Lung cancer

You are here: 

Treatments for small cell lung cancer

If you have small cell lung cancer, your healthcare team will create a treatment plan just for you. It will be based on your health and specific information about the cancer. When deciding which treatments to offer for small cell lung cancer, your healthcare team will consider:

  • the stage of small cell lung cancer
  • your overall health
  • your personal preferences (what you want)

You may be offered one or more of the following treatments for small cell lung cancer.

Chemotherapy

Chemotherapy uses anticancer (cytotoxic) drugs to destroy cancer cells. It is the standard treatment for small cell lung cancer. Your healthcare team will consider your personal needs to plan the drugs, doses and schedules of chemotherapy. You may also receive other treatments.

Chemotherapy is combined with radiation therapy to treat limited stage small cell lung cancer. This is called chemoradiation. The 2 treatments are given during the same time period.

Chemotherapy is used alone to treat extensive stage small cell lung cancer.

Small cell lung cancer grows quickly, so it often responds well to treatment with chemotherapy. It is most commonly treated with a combination of 2 drugs, which is more effective than one drug alone.

  • cisplatin and etoposide (Vepesid, VP-16)
  • carboplatin (Paraplatin, Paraplatin AQ) and etoposide

If small cell lung cancer comes back after treatment, the following combination of drugs may be used:

  • cyclophosphamide (Cytoxan, Procytox), doxorubicin (Adriamycin) and vincristine (Oncovin)

Oral etoposide may be given to people who are not well enough to have combination chemotherapy or to treat cancer that comes back 3 to 6 months after treatment with other chemotherapy combinations.

Side effects of chemotherapy

Side effects can happen with any type of treatment for small cell lung cancer, but everyone’s experience is different. Some people have many side effects. Other people have few or none at all.

Chemotherapy may cause side effects because it can damage healthy cells as it kills cancer cells. If you develop side effects, they can happen any time during, immediately after or a few days or weeks after chemotherapy. Sometimes late side effects develop months or years after chemotherapy. Most side effects go away on their own or can be treated, but some side effects may last a long time or become permanent.

Side effects of chemotherapy will depend mainly on the type of drug, the dose, how it’s given, if it is combined with radiation therapy and your overall health. Some common side effects of chemotherapy drugs used for small cell lung cancer are:

Information about specific cancer drugs

Details on specific drugs change regularly. Find out more about sources of drug information and where to get details on specific drugs.

Radiation therapy

Radiation therapy uses high-energy rays or particles to destroy cancer cells. Most people with small cell lung cancer have radiation therapy. Your healthcare team will consider your personal needs to plan the type and amount of radiation, and when and how it is given.

External beam radiation therapy uses a machine to direct radiation at the lung tumour and the surrounding lymph nodes in the chest.

  • For limited stage small cell lung cancer, radiation therapy is combined with chemotherapy. This is called chemoradiation. The 2 treatments are given during the same time period.
  • For extensive stage small cell lung cancer, radiation therapy is used to relieve symptoms, such as coughing or pain (called palliative radiation therapy). It is also used to treat cancer that has spread to the bones (bone metastases).

Stereotactic radiation therapy is a type of external radiation therapy that uses special equipment to aim high-energy radiation beams at a tumour from different directions. It is used to treat small cell lung cancer that has spread to the brain (brain metastases).

Prophylactic cranial irradiation (PCI) is external beam radiation given to the whole brain. It is used to prevent small cell lung cancer from spreading to the brain, or to treat cancer cells that may have already spread there but cannot be seen by imaging tests. It may help prevent brain metastases and improve survival.

PCI may be offered to people with limited and extensive stage small cell lung cancer that has responded well to chemotherapy and radiation therapy. It is not offered for people with small cell lung cancer that has not responded to chemotherapy.

Side effects of radiation therapy for small cell lung cancer

Side effects can happen with any type of treatment for small cell lung cancer, but not everyone has them or experiences them in the same way. Side effects of radiation therapy will depend mainly on the size of the area being treated, the specific area or organs being treated, the total dose and the treatment schedule.

The following are the most common side effects that people experience with external beam radiation therapy for small cell lung cancer. Some people may experience all, some or none of these side effects. Others may experience different side effects:

If small cell lung cancer spreads to the brain, you may have radiation therapy. Side effects of radiation therapy to the brain may include:

  • skin reactions
  • thinning or loss of hair
  • somnolence syndrome – drowsiness, fatigue, confusion
  • cerebral edema – headache, nausea, vomiting, weakness

Surgery

Surgery is rarely used to treat small cell lung cancer because it has often spread to other parts of the body by the time it is diagnosed. But surgery may be used to diagnose a tumour in the lung. If the pathology report suggests that the tissue removed contains cancer cells, further surgery may be done if the surgeon thinks the entire tumour can be removed.

Stories

Researcher Dr John Bell Fighting cancer with designer viruses

Read more

Taking action against all cancers

Icon - question mark

The latest Canadian Cancer Statistics report found that of all newly diagnosed cancers in 2017, half are expected to be lung, colorectal, breast and prostate cancers. Learn what you can do to reduce the burden of cancer.

Learn more

Cancer du poumon

Vous êtes ici:

Traitements du cancer du poumon à petites cellules

Si vous êtes atteint d’un cancer du poumon à petites cellules, votre équipe de soins élaborera un plan de traitement juste pour vous. Il se basera sur votre santé et des renseignements spécifiques sur le cancer. Quand votre équipe de soins décide quels traitements vous proposer pour le cancer du poumon à petites cellules, elle prend en considération les éléments suivants :

  • le stade du cancer
  • votre état de santé global
  • vos préférences personnelles (ce que vous voulez)

On peut vous proposer l’un ou plusieurs des traitements suivants pour le cancer du poumon à petites cellules.

Chimiothérapie

En chimiothérapie, on a recours à des médicaments anticancéreux, ou cytotoxiques, pour détruire les cellules cancéreuses. C’est le traitement standard du cancer du poumon à petites cellules. Votre équipe de soins prendra en considération vos besoins personnels pour choisir les agents chimiothérapeutiques, les doses et les modes d’administration. Vous pourriez aussi recevoir d’autres traitements.

On associe la chimiothérapie à la radiothérapie pour traiter le cancer du poumon à petites cellules de stade limité. C’est ce qu’on appelle une chimioradiothérapie. On administre ces 2 traitements pendant la même période.

On administre seulement une chimiothérapie pour traiter le cancer du poumon à petites cellules de stade étendu.

Le cancer du poumon à petites cellules se développe rapidement, alors il réagit souvent bien à la chimiothérapie. On le traite généralement en associant 2 agents chimiothérapeutiques, ce qui est plus efficace que d’en administrer un seul :

  • cisplatine et étoposide (Vepesid, VP-16)
  • carboplatine (Paraplatin, Paraplatin AQ) et étoposide

Si le cancer du poumon à petites cellules réapparaît après le traitement, on peut avoir recours à l’association médicamenteuse qui suit :

  • cyclophosphamide (Cytoxan, Procytox), doxorubicine (Adriamycin) et vincristine (Oncovin)

On peut donner de l’étoposide par voie orale aux personnes qui ne sont pas assez bien pour recevoir une chimiothérapie d’association ou pour traiter un cancer qui est réapparu de 3 à 6 mois après un traitement à base d’autres associations chimiothérapeutiques.

Effets secondaires de la chimiothérapie

Peu importe le traitement du cancer du poumon à petites cellules, il est possible que des effets secondaires se produisent, mais chaque personne les ressent différemment. Certaines en ont beaucoup alors que d’autres en éprouvent peu ou pas du tout.

La chimiothérapie peut causer des effets secondaires puisqu’elle risque d’endommager les cellules saines tout en détruisant les cellules cancéreuses. Si des effets secondaires se manifestent, ils peuvent le faire n’importe quand pendant la chimiothérapie, tout de suite après ou quelques jours voire quelques semaines plus tard. Il arrive que des effets secondaires apparaissent des mois ou des années à la suite de la chimiothérapie (effets tardifs). La plupart disparaissent d’eux-mêmes ou peuvent être traités, mais certains risquent de durer longtemps ou d’être permanents.

Les effets secondaires de la chimiothérapie dépendent surtout du type de médicament, de la dose, de la façon de l’administrer, de son association à la radiothérapie et de votre état de santé global. Voici certains effets secondaires fréquents des agents chimiothérapeutiques administrés pour traiter le cancer du poumon à petites cellules :

Informations sur des médicaments anticancéreux spécifiques

Les renseignements sur des médicaments spécifiques changent assez régulièrement. Apprenez-en davantage sur les sources d’information sur les médicaments ainsi que sur les sites où vous pouvez obtenir des renseignements sur des médicaments spécifiques.

Radiothérapie

En radiothérapie, on a recours à des rayons ou à des particules de haute énergie pour détruire les cellules cancéreuses. La plupart des personnes atteintes d’un cancer du poumon à petites cellules reçoivent une radiothérapie. Votre équipe de soins prendra en considération vos besoins personnels pour choisir le type de radiothérapie, la dose à administrer, la façon de le faire et l’horaire à suivre.

Lors de la radiothérapie externe, un appareil émet des radiations vers la tumeur au poumon et les ganglions lymphatiques du thorax tout autour.

  • Pour le cancer du poumon à petites cellules de stade limité, on associe la radiothérapie à la chimiothérapie. C’est ce qu’on appelle une chimioradiothérapie. On administre ces 2 traitements pendant la même période.
  • Pour le cancer du poumon à petites cellules de stade étendu, on a recours à la radiothérapie pour soulager des symptômes comme la toux ou la douleur (radiothérapie palliative). Elle permet également de traiter un cancer qui s’est propagé aux os (métastases osseuses).

La radiothérapie stéréotaxique est un type de radiothérapie externe qui nécessite un équipement spécial pour diriger les faisceaux de radiation de haute énergie vers la tumeur en provenance de différentes directions. On y a recours pour traiter un cancer du poumon à petites cellules qui s’est propagé au cerveau (métastases cérébrales).

L’irradiation prophylactique cérébrale (IPC) est une radiothérapie externe qu’on administre au cerveau tout entier. Elle permet de prévenir la propagation du cancer au cerveau ou de traiter des cellules cancéreuses qui pourraient s’y être déjà propagées mais qu’on ne peut pas observer lors des examens d’imagerie. Elle pourrait aider à prévenir la formation de métastases au cerveau et à améliorer la survie.

On peut proposer l’IPC aux personnes atteintes d’un cancer du poumon à petites cellules de stade limité ou étendu qui a bien réagi à la chimiothérapie et à la radiothérapie. Ce n’est pas une option si le cancer n’a pas réagi à la chimiothérapie.

Effets secondaires de la radiothérapie pour le cancer du poumon à petites cellules

Peu importe le type de traitement choisi pour un cancer du poumon à petites cellules, il est possible que des effets secondaires se produisent. Cependant, ils n’affectent pas toutes les personnes; si c’est le cas, chacune ne les ressent pas de la même façon. Les effets secondaires de la radiothérapie dépendent surtout de la taille de la région traitée, de la région ou des organes spécifiques traités, de la dose totale et du mode d’administration.

Les effets secondaires suivants sont ceux qui sont les plus éprouvés par les personnes qui reçoivent une radiothérapie externe pour un cancer du poumon à petites cellules. Certaines personnes les ont tous alors que d’autres n’en ressentent que quelques-uns ou même aucun. Il y a des gens qui éprouvent des effets secondaires différents de ceux qui suivent :

Si le cancer du poumon se propage au cerveau, vous pourriez recevoir une radiothérapie. Les effets secondaires de la radiothérapie au cerveau peuvent être les suivants :

  • réactions cutanées
  • amincissement ou perte des cheveux
  • syndrome de somnolence – somnolence, fatigue, confusion
  • œdème cérébral – maux de tête, nausées, vomissements, faiblesse

Chirurgie

On a rarement recours à la chirurgie pour traiter le cancer du poumon à petites cellules puisqu’il s’est souvent déjà propagé à d’autres parties du corps lorsqu’on le diagnostique. Mais on peut pratiquer une chirurgie pour diagnostiquer une tumeur au poumon. Si le rapport de pathologie laisse entendre que le tissu enlevé contient des cellules cancéreuses, on pourrait pratiquer une autre opération si le chirurgien pense qu’il peut enlever toute la tumeur.

Histoires

Gordie Gosse Je ne veux pas que personne d’autre n’ait à vivre ce que j’ai vécu.

Lisez l’histoire de Gordie

D’immenses progrès ont été accomplis

Icône – flèche

Pour certains cancers, comme ceux de la thyroïde et du testicule, les taux de survie dépassent 90 pour cent. Pour d’autres cancers, comme ceux du pancréas, du cerveau et de l’œsophage, les taux de survie demeurent très bas.

Apprenez-en plus