Lung cancer

You are here: 

Targeted therapy for non–small cell lung cancer

Some people with non–small cell lung cancer have targeted therapy. It uses drugs to target specific molecules (such as proteins) on cancer cells or inside them. These molecules help send signals that tell cells to grow or divide. By targeting these molecules, the drugs stop the growth and spread of cancer cells and limit harm to normal cells. Targeted therapy may also be called molecular targeted therapy.

You may have targeted therapy to treat non–small cell lung cancer that:

  • cannot be removed with surgery because it has spread to lymph nodes
  • has spread (metastasized) to other parts of the body
  • has come back (recurred) after chemotherapy or has not responded to chemotherapy

Your healthcare team will consider your personal needs to plan the drugs, doses and schedules of targeted therapy. You may also receive other treatments.

Targeted therapy drugs used for non–small cell lung cancer

Molecular tissue testing is done during diagnosis of non–small cell lung cancer for different types of changes (called gene mutations) in the cancer cells. The type of targeted therapy you are offered will depend on which gene mutation is found during this testing. People with non–small cell lung cancer that does not have these genetic mutations are not given targeted therapy.

EGFR targeted therapy

Epidermal growth factor receptor (EGFR) is a receptor on the surface of cells that sends signals to cells that allow them to grow and divide. A mutation in the EGFR gene can cause cancer cells to grow and divide more than normal. Cancer cells that have the EGFR mutation are called EGFR positive (EGFR+). Cancer cells that don’t have the EGFR mutation are called wild-type EGFR.

EGFR tyrosine kinase inhibitors (EGFR TKIs) block EGFR from working, which stops or slows the growth of cancer cells. They are taken as pills.

EGFR TKIs are usually given instead of chemotherapy for people who have advanced or metastatic non–small cell lung cancer that is EGFR+. Research has shown that these drugs improve quality of life, increase the amount of time before the cancer starts to grow again and are more effective in treating the cancer.

The following EGFR TKIs are used for EGFR+ non–small cell lung cancers:

  • gefitinib (Iressa)
  • afatinib (Giotrif)
  • erlotinib (Tarceva)

Erlotinib may also be given to people who have had one chemotherapy drug combination for advanced or metastatic non–small cell lung cancer with a positive or unknown EGFR status. It is offered when the cancer has stopped responding to chemotherapy. It may also be offered as maintenance therapy for EGFR+ tumours after chemotherapy has finished.

T790M mutations

EGFR TKIs often shrink tumours and can control non–small cell lung cancer for several months. But over time, the cancer cells develop another mutation in the EGFR gene and the drug stops working. If you have been taking an EGFR TKI and it stops working, your healthcare team may take a sample of another tumour to look for new gene mutations. One of the changes that may be found is called the T790M mutation.

The EGFR TKI that is given to people with advanced or metastatic non–small cell lung cancer that develops the T790M mutation is osimertinib (Tagrisso).

ALK targeted therapy

Anaplastic lymphoma kinase is a protein that helps with cell growth and division. It is controlled by the ALK gene.

A very small number of non–small cell lung cancers have a change (rearrangement) in the ALK gene, which causes the cancer cells to grow and spread. The ALK gene rearrangement is most often seen in non-smokers and light smokers with the adenocarcinoma type of non–small cell lung cancer.

Drugs that target the ALK gene rearrangement are usually given instead of chemotherapy because they are more effective at shrinking the tumours. They are taken as pills.

The targeted therapy drug that is first used to treat advanced or metastatic non–small cell lung cancer with the ALK gene rearrangement is crizotinib (Xalkori).

If the cancer stops responding to crizotinib, the following targeted therapy drugs are used:

  • ceritinib (Zykadia)
  • alectinib (Alecensaro)

ROS1 mutations

Crizotinib may be given to people with advanced non–small cell lung cancer that has the ROS1 gene mutation (ROS1-positive). This mutation is more often seen in younger people or non-smokers and light smokers.

BRAF-V600E mutations

BRAF is a protein that helps with signals in cells and helps cells grow. Lung cancer with the BRAF V600E mutation that has stopped responding to chemotherapy may be treated with a combination of targeted therapy drugs:

  • dabrafenib (Tafinlar) and trametinib (Mekinist)

Angiogenesis inhibitors

Tumours need blood vessels to get the nutrients and oxygen to survive and grow. The growth of new blood vessels is called angiogenesis. Angiogenesis inhibitors try to starve a tumour by stopping the development of new blood vessels.

The angiogenesis inhibitor used for advanced or metastatic non–small cell lung cancer is bevacizumab (Avastin). This drug targets the vascular endothelial growth factor (VEGF), which is a protein that helps new blood vessels grow.

Bevacizumab is combined with 2 chemotherapy drugs – carboplatin (Paraplatin, Paraplatin AQ) and paclitaxel (Taxol). If the cancer responds to the chemotherapy, it is continued by itself until the cancer starts to grow again.

Side effects

Side effects can happen with any type of treatment for non–small cell lung cancer, but everyone’s experience is different. Some people have many side effects. Other people have few or none at all.

Targeted therapy attacks cancer cells but doesn’t usually damage healthy cells, so there are usually fewer and less severe side effects than with chemotherapy or radiation therapy. Chemotherapy and radiation therapy can damage healthy cells along with cancer cells.

If you develop side effects, they can happen any time during, immediately after or a few days or weeks after targeted therapy. Sometimes late side effects develop months or years after targeted therapy. Most side effects go away on their own or can be treated, but some side effects may last a long time or become permanent.

Side effects of targeted therapy will depend mainly on the type of drug or combination of drugs, the dose, how it’s given and your overall health. Some common side effects of all targeted therapy for non–small cell lung cancer are:

EGFR inhibitors may cause these side effects:

ALK inhibitors may cause these side effects:

  • pain and cramps in the stomach
  • heartburn, indigestion
  • tingling and numbness in fingers and toes
  • blood clots
  • anemia

Bevacizumab may cause these side effects:

  • bleeding
  • a hole in the intestines (called a bowel perforation)
  • high blood pressure
  • pain, redness or burning in the hands and feet (hand-foot syndrome)

Tell your healthcare team if you have these side effects or others you think might be from targeted therapy. The sooner you tell them of any problems, the sooner they can suggest ways to help you deal with them.

Information about specific cancer drugs

Details on specific drugs change regularly. Find out more about sources of drug information and where to get details on specific drugs.

Questions to ask about targeted therapy

Find out more about targeted therapy. To make the decisions that are right for you, ask your healthcare team questions about targeted therapy.


maintenance therapy

Treatment given after the first-line therapy (the first or standard treatment) to keep a disease (such as cancer) under control or to prevent it from coming back (recurring). It may be given for a long period of time.

Maintenance therapy may include drugs, vaccines, antibodies or hormones.

Stories

Dr Bruno Gagnon Integrating palliative care into advanced cancer care

Read more

What’s the lifetime risk of getting cancer?

Icon - 1 in 2

The latest Canadian Cancer Statistics report shows about half of Canadians are expected to be diagnosed with cancer in their lifetime.

Learn more

Cancer du poumon

Vous êtes ici:

Traitement ciblé pour le cancer du poumon non à petites cellules

Certaines personnes atteintes d’un cancer du poumon non à petites cellules reçoivent un traitement ciblé. On a recours à des médicaments pour cibler des molécules spécifiques, comme des protéines, présentes à la surface ou à l’intérieur des cellules cancéreuses. Ces molécules contribuent à l’envoi de signaux qui indiquent aux cellules de croître ou de se diviser. En ciblant ces molécules, les médicaments interrompent la croissance et la propagation des cellules cancéreuses tout en limitant les dommages aux cellules normales. Le traitement ciblé peut aussi être appelé traitement à ciblage moléculaire.

Vous pourriez recevoir un traitement ciblé pour un cancer du poumon non à petites cellules qui :

  • ne peut pas être enlevé par chirurgie parce qu’il s’est propagé aux ganglions lymphatiques;
  • s’est propagé (métastases) à d’autres parties du corps;
  • est réapparu (récidive) après une chimiothérapie ou qui n’a pas réagi à la chimiothérapie.

Votre équipe de soins prendra en considération vos besoins personnels pour choisir les médicaments, les doses et le mode d’administration du traitement ciblé. Vous pourriez aussi recevoir d’autres traitements.

Médicaments ciblés administrés pour le cancer du poumon non à petites cellules

On fait des analyses moléculaires de tissus lors du processus diagnostique du cancer du poumon non à petites cellules à la recherche de différents types de changements (mutations génétiques) dans les cellules cancéreuses. Le type de médicament ciblé qu’on vous proposera dépend de la mutation génétique qu’on détectera lors des analyses. Les personnes atteintes d’un cancer du poumon non à petites cellules qui ne présente pas ces mutations génétiques ne reçoivent pas de traitement ciblé.

Médicaments qui ciblent le R-EGF

Le récepteur du facteur de croissance épidermique (R-EGF) est présent à la surface des cellules et il leur envoie des signaux qui leur permettent de croître et de se diviser. Une mutation dans le gène R-EGF peut provoquer une croissance et une division cellulaires plus importantes qu’à l’habitude. Les cellules cancéreuses porteuses de la mutation R-EGF sont dites R-EGF positives (R-EGF+). Les cellules cancéreuses qui ne présentent pas la mutation R-EGF sont dites R-EGF de type sauvage.

Les inhibiteurs de la tyrosine kinase du R-EGF (ITK R-EGF) empêchent le R-EGF d’agir, ce qui interrompt ou ralentit la croissance des cellules cancéreuses. On les prend sous forme de pilule.

On administre habituellement des ITK R-EGF au lieu d’une chimiothérapie aux personnes atteintes d’un cancer du poumon non à petites cellules avancé ou métastatique qui est R-EGF+. La recherche a démontré que ces médicaments améliorent la qualité de vie, augmentent le temps écoulé avant que le cancer se développe de nouveau et sont plus efficaces pour traiter le cancer.

On a recours aux ITK R-EGF qui suivent pour traiter un cancer du poumon non à petites cellules R-EGF+ :

  • gefitinib (Iressa)
  • afatinib (Giotrif)
  • erlotinib (Tarceva)

On peut  aussi administrer de l’erlotinib aux personnes qui ont reçu une association d’agents chimiothérapeutiques pour un cancer du poumon non à petites cellules avancé ou métastatique dont le statut R-EGF était positif ou inconnu. On le propose quand le cancer a cessé de réagir à la chimiothérapie. On peut aussi le proposer comme traitement d’entretien pour une tumeur R-EGF positive après la chimiothérapie.

Mutations T790M

Les ITK R-EGF parviennent souvent à réduire la taille des tumeurs et ils peuvent contrôler un cancer du poumon non à petites cellules pendant plusieurs mois. Mais avec le temps, les cellules cancéreuses développent une autre mutation dans le gène R-EGF et le médicament cesse d’agir. Si vous preniez un ITK R-EGF et qu’il a cessé d’agir, votre équipe de soins pourrait faire un prélèvement dans une autre tumeur à la recherche de nouvelles mutations génétiques. L’un des changements qui pourraient être détectés est appelé mutation T790M.

Le ITK R-EGF qu’on administre aux personnes atteintes d’un cancer du poumon non à petites cellules avancé ou métastatique dans lequel apparaît la mutation T790M est l’osimertinib (Tagrisso).

Médicaments qui ciblent l’ALK

La kinase du lymphome anaplasique (ALK) est une protéine qui participe à la croissance et à la division des cellules. Elle est contrôlée par le gène ALK.

Un très petit nombre de cancers du poumon non à petites cellules présentent un changement (remaniement) dans le gène ALK qui provoque le développement et la propagation des cellules cancéreuses. On observe le plus souvent le remaniement du gène ALK chez les non-fumeurs et les fumeurs légers qui sont atteints d’un cancer du poumon non à petites cellules de type adénocarcinome.

On administre habituellement des médicaments qui ciblent le gène ALK remanié plutôt qu’une chimiothérapie puisqu’ils sont plus efficaces pour réduire la taille des tumeurs. On les prend sous forme de pilule.

Le premier médicament ciblé auquel on a recours pour traiter le cancer du poumon non à petites cellules avancé ou métastatique porteur du gène ALK remanié est le crizotinib (Xalkori).

Si le cancer cesse de réagir au crizotinib, on emploie les médicaments ciblés suivants :

  • ceritinib (Zykadia)
  • alectinib (Alecensaro)

Mutation ROS1

On peut administrer du crizotinib aux personnes atteintes d’un cancer du poumon non à petites cellules de stade avancé qui présente la mutation génétique ROS1 (ROS1 positif). On observe plus souvent cette mutation chez les jeunes gens ainsi que les non-fumeurs et les fumeurs légers.

Mutations BRAF V600E

Le BRAF est une protéine qui aide à la signalisation et à la croissance cellulaires. On peut traiter un cancer du poumon porteur de la mutation BRAF V600E qui a cessé de réagir à la chimiothérapie en associant des médicaments ciblés :

  • dabrafénib (Tafinlar) et tramétinib (Mekinist)

Inhibiteurs de l’angiogenèse

Les tumeurs ont besoin de vaisseaux sanguins pour obtenir les éléments nutritifs et l’oxygène nécessaires à leur survie et à leur croissance. La formation de nouveaux vaisseaux sanguins est appelée angiogenèse. Les inhibiteurs de l’angiogenèse tentent d’affamer la tumeur en interrompant la formation de nouveaux vaisseaux sanguins.

L’inhibiteur de l’angiogenèse administré pour traiter le cancer du poumon non à petites cellules avancé ou métastatique est le bévacizumab (Avastin). Ce médicament cible le facteur de croissance de l'endothélium vasculaire (VEGF), qui est une protéine participant à la formation de nouveaux vaisseaux sanguins.

On associe le bévacizumab à 2 agents chimiothérapeutiques, soit le carboplatine (Paraplatin, Paraplatin AQ) et le paclitaxel (Taxol). Si le cancer réagit à la chimiothérapie, on continue de l’administrer seul jusqu’à ce que le cancer recommence à se développer.

Effets secondaires

Peu importe le traitement du cancer du poumon non à petites cellules, il est possible que des effets secondaires se produisent, mais chaque personne les ressent différemment. Certaines en ont beaucoup alors que d’autres en éprouvent peu ou pas du tout.

Le traitement ciblé attaque les cellules cancéreuses mais n’endommage habituellement pas les cellules saines, alors les effets secondaires sont en général moins nombreux et moins graves que dans le cas de la chimiothérapie et de la radiothérapie. La chimiothérapie et la radiothérapie peuvent endommager les cellules saines tout comme les cellules cancéreuses.

Si des effets secondaires se manifestent, ils peuvent le faire n’importe quand pendant le traitement ciblé, tout de suite après ou quelques jours voire quelques semaines plus tard. Il arrive que des effets secondaires apparaissent des mois ou des années à la suite du traitement ciblé (effets tardifs). La plupart disparaissent d’eux-mêmes ou peuvent être traités, mais certains risquent de durer longtemps ou d’être permanents.

Les effets secondaires du traitement ciblé dépendent surtout du type de médicament ou d’association médicamenteuse, de la dose, du mode d’administration et de votre état de santé global. Voici certains effets secondaires fréquents de tous les médicaments ciblés administrés pour traiter le cancer du poumon non à petites cellules :

Les inhibiteurs du R-EGF peuvent causer les effets secondaires suivants :

Les inhibiteurs de l’ALK peuvent causer les effets secondaires suivants :

  • douleur et crampes à l’estomac
  • brûlures d’estomac, difficulté à digérer
  • picotements et engourdissements dans les doigts et les orteils
  • caillots sanguins
  • anémie

Le bévacizumab peut causer les effets secondaires suivants :

  • saignement
  • trou dans l’intestin (perforation intestinale)
  • pression artérielle élevée
  • douleur, rougeur ou sensation de brûlure aux mains et aux pieds (syndrome d’enflure douloureuse des mains et des pieds)

Avisez votre équipe de soins si vous éprouvez ces effets secondaires ou d’autres que vous croyez liés au traitement ciblé. Plus vite vous leur mentionnez tout problème, plus rapidement ils pourront vous dire comment aider à les soulager.

Informations sur des médicaments anticancéreux spécifiques

Les renseignements sur des médicaments spécifiques changent régulièrement. Apprenez-en davantage sur les sources d’information sur les médicaments ainsi que sur les sites où vous pouvez obtenir des renseignements sur des médicaments spécifiques.

Questions à poser sur le traitement ciblé

Apprenez-en davantage sur le traitement ciblé. Afin de prendre les bonnes décisions pour vous, posez des questions sur le traitement ciblé à votre équipe de soins.

traitement d’entretien

Traitement administré après le traitement de première intention (premier traitement ou traitement standard) afin de maîtriser une maladie (comme le cancer) ou pour prévenir sa réapparition (récidive). Ce traitement peut être administré pendant une longue période.

Le traitement d’entretien peut inclure des médicaments, des vaccins, des anticorps ou des hormones.

Histoires

Eleanor Rudd Nos efforts n’ont rien de comparable à ce que les femmes vivent lorsqu’on leur dit : “vous avez le cancer”.

Plus de détails

Le cancer touche tous les Canadiens

Icône - 1 sur 2

On prévoit que près de 1 Canadien sur 2 recevra un diagnostic de cancer au cours de sa vie.

Apprenez-en plus