Canadian Cancer Society logo

Nasal cavity and paranasal sinus cancer

You are here: 

The nasal cavity and paranasal sinuses

The nasal cavity and the paranasal sinuses are part of the body’s respiratory system.

Structure of the nasal cavity

The nose is the beginning of the respiratory tract. The nostrils are the 2 openings in the nose.

The nasal vestibule is the area just inside the nostril. It is supported by cartilage and lined with skin containing coarse hairs. These hairs help trap large particles such as sand, dust and even insects to prevent them from entering the nasal cavity.

The nasal vestibule opens into the nasal cavity. The nasal cavity is divided into left and right sides by a wall of cartilage and bone (called the nasal septum). The nasal cavity is above the roof of the mouth (called the palate) and surrounded by the paranasal sinuses. It joins with the nasopharynx, which is the upper part of the pharynx, or throat, at the back of the mouth.

Structure of the paranasal sinuses

Paranasal means around the nose. The paranasal sinuses are air filled cavities around the nose within the skull. The paranasal sinuses are connected to one another and to the nasal cavity.

Types of paranasal sinuses

There are 4 pairs of paranasal sinuses.

Maxillary sinuses are in the maxilla (the upper jaw) on each side of the nose, behind the cheeks and below the eyes. They are shaped like pyramids. They are the largest of the paranasal sinuses.

Frontal sinuses are in the frontal bone, above the nose and behind the eyebrows. They are 2 cavities divided by a thin wall of bone.

Ethmoid sinuses are small cavities in the ethmoid bone, above the nasal cavity and between the eyes. They can vary in number and size.

The sphenoid sinus is found in the sphenoid bone, which is deep in the skull. It is behind the ethmoid sinuses and nasal cavity. It is separated into a left and right sinus by an incomplete, thin wall of bone.

Types of cells in the nasal cavity and paranasal sinuses

Several types of cells make up the lining of the nasal vestibule, nasal cavity and paranasal sinuses.

As you go farther into the nasal vestibule and into the nasal cavity, the cells change from flat squamous cellssquamous cellsA type of epithelial cell that is thin, flat and looks like a fish scale. to taller cells shaped like columns. On the surface of the column-shaped cells in the nasal cavity and paranasal sinuses are hair-like structures called cilia. The cilia beat to help move mucus toward the back of the throat, where it can be swallowed.

The nasal cavity and paranasal sinuses have other types of cells that make mucus. As the mucus moves through the nasal cavity and sinuses, it moisturizes and cleans the surface and traps bacteria, dust and other particles from the air breathed through the nose. The mucus drains into the throat and is swallowed, where the acid in the stomach destroys any bacteria that were in the mucus.

The upper part of the nasal cavity has specialized nerve fibres (called olfactory nerve fibres) that provide a sense of smell.

Other structures of the head and neck

Lymph nodes, cranial nerves and the skull are other important structures in the head and neck.

Lymph nodes

There are large numbers of lymph nodes in the neck (called cervical lymph nodes). These lymph nodes are grouped by their location in the neck. Nasal cavity and paranasal sinus cancers can spread to cervical lymph nodes. A neck dissection may be done to remove lymph nodes that have cancer in them or to prevent cancer from spreading to them. Find out more about cervical lymph nodes and neck dissection.

Nasal cavity and paranasal sinus cancer can spread to other lymph nodes in the head and neck, but this happens less often than spread to the cervical lymph nodes.

Cranial nerves

The cranial nerves control many functions in the head and neck, such as swallowing, vision, smell, hearing and eye movement. Some cranial nerves run close to the nasal cavity and paranasal sinuses. Sometimes a tumour in the nasal cavity or paranasal sinus can spread to the cranial nerves. If the cranial nerves are in the treatment area, your healthcare team will try to protect these nerves as much as possible. Sometimes nasal and paranasal cancer or treatments can damage the cranial nerves, which can lead to temporary or permanent problems. There are 12 pairs of cranial nerves.

Find out more about cranial nerves.

Bones of the skull

The skull is made up of 22 bones. The cranium is the part of the skull that surrounds and protects the brain. The front part of the skull is made up of the bones of the face (facial bones). The facial bones protect and support the entrances to the respiratory and digestive systems.

The nasal cavity and the paranasal sinuses are within the skull. Nasal cavity and paranasal sinus cancer can spread to the bones of the skull, such as the orbit (the group of bones that make up the eye socket), sphenoid bone, ethmoid bone and maxilla.

Function

The main functions of the nasal cavity and paranasal sinuses are to:

  • filter, warm and humidify the air we breathe
  • give you a sense of smell
  • make mucus
  • lighten the weight of the skull
  • vibrate, or resonate, which helps to give your voice a unique sound
  • help absorb trauma to the face and forehead to protect the brain from injury

Stories

Dr Robert Day A new treatment strategy for prostate cancer

Read more

Support from someone who has ‘been there’

Illustration of conversation

The Canadian Cancer Society’s peer support program is a telephone support service that matches cancer patients and their caregivers with specially trained volunteers.

Learn more

Logo Société canadienne du cancer

Cancer des fosses nasales et des sinus paranasaux

Vous êtes ici:

Les fosses nasales et les sinus paranasaux

Les fosses nasales et les sinus paranasaux font partie de l’appareil respiratoire du corps.

Structure des fosses nasales

Le nez est la première structure des voies respiratoires. Les narines sont les deux ouvertures du nez.

Le vestibule nasal est la région qui se trouve tout juste à l’intérieur de chaque narine. Il est soutenu par du cartilage et tapissé d’une peau comportant des poils épais qui filtrent les grosses particules telles que le sable, la poussière et même les insectes pour empêcher qu’elles ne pénètrent dans les fosses nasales.

Le vestibule nasal s’ouvre sur les fosses nasales. La cavité nasale est séparée en deux par une cloison faite d’os et de cartilage (appelée septum nasal). Elle est située au-dessus du palais (plafond de la bouche) et entourée des sinus paranasaux. Elle communique avec le nasopharynx, qui est la partie supérieure du pharynx (le pharynx, aussi appelé gorge, est l’espace situé à l’arrière de la bouche).

Structure des sinus paranasaux

Le terme paranasal signifie autour du nez. Les sinus paranasaux sont des cavités dans le crâne qui sont remplies d’air et qui entourent le nez. Les sinus paranasaux communiquent entre eux de même qu’avec les fosses nasales.

Types de sinus paranasaux

Il y a 4 paires de sinus paranasaux.

Les sinus maxillaires sont situés dans le maxillaire (la mâchoire supérieure), de chaque côté du nez, derrière les joues et sous les yeux. De forme pyramidale, ce sont les plus gros sinus paranasaux.

Les sinus frontaux sont situés dans l’os frontal, au-dessus du nez et derrière les sourcils. Ces deux cavités sont séparées par une mince cloison osseuse.

Les sinus ethmoïdaux sont de petites cavités situées dans l’os ethmoïde, au-dessus des fosses nasales et entre les yeux. Leur nombre et leur grosseur sont variables.

 

Le sinus sphénoïdal est situé dans l’os sphénoïde (qui se trouve profondément dans le crâne), derrière les sinus ethmoïdaux et les fosses nasales. Il est divisé en côtés gauche et droit par une cloison osseuse mince qui n’est pas complète.

Types de cellules des fosses nasales et des sinus paranasaux

Plusieurs types de cellules tapissent le vestibule nasal, les fosses nasales et les sinus paranasaux.

Plus on enfonce dans le vestibule nasal et les fosses nasales, plus les cellules, d’abord plates (cellules pavimenteusescellules pavimenteusesType de cellule épithéliale mince et plate qui ressemble à une écaille de poisson.), prennent une forme allongée ressemblant à des colonnes (cellules prismatiques). À la surface des cellules prismatiques des fosses nasales et des sinus paranasaux, on trouve des structures ressemblant à des poils appelées cils. Les cils présentent un battement qui aide à balayer le mucus vers le fond de la gorge, où il peut être avalé.

Les fosses nasales et les sinus paranasaux comportent d’autres cellules qui produisent du mucus. Quand le mucus circule dans les fosses nasales et les sinus, il en hydrate et en nettoie la surface et il emprisonne les bactéries, la poussière et les autres particules présentes dans l’air qu’on respire par le nez. Le mucus s’écoule dans la gorge où il est avalé et l’acide de l’estomac détruit alors toutes les bactéries qui s’y trouvent.

La partie supérieure des fosses nasales renferme des fibres nerveuses spécialisées (appelées neurones olfactifs) qui sont permettent de percevoir les odeurs (elles sont responsables du sens de l’odorat).

Autres structures de la tête et du cou

Les ganglions lymphatiques, les nerfs crâniens et le crâne sont d’autres structures importantes de la tête et du cou.

Ganglions lymphatiques

Il existe un grand nombre de ganglions lymphatiques dans le cou (appelés ganglions lymphatiques cervicaux). On regroupe ces ganglions lymphatiques selon leur emplacement dans le cou. Le cancer des fosses nasales et des sinus paranasaux peut se propager aux ganglions lymphatiques cervicaux. Il arrive parfois qu’on procède à un curage ganglionnaire cervical pour enlever les ganglions lymphatiques qui contiennent des cellules cancéreuses ou pour empêcher que le cancer se propage aux ganglions cervicaux. Apprenez-en davantage sur les ganglions lymphatiques cervicaux et le curage ganglionnaire cervical.

Le cancer des fosses nasales et des sinus paranasaux peut aussi se propager à d’autres ganglions lymphatiques de la tête et du cou, mais cela arrive moins souvent que la propagation aux ganglions lymphatiques cervicaux.

Nerfs crâniens

Les nerfs crâniens contrôlent de nombreuses fonctions de la tête et du cou, comme la déglutition (action d’avaler), la vue, l’odorat, l’ouïe et le mouvement des yeux. Certains nerfs crâniens passent près des fosses nasales et des sinus paranasaux. Il est donc possible qu’une tumeur dans les fosses nasales ou les sinus paranasaux se propage aux nerfs crâniens. Si des nerfs crâniens se situent dans la zone de traitement, votre équipe de soins veillera à les protéger autant que possible. Il arrive parfois que les nerfs crâniens soient endommagés par le cancer des fosses nasales et des sinus paranasaux ou son traitement, ce qui peut entraîner des problèmes temporaires ou permanents. Il y a 12 paires de nerfs crâniens.

Apprenez-en davantage sur les nerfs crâniens.

Os du crâne

Le crâne est constitué de 22 os. La boîte crânienne est la partie du crâne qui entoure et protège l’encéphale (communément appelé cerveau). Le devant du crâne est constitué des os de la face, qui protègent et soutiennent les premières parties des appareils respiratoire et digestif.

Les fosses nasales et les sinus paranasaux se trouvent dans le crâne. Le cancer des fosses nasales et des sinus paranasaux peut se propager aux os du crâne, tels que les os de l’orbite, l’os sphénoïde, l’os ethmoïde et le maxillaire.

Fonction

Les principales fonctions des fosses nasales et des sinus paranasaux sont de :

  • filtrer, réchauffer et humidifier l’air qu’on respire
  • percevoir les odeurs (sens de l’odorat)
  • produire du mucus
  • alléger le poids du crâne
  • vibrer et faire résonner la voix, ce qui lui donne un son unique
  • aider à absorber les coups portés à la face et au front, ce qui permet de protéger le cerveau contre les blessures

Histoires

David Rex Lorsque j’ai reçu mon diagnostic de cancer, une foule de questions me sont venues à l’esprit.

Lisez l’histoire de David

Accès aux services offerts dans votre communauté

Illustration de maisons côte à côte

Le répertoire de services à la communauté de la Société canadienne du cancer aide les personnes atteintes de cancer et leurs familles à trouver les services et programmes disponibles dans leur communauté.

Apprenez-en plus