Nasopharyngeal cancer

You are here: 

What is nasopharyngeal cancer?

Nasopharyngeal cancer starts in the cells of the nasopharynx, which is part of the throat (pharynx). A cancerous (malignant) tumour is a group of cancer cells that can grow into and destroy nearby tissue. It can also spread (metastasize) to other parts of the body.

The pharynx is part of the digestive and respiratory systems. It is divided into 3 parts. The nasopharynx is the top part, located behind the nose. The oropharynx is the middle part. The hypopharynx is the bottom part.

Cells in the nasopharynx sometimes change and no longer grow or behave normally. These changes may lead to non-cancerous (benign) tumours such as angiofibroma or hemangioma.

But in some cases, changes to nasopharyngeal cells can cause nasopharyngeal cancer. Most often, nasopharyngeal cancer starts in the epithelial cells that line the inside of the nasopharynx. This type of cancer is called nasopharyngeal carcinoma (NPC).

Rare types of nasopharyngeal cancer can also develop. These include nasopharyngeal papillary adenocarcinoma and minor salivary gland carcinoma.

epithelial cell

A specialized cell that makes up the epithelium (a layer of cells that makes up the surface of the skin, and lines cavities, glands and passages in the body). Some epithelial cells make mucus, hormones or other secretions.

The 4 types of epithelial cells are squamous cells, columnar cells, cuboidal cells and transitional cells.

Stories

Lisa Hamel I’m living proof that one can lead a normal life after cancer.

Read Lisa's story

Making progress in the cancer fight

Icon - arrow

The 5-year cancer survival rate has increased from 25% in the 1940s to 60% today.

Learn more

Cancer du nasopharynx

Vous êtes ici:

Qu’est-ce que le cancer du nasopharynx?

Le cancer du nasopharynx prend naissance dans les cellules du nasopharynx, qui fait partie de la gorge (pharynx). La tumeur cancéreuse (maligne) est un groupe de cellules cancéreuses qui peuvent envahir et détruire le tissu voisin. Elle peut aussi se propager (métastases) à d’autres parties du corps.

Le pharynx fait partie des appareils digestif et respiratoire. Il est divisé en 3 parties. Le nasopharynx forme le haut du pharynx, derrière le nez. L’oropharynx est la partie centrale du pharynx. L’hypopharynx forme le bas du pharynx.

Les cellules du nasopharynx subissent parfois des changements qui rendent leur mode de croissance ou leur comportement anormal. Ces changements peuvent engendrer des tumeurs non cancéreuses (bénignes) comme l’angiofibrome et l’hémangiome.

Mais dans certains cas, les cellules modifiées du nasopharynx peuvent devenir cancéreuses. Le cancer du nasopharynx prend le plus souvent naissance dans des cellules épithéliales qui tapissent l’intérieur du nasopharynx. Ce type de cancer porte le nom de carcinome du nasopharynx (CNP).

Des types rares de cancers du nasopharynx peuvent aussi se manifester. L’adénocarcinome papillaire et le carcinome des glandes salivaires accessoires en sont des exemples.

cellule épithéliale

Cellules spécialisées qui composent l’épithélium (couche de cellules formant la surface de la peau et tapissant des cavités, des glandes et des voies de passage). Certaines cellules épithéliales produisent du mucus, des hormones ou d'autres sécrétions.

Les 4 types de cellules épithéliales sont les cellules squameuses, les cellules cylindriques, les cellules cubiques et les cellules transitionnelles.

Histoires

Dr Lillian Sung Améliorer les soins de soutien pour les enfants atteints de cancer

Plus de details

Investir pour réduire le fardeau du cancer

Icône – tirelire

L’an dernier, la SCC a financé la recherche sur le cancer à hauteur de 40 millions de dollars, grâce à nos donateurs. Découvrez comment vous pouvez aider à réduire le fardeau du cancer.

Apprenez-en plus