Canadian Cancer Society logo

Multiple myeloma

You are here: 

Consolidation therapy for multiple myeloma

Consolidation therapy for multiple myeloma is given after a stem cell transplant. It’s a short course of chemotherapy that helps make the previous chemotherapy treatment and stem cell transplant work better. Consolidation therapy also helps to keep the multiple myeloma in remission for longer.

Consolidation therapy for people with multiple myeloma who have had a stem cell transplant is most often the VRD regimen. The VRD regimen uses bortezomib (Velcade), lenalidomide (Revlimid) and dexamethasone (Decadron, Dexasone).

Stories

Morgan Smith Even though we are high school students, we were able to raise so much money for the Canadian Cancer Society. It just goes to show what can happen when a small group of people come together for a great cause.

Read Morgan's story

Volunteers provide comfort and kindness

Illustration of volunteers

Thousands of Canadian Cancer Society volunteers work in regional cancer centres, lodges and community hospitals to support people receiving treatment.

Learn more

Myélome multiple

Vous êtes ici:

Traitement de consolidation du myélome multiple

On administre un traitement de consolidation pour le myélome multiple après une greffe de cellules souches. Le traitement de consolidation est une chimiothérapie de courte durée qui aide la chimiothérapie antérieure et la greffe de cellules souches à être plus efficaces. Le traitement de consolidation aide aussi à maintenir la rémission du myélome multiple plus longtemps.

Chez les personnes atteintes d’un myélome multiple qui ont reçu une greffe de cellules souches, le traitement de consolidation consiste le plus souvent à administrer le protocole VRD. Le protocole VRD comporte l’administration de bortézomib (Velcade), de lénalidomide (Revlimid) et de dexaméthasone (Decadron, Dexasone).

Histoires

Dr Shana Kelley Une analyse sanguine ultrasensible pour détecter le cancer

Plus de details

Création d’une stratégie nationale pour les proches aidants

Illustration d’aidants

La Société canadienne du cancer fait pression auprès du gouvernement fédéral afin qu’il adopte une stratégie nationale pour les aidants, de telle sorte que cet important groupe de personnes bénéficie d’un meilleur soutien financier.

Apprenez-en plus