Canadian Cancer Society logo

Multiple myeloma

You are here: 

Survival statistics for multiple myeloma

Survival statistics for multiple myeloma are very general estimates and must be interpreted very carefully. Because these statistics are based on the experience of groups of people, they can’t be used to predict a particular person’s chances of survival.

There are many different ways to measure and report cancer survival statistics. Your doctor can explain the statistics for multiple myeloma and what they mean.

Relative survival

Relative survival looks at how likely people with cancer are to survive after their diagnosis compared to people in the general population who do not have cancer but who share similar characteristics (such as age and sex).

In Canada, a 5-year relative survival statistic is reported for multiple myeloma. The 5-year relative survival for multiple myeloma is 43%. This means that, on average, people diagnosed with multiple myeloma are 43% as likely to live 5 years after their diagnosis as people in the general population.

Survival by stage

Survival varies with each stage of multiple myeloma. Multiple myeloma often responds to treatment in the beginning, but in most cases the disease comes back (relapses, or recurs). There are many available treatments for multiple myeloma, so when a treatment stops working doctors will try another one. Because multiple myeloma tends to recur with any treatment, it is not considered curable.

Survival statistics by stage of multiple myeloma are reported as median survival. Median survival is the length of time that half of the people with multiple myeloma are still alive after being diagnosed or starting treatment.

There are no specific Canadian statistics available for the different stages of multiple myeloma. The following information comes from a variety of sources and may include statistics from other countries.

Multiple myeloma survival
International Staging System (ISS) stageMedian survival

I

62 months (about 5 years)

II

44 months (about 3 and a half years)

III

29 months (about 2 and a half years)

Other prognostic factors are also used to predict a person’s survival, which can range from less than 1 year to more than 10 years.

The following factors can also affect survival for multiple myeloma.

  • Generally, the earlier multiple myeloma is diagnosed and treated, the better the outcome.
  • The number and type of chromosome changes help the doctor make a prognosis.
  • People whose cancer responds well to treatment and goes into complete remission have a better prognosis than people whose cancer does not respond to the initial treatment.

Multiple myeloma survival rates have improved greatly over the last 20 years. This is because doctors have found better ways to test for multiple myeloma so the disease can be diagnosed at an earlier stage. Also, many new and better treatments are now available and have helped to improve survival in people with multiple myeloma.

Questions about survival

People with cancer should talk to their doctor about their prognosis. Prognosis depends on many factors, including:

  • yourmedical history
  • type of cancer
  • stage of the cancer
  • characteristics of the cancer
  • treatments chosen
  • your response to treatment

Only a doctor familiar with these factors can put all of this information together with survival statistics to arrive at a prognosis.

Stories

Dr Artem Cherkasov Research could lead to better cancer treatments with fewer side effects.

Read more

Support from someone who has ‘been there’

Illustration of conversation

The Canadian Cancer Society’s peer support program is a telephone support service that matches cancer patients and their caregivers with specially trained volunteers.

Learn more

Logo Société canadienne du cancer

Myélome multiple

Vous êtes ici:

Statistiques de survie au myélome multiple

Les statistiques de survie au myélome multiple sont des estimations très générales qui doivent être interprétées avec prudence. Puisqu’elles sont fondées sur l’expérience de groupes de personnes dans la population générale, elles ne permettent pas de prévoir les chances de survie d’une personne en particulier.

Il existe de nombreuses méthodes différentes pour évaluer et consigner les statistiques de survie au cancer. Votre médecin peut vous expliquer les statistiques relatives au myélome multiple et ce qu’elles signifient.

Survie relative

La survie relative sert à déterminer quelle est la probabilité qu’une personne atteinte de cancer soit encore en vie après son diagnostic comparativement à des personnes qui font partie de la population générale et qui n’ont pas le cancer, mais qui présentent les mêmes caractéristiques (comme l’âge et le sexe).

Au Canada, on consigne les statistiques de survie relative après 5 ans pour le myélome multiple. La survie relative après 5 ans au myélome multiple est de 43 %, ce qui signifie qu’une personne diagnostiquée d’un myélome multiple aurait, en moyenne, 43 % de chances de vivre 5 ans à la suite de son diagnostic comparativement à une personne dans la population générale.

Survie par stade

La survie varie selon le stade du myélome multiple. Au début, le myélome multiple réagit souvent au traitement, mais la maladie réapparaît (récidive) dans la plupart des cas. On peut traiter le myélome multiple de nombreuses façons; ainsi, quand un traitement n’est plus efficace, les médecins en administrent un autre. Puisque le myélome multiple a tendance à récidiver peu importe le traitement, on considère que c’est une maladie incurable.

Les statistiques de survie par stade du myélome multiple correspondent au taux de survie médiane. La survie médiane est la période de temps au bout de laquelle la moitié des personnes atteintes de myélome multiple sont encore en vie après avoir reçu le diagnostic ou avoir commencé le traitement.

On ne dispose pas de statistiques canadiennes spécifiques sur les différents stades du myélome multiple. Les renseignements suivants sont tirés de diverses sources et peuvent comprendre des statistiques provenant d’autres pays.

Survie au myélome multiple
Stade de l’International Staging SystemSurvie médiane

I

62 mois (environ 5 ans)

II

44 mois (environ 3 ans et demi)

III

29 mois (environ 2 ans et demi)

On a aussi recours à d’autres facteurs pronostiques pour prévoir la survie d’une personne, qui peut varier de moins de 1 an à plus de 10 ans.

Les facteurs suivants peuvent aussi affecter la survie au myélome multiple.

  • En général, plus le myélome multiple est diagnostiqué et traité à un stade précoce, meilleur est le pronostic.
  • Le nombre et le type de changements chromosomiques aident le médecin à établir un pronostic.
  • Les personnes dont le cancer réagit bien au traitement et qui parviennent à une rémission complète ont un meilleur pronostic que celles dont le cancer ne réagit pas au traitement initial.

Le taux de survie au myélome multiple s’est grandement amélioré au cours des 20 dernières années. C’est dû au fait que les médecins ont trouvé de meilleures façons de détecter le myélome multiple et ainsi de diagnostiquer la maladie à un stade plus précoce. Il existe aussi plusieurs nouveaux traitements qui sont meilleurs et qui aident à améliorer le taux de survie chez les personnes atteintes de myélome multiple.

Questions sur la survie

On conseille aux personnes atteintes de cancer de discuter de leur pronostic avec leur médecin. Le pronostic repose sur de nombreux facteurs, dont les suivants :

  • Vos antécédents médicaux
  • Le type de cancer
  • Le stade du cancer
  • Les caractéristiques du cancer
  • Les traitements choisis
  • Votre réaction au traitement

Seul le médecin qui connaît bien ces facteurs peut examiner toutes ces données de concert avec les statistiques de survie pour en arriver à un pronostic.

Histoires

Dre Christine Friedenreich Prévenir le cancer par l’activité physique

Plus de details

Défense des intérêts des personnes atteintes de cancer

Illustration d’un mégaphone

Nos employés et bénévoles rencontrent les élus des divers paliers de gouvernement (municipal, provincial et fédéral) pour les convaincre de faire de la lutte contre le cancer une de leurs priorités.

Apprenez-en plus