Neuroblastoma

You are here: 

What is neuroblastoma?

Neuroblastoma is a type of childhood cancer that starts in immature nerve cells in the sympathetic nervous system. These cells are called neuroblasts.

The nervous system is made up of the central nervous system (CNS) and the peripheral nervous system (PNS). The CNS includes the brain and spinal cord. The PNS is made up of the somatic nervous system, which controls voluntary body movements like walking, and the autonomic nervous system, which controls involuntary body functions like breathing and digestion. The autonomic nervous system is divided into the sympathetic nervous system and the parasympathetic nervous system. The parasympathetic nervous system controls various activities when the body is at rest. The sympathetic nervous system prepares the body for action. The nerves in this system control the fight-or-flight response. They respond to situations where you need strength and awareness, such as those that cause fear, anger, excitement or embarrassment.

Sometimes neuroblasts change and no longer grow or behave normally. These changes may lead to non-cancerous, or benign, tumours such as ganglioneuroma.

In some cases, changes to neuroblasts can cause neuroblastoma. It can develop anywhere in the sympathetic nervous system, but it starts most often in the abdomen in the adrenal gland that lies just above the kidney. It can also start near the spinal cord in the neck, chest or pelvis. Neuroblastoma most commonly develops in babies and young children.

In rare cases, changes to neuroblasts can lead to ganglioneuroblastoma. This is a rare tumour that is somewhere between non-cancerous and cancerous.

Stories

Carol Leuken You can’t travel with Prairie Women on Snowmobiles and not be changed.

Read more

Taking action against all cancers

Icon - question mark

The latest Canadian Cancer Statistics report found that of all newly diagnosed cancers in 2017, half are expected to be lung, colorectal, breast and prostate cancers. Learn what you can do to reduce the burden of cancer.

Learn more

Logo Société canadienne du cancer

Neuroblastome

Vous êtes ici:

Qu’est-ce que le neuroblastome?

Le neuroblastome est un type de cancer infantile qui prend naissance dans les cellules nerveuses immatures du système nerveux sympathique. Ces cellules sont appelées neuroblastes.

Le système nerveux est constitué du système nerveux central (SNC) et du système nerveux périphérique (SNP). Le SNC comprend l’encéphale et la moelle épinière. Le SNP se compose du système nerveux somatique qui dirige les mouvements volontaires du corps, comme la marche, et du système nerveux autonome qui dirige les fonctions involontaires du corps, comme la respiration et la digestion. Le système nerveux autonome comprend le système nerveux sympathique et le système nerveux parasympathique. Ce dernier dirige diverses activités du corps à l’état de repos, alors que le système nerveux sympathique prépare le corps à l’action. Les nerfs du système nerveux sympathique contrôlent la réaction de lutte ou de fuite. Ils réagissent à des situations qui exigent de la force et de la vivacité d’esprit, comme celles causant de la peur, de la colère, de l’excitation ou de la gêne.

Les neuroblastes subissent parfois des changements qui rendent leur croissance ou leur comportement anormal. Ces changements peuvent engendrer la formation de tumeurs non cancéreuses, ou bénignes, comme le ganglioneurome.

Les changements touchant les neuroblastes peuvent parfois causer un neuroblastome. Le neuroblastome peut se développer n’importe où dans le système nerveux sympathique, mais il apparaît le plus souvent dans l’abdomen, plus précisément dans les glandes surrénales situées juste au-dessus des reins. Il peut aussi apparaître près de la moelle épinière dans le cou, le thorax ou le pelvis. Le neuroblastome se manifeste le plus souvent chez des nourrissons et de jeunes enfants.

Dans de rares cas, les changements touchant les neuroblastes peuvent entraîner la formation d’un ganglioneuroblastome, une tumeur rare qui est un intermédiaire entre une tumeur non cancéreuse et une tumeur cancéreuse.

Histoires

Researcher Dr Ming-Sound Tsao Dr Ming-Sound Tsao a élaboré un modèle de laboratoire réaliste pour l’étude du cancer du poumon.

Plus de details

Création d’une stratégie nationale pour les proches aidants

Illustration d’aidants

La Société canadienne du cancer fait pression auprès du gouvernement fédéral afin qu’il adopte une stratégie nationale pour les aidants, de telle sorte que cet important groupe de personnes bénéficie d’un meilleur soutien financier.

Apprenez-en plus