Canadian Cancer Society logo

Nasal cavity and paranasal sinus cancer

You are here: 

Grading nasal cavity and paranasal sinus cancer

To find out the grade of cancer, the pathologist looks at a tissue sample from the nasal cavity or a paranasal sinus under a microscope. The pathologist gives the cancer a grade from 1 to 3 or 1 to 4. The lower the number, the lower the grade.

The grade is a description of the differentiation of the cancer cells. Differentiation is how the cancer cells look and behave compared to normal cells.

Low grade means that the cancers cells are well differentiated. They look almost like normal cells. Lower grade cancer cells tend to be slow growing and are less likely to spread.

High grade means that the cancer cells are poorly differentiated, or undifferentiated. They look less normal, or more abnormal. Higher grade cancer cells tend to grow more quickly and are more likely to spread.

Knowing the grade gives your healthcare team an idea of how quickly the cancer may be growing and how likely it is to spread. This helps them plan your treatment. The grade can also help the healthcare team predict how you might respond to treatment.

Stories

Rose-Marie LeBlanc If I can help even one individual in my lifetime, it is worth the effort.

Read Rose-Marie's story

Clinical trial discovery improves quality of life

Illustration of test tubes

A clinical trial led by the Society’s NCIC Clinical Trials group found that men with prostate cancer who are treated with intermittent courses of hormone therapy live as long as those receiving continuous therapy.

Learn more

Logo Société canadienne du cancer

Cancer des fosses nasales et des sinus paranasaux

Vous êtes ici:

Classification histologique du cancer des fosses nasales et des sinus paranasaux

Pour établir le grade du cancer, le pathologiste examine au microscope un échantillon de tissu prélevé dans une fosse nasale ou un sinus paranasal. Le pathologiste assigne un grade de 1 à 3 ou de 1 à 4 au cancer. Plus ce nombre est bas, plus le grade l’est aussi.

Le grade est la description de la différenciation des cellules cancéreuses. La différenciation est définie par l’apparence et le comportement des cellules cancéreuses comparativement à ceux des cellules normales.

Les cellules cancéreuses de bas grade sont bien différenciées. Elles ont presque l’air de cellules normales, ont tendance à se développer lentement et risquent moins de se propager.

Les cellules cancéreuses de haut grade sont peu différenciées ou indifférenciées. Leur apparence est moins normale, ou plus anormale. Elles ont tendance à se développer rapidement et sont plus susceptibles de se propager.

Connaître le grade donne à votre équipe de soins une idée de la rapidité à laquelle le cancer peut se développer et de sa probabilité de propagation. Cela l’aide à planifier votre traitement. Le grade peut aussi aider l’équipe de soins à prévoir comment vous pourriez réagir au traitement.

Histoires

Ray Ellis in fireman gear J’ai perdu pas mal de frères à cause du cancer. Parce que j’inhale de la fumée et que je m’expose à des substances chimiques, je vis pratiquement chaque jour dans la crainte du cancer.

Lisez l'histoire de Ray

Information sur le cancer dans plus de cent langues

Illustration d’un point d’interrogation

Le Service d’information sur le cancer (SIC) de la Société canadienne du cancer est le seul service téléphonique national, bilingue et sans frais au Canada à offrir de l’information sur le cancer dans plus de cent langues.

Apprenez-en plus