Canadian Cancer Society logo

Multiple myeloma

You are here: 

Consolidation therapy for multiple myeloma

Consolidation therapy for multiple myeloma is given after a stem cell transplant. It’s a short course of chemotherapy that helps make the previous chemotherapy treatment and stem cell transplant work better. Consolidation therapy also helps to keep the multiple myeloma in remission for longer.

Consolidation therapy for people with multiple myeloma who have had a stem cell transplant is most often the VRD regimen. The VRD regimen uses bortezomib (Velcade), lenalidomide (Revlimid) and dexamethasone (Decadron, Dexasone).

Stories

Researcher Dr Raymond Andersen Dr Raymond Andersen’s research could lead to a promising new drug for prostate cancer.

Learn more

Celebrating cancer survivors at Relay For Life

Relay For Life illustration

For cancer survivors, the Canadian Cancer Society provides a unique opportunity to celebrate their courage in the fight against cancer. During hundreds of Relay For Life events across the country, thousands of survivors join together for the Survivors’ Victory Lap.

Learn more

Myélome multiple

Vous êtes ici:

Traitement de consolidation du myélome multiple

On administre un traitement de consolidation pour le myélome multiple après une greffe de cellules souches. Le traitement de consolidation est une chimiothérapie de courte durée qui aide la chimiothérapie antérieure et la greffe de cellules souches à être plus efficaces. Le traitement de consolidation aide aussi à maintenir la rémission du myélome multiple plus longtemps.

Chez les personnes atteintes d’un myélome multiple qui ont reçu une greffe de cellules souches, le traitement de consolidation consiste le plus souvent à administrer le protocole VRD. Le protocole VRD comporte l’administration de bortézomib (Velcade), de lénalidomide (Revlimid) et de dexaméthasone (Decadron, Dexasone).

Histoires

Morgan Smith Même si nous sommes des élèves du secondaire, nous avons été capables de recueillir un bon montant pour la Société canadienne du cancer. Cela montre ce qu’un petit groupe de personnes est capable de faire en unissant ses efforts pour une bonne cause.

Lisez l’histoire de Morgan

Comment stopper le cancer avant qu’il n’apparaisse?

Découvrez l’impact de vos habitudes de vie sur le risque de cancer et voyez comment prendre les choses en main à l’aide de notre outil interactif – C’est ma vie!

Apprenez-en plus