ADN > 1) réagissent habituellement mieux au traitement et ont souvent un meilleur pronostic.

Statut du gène MYCN

Le gène MYCN est un gène qui régule la croissance cellulaire. La présence d’une seule copie de ce gène (on dit alors qu’il est non amplifié) est normale et on l’associe à une forme moins agressive de neuroblastome. On observe habituellement de nombreuses copies du gène MYCN (on dit alors qu’il est amplifié) dans les tumeurs plus agressives.

Changements chromosomiques

Le pronostic des enfants qui présentent un grand nombre de changements chromosomiques est souvent plus sombre. Les changements chromosomiques sont souvent associés à un âge plus avancé au moment du diagnostic, à un stade avancé ainsi qu’à un risque plus élevé de récidive.

Les tumeurs dont les cellules manquent certaines parties des chromosomes 1 ou 11 (délétions des segments 1p ou 11q) sont associées à un pronostic moins favorable. La présence d’une partie supplémentaire du chromosome 17 (gain du segment 17q) est aussi associée à un pronostic moins favorable.

Retour au menu

Catégories de risque

Le Children’s Oncology Group (COG) se fonde sur la plupart des facteurs de risque mentionnés précédemment pour classer le neuroblastome en catégories de risque.

Neuroblastome de risque faible
StadeÂgeStatut du gène MYCNHistologie de la tumeurPloïdie

1

0 à 21 ans

n’importe lequel

n’importe laquelle

n’importe laquelle

2A ou 2B

moins de 1 an

n’importe lequel

n’importe laquelle

n’importe laquelle

1 à 21 ans

non amplifié

n’importe laquelle

1 à 21 ans

amplifié

favorable

4S

moins de 1 an

non amplifié

favorable

hyperdiploïde (index d’ADN > 1)

Neuroblastome de risque moyen
StadeÂgeStatut du gène MYCNHistologie de la tumeurPloïdie

3

moins de 1 an

non amplifié

n’importe laquelle

n’importe laquelle

1 à 21 ans

non amplifié

favorable

4

moins de 1 an

non amplifié

n’importe laquelle

n’importe laquelle

4S

moins de 1 an

non amplifié

n’importe laquelle

diploïde (index d’ADN = 1)

moins de 1 an

non amplifié

défavorable

n’importe laquelle

Neuroblastome de risque élevé
StadeÂgeStatut du gène MYCNHistologie de la tumeurPloïdie

2A ou 2B

1 à 21 ans

amplifié

défavorable

3

moins de 1 an

amplifié

n’importe laquelle

n’importe laquelle

1 à 21 ans

non amplifié

défavorable

1 à 21 ans

amplifié

n’importe laquelle

4

moins de 1 an

amplifié

n’importe laquelle

n’importe laquelle

1 à 21 ans

n’importe lequel

n’importe laquelle

4S

moins de 1 an

amplifié

n’importe laquelle

n’importe laquelle

Retour au menu

Histoires

Dr Lillian Sung Améliorer les soins de soutien pour les enfants atteints de cancer

Plus de details

Comment stopper le cancer avant qu’il n’apparaisse?

Découvrez l’impact de vos habitudes de vie sur le risque de cancer et voyez comment prendre les choses en main à l’aide de notre outil interactif – C’est ma vie!

Apprenez-en plus