Childhood leukemia

You are here: 

Treatments for childhood AML

The main treatment for childhood acute myelogenous leukemia (AML) is chemotherapy. Stem cell transplant may be done once the disease goes into remission. An important part of treatment is central nervous system (CNS) therapy, which is given to prevent or treat the spread of leukemia to the brain or spinal fluid. Radiation therapy may be used to treat AML in certain areas if it is causing serious problems.

Some children are very ill when they are diagnosed with AML. Others become ill during treatment. Low blood cell counts due to AML or its treatment can cause serious problems, such as infections, bleeding and even heart failure. Supportive therapy, such as antibiotics or blood transfusions, may be needed to treat or prevent some of these problems before and during treatment for AML.

Planning treatment

Treatment plans are designed to meet the unique needs of each child with cancer. Doctors make treatment decisions for AML based on certain prognostic factors. These prognostic factors can be combined to give a level of risk.

This approach means that children with a very good prognosis are treated with less intensive and less toxic therapy. It also means that those with a less favourable prognosis will be given more intensive therapy to increase their chances of survival.

The prognostic factors used to design a treatment plan include:

  • subtype of AML
  • level of risk (high-risk AML needs more intensive treatment)
  • leukemia that has spread to the CNS (children with leukemia cells, or blasts, in the spinal fluid at diagnosis need treatments directed to the CNS)
  • chromosome and gene changes in the leukemia cells
  • response to treatment (children whose leukemia responds more slowly to initial treatment need more aggressive treatment)

Find out more about prognosis and survival for childhood AML and levels of risk for childhood AML.

Back to top

Chemotherapy

Many different protocols are used to treat childhood AML, but they generally follow a similar pattern. Treatment usually includes different phases of chemotherapy that use different combinations of drugs and schedules. Central nervous system (CNS) therapy is given during each phase.

Chemotherapy for AML usually includes the following phases.

Induction chemotherapy

The goal of induction chemotherapy for childhood AML is to bring about remission by killing all the leukemia cells, or blasts, in the blood, bone marrow and cerebrospinal fluid (CSF). It usually lasts 4–8 weeks and involves 2–3 cycles of combination chemotherapy. Children with Down syndrome who have FAB M7 AML do well with lower-dose chemotherapy regimens. The child may need to spend some or much of this time in hospital.

Bone marrow aspiration may be done during induction chemotherapy to find out if the leukemia is responding to treatment. Induction chemotherapy is repeated until there are no leukemia cells in the bone marrow.

The most common chemotherapy combinations used for AML include:

  • cytarabine (Cytosar, Ara-C) and daunorubicin (Cerubidine, daunomycin)
  • cytarabine, daunorubicin and etoposide (Vepesid, VP-16)
  • daunorubicin, cytarabine and thioguanine (Lanvis, 6-TG)

Other drugs that may be used include:

  • amsacrine (AMSA PD)
  • thioguanine (Lanvis, 6-TG)
  • mitoxantrone (Novantrone)
  • idarubicin (Idamycin)

Consolidation chemotherapy

Consolidation, or intensification, chemotherapy is the second phase of treatment. Most children with AML receive consolidation chemotherapy after induction chemotherapy. The goal of consolidation therapy is to kill any leukemia cells, or blasts, that are still in the blood or bone marrow once complete remission has been reached. It helps prevent leukemia from coming back (recurring).

Consolidation chemotherapy usually includes very intense treatment for 4–6 months. The most common type of chemotherapy used is high-dose cytarabine combined with other chemotherapy drugs. The most common drug combinations used include:

  • cytarabine and etoposide
  • cytarabine and mitoxantrone
  • cytarabine and asparaginase (Kidrolase), asparaginase erwinia (Erwinase) or pegaspargase (Oncaspar)

Other chemotherapy drugs that may be used along with cytarabine include:

  • thioguanine
  • ifosfamide (Ifex)
  • amsacrine
  • fludarabine (Fludara)
  • idarubicin

Back to top

Stem cell transplant

Children who have a high risk of relapsing or poorer prognostic factors and who have a brother or sister who is a good match are often treated with stem cell transplant once the leukemia is in remission. Children who have a low risk of relapsing or good prognostic factors don’t need a stem cell transplant unless the AML relapses, or recurs. Children with Down syndrome often don’t need stem cell transplant because they have a better prognosis and lower risk of recurrence.

Allogeneic stem cell transplant uses stem cells from a donor (usually a brother or sister). This type of transplant is the preferred treatment for children with AML who are at high risk of relapse or who have disease that is resistant to treatment. Several large clinical trials for children with AML have found that autologous stem cell transplant and intensive chemotherapy work equally well.

Back to top

Central nervous system (CNS) therapy

The central nervous system (CNS) is made up of the brain and spinal cord. CNS therapy is given during all phases of treatment for childhood AML. It helps prevent any leukemia cells, or blasts, from spreading to the CNS and kills any leukemia cells present in the CNS. This helps to keep the leukemia from recurring.

CNS therapy usually involves intrathecal chemotherapy, where the drugs are given directly into the cerebrospinal fluid (CSF). Intrathecal chemotherapy is usually given at the start of treatment for AML and every 1–2 months for as long as treatment lasts. Intrathecal chemotherapy may include methotrexate, cytarabine or both. Hydrocortisone may also be given.

In rare cases, radiation therapy may be given to the head (called cranial radiation therapy) as part of CNS therapy for AML. It is usually avoided if at all possible because radiation therapy to the brain can affect growth and development in young children.

Back to top

Clinical trials

Many children with leukemia enter a clinical trial that is tailored to their subtype and risk level of AML. The clinical trial protocol outlines the new combinations and doses of the chemotherapy drugs that are used.

For more information, go to clinical trials.

Back to top

remission

A decrease in or the disappearance of signs and symptoms of a disease (such as cancer).

Complete remission means the disappearance of all signs or symptoms. Partial remission means a decrease in or disappearance of some, but not all, signs and symptoms. Spontaneous remission is an unexpected improvement that occurs with little or no treatment.

Stories

Heather Moyes I encourage every woman – regardless of how young or how old – to be aware of their body

Read Heather's story

Don’t miss BRA Day Breast Reconstruction Awareness Day

BRA Day is a FREE, annual event that connects you with leading breast reconstruction experts to answer all your questions

Over 30 events across Canada!

Learn more

Leucémie chez
l’enfant

Vous êtes ici:

Traitements de la LAM chez l’enfant

Le traitement principal de la leucémie aiguë myéloblastique (LAM) chez l’enfant est la chimiothérapie. On peut faire une greffe de cellules souches une fois que la maladie entre en rémission. Une importante partie du traitement consiste à traiter le système nerveux central (SNC) pour prévenir ou soigner la propagation de la leucémie au cerveau ou au liquide céphalorachidien. On peut avoir recours à la radiothérapie pour traiter la LAM dans certaines régions si elle cause des problèmes graves.

Certains enfants sont très malades lorsqu’ils reçoivent un diagnostic de LAM. D’autres tombent malades en cours de traitement. Un nombre peu élevé de cellules sanguines dû à la LAM ou à son traitement peut causer de graves problèmes, comme des infections, des saignements et même l’insuffisance cardiaque. Un traitement de soutien, comme des antibiotiques ou des transfusions sanguines, peut être nécessaire pour traiter ou prévenir certains de ces problèmes avant et pendant le traitement de la LAM.

Planification du traitement

Les plans de traitement sont conçus de façon à répondre aux besoins uniques de chaque enfant atteint de cancer. Les médecins prennent des décisions relativement au traitement de la LAM en fonction de certains facteurs pronostiques. On peut associer ces facteurs pronostiques pour obtenir un niveau de risque.

Cette approche signifie que les enfants dont le pronostic est très bon reçoivent un traitement moins intensif et moins toxique. Cela signifie aussi que les enfants dont le pronostic est moins bon recevront un traitement plus intensif afin d’accroître leurs chances de survie.

Les facteurs pronostiques dont on se sert pour concevoir un plan de traitement sont entre autres ceux-ci :

  • sous-type de LAM;
  • niveau de risque (traitement plus intensif pour une LAM à risque élevé);
  • propagation de la leucémie au SNC (traitement dirigé vers le SNC pour les enfants dont le liquide céphalorachidien contient des cellules leucémiques, ou blastes, lors du diagnostic);
  • changements dans les chromosomes et les gènes des cellules leucémiques;
  • réponse au traitement (traitement plus agressif pour les enfants dont la leucémie réagit plus lentement au traitement initial).

Apprenez-en davantage sur le pronostic et la survie pour la LAM chez l’enfant et les niveaux de risque pour la LAM chez l’enfant.

Retour au menu

Chimiothérapie

On a recours à de nombreux protocoles différents pour traiter la LAM chez l’enfant, mais ils suivent généralement un modèle semblable. Le traitement comporte habituellement différentes phases de chimiothérapie qui ont recours à différentes associations de médicaments et à divers modes d’administration. Le traitement du système nerveux central (SNC) est administré à chacune des phases.

La chimiothérapie administrée pour traiter la LAM chez l’enfant comporte habituellement les phases suivantes.

Chimiothérapie d’induction

Le but de la chimiothérapie d'induction de la LAM chez l’enfant est de parvenir à la rémission en détruisant toutes les cellules leucémiques (blastes) présentes dans le sang, la moelle osseuse et le liquide céphalorachidien (LCR). La chimiothérapie d'induction dure habituellement de 4 à 8 semaines et comprend 2 ou 3 cycles de chimiothérapie d’association. Les enfants atteints du syndrome de Down et d’une LAM classée FAB M7 réagissent bien à une chimiothérapie plus faible. Il est possible que l’enfant passe une petite ou une grande partie de ce temps à l’hôpital.

On peut faire une ponction de la moelle osseuse lors de la chimiothérapie d’induction afin de savoir comment la leucémie réagit au traitement. On répète la chimiothérapie d’induction jusqu’à ce qu’il n’y ait plus de cellules leucémiques dans la moelle osseuse.

Les associations chimiothérapeutiques auxquelles on a le plus couramment recours pour traiter la LAM sont entre autres celles-ci :

  • cytarabine (Cytosar, Ara-C) et daunorubicine (Cerubidine, daunomycine)
  • cytarabine, daunorubicine et étoposide (Vepesid, VP-16)
  • daunorubicine, cytarabine et thioguanine (Lanvis, 6-TG)

D’autres médicaments peuvent être administrés dont ceux-ci :

  • amsacrine (AMSA PD)
  • thioguanine (Lanvis, 6-TG)
  • mitoxantrone (Novantrone)
  • idarubicine (Idamycin)

Chimiothérapie de consolidation

La chimiothérapie de consolidation, ou d’intensification, est la deuxième phase du traitement. La plupart des enfants atteints de LAM reçoivent une chimiothérapie de consolidation après une chimiothérapie d’induction. Le but du traitement de consolidation est de détruire toutes les cellules leucémiques, ou blastes, qui restent dans le sang ou la moelle osseuse une fois que la rémission est complète. Ce traitement aide à prévenir la réapparition (récidive) de la leucémie.

La chimiothérapie de consolidation comprend habituellement un traitement très intense d’une durée de 4 à 6 mois. Le type de chimiothérapie administré le plus souvent est la cytarabine à forte dose qu’on associe à d’autres agents chimiothérapeutiques. Les associations chimiothérapeutiques auxquelles on a le plus souvent recours sont entre autres celles-ci :

  • cytarabine et étoposide
  • cytarabine et mitoxantrone
  • cytarabine et asparaginase (Kidrolase), asparaginase Erwinia (Erwinase) ou pegaspargase (Oncaspar)

Les agents chimiothérapeutiques suivants peuvent être administrés avec la cytarabine :

  • thioguanine
  • ifosfamide (Ifex)
  • amsacrine
  • fludarabine (Fludara)
  • idarubicine

Retour au menu

Greffe de cellules souches

Les enfants dont la maladie risque fortement de récidiver ou dont les facteurs pronostiques sont plus défavorables et dont un frère ou une sœur est un donneur compatible sont souvent traités par greffe de cellules souches une fois que la leucémie est en rémission. Les enfants dont la maladie risque peu de récidiver ou dont les facteurs pronostiques sont bons n’ont pas besoin d’une greffe de cellules souches sauf si la LAM récidive. Il est peu fréquent que les enfants atteints du syndrome de Down  aient besoin d’une greffe de cellules souches puisqu’ils ont un meilleur pronostic et un risque de récidive plus faible.

L’allogreffe de cellules souches a recours aux cellules souches d’un donneur, habituellement un frère ou une sœur. Ce type de greffe est le traitement privilégié pour les enfants atteints d’une LAM qui risque fortement de récidiver ou qui résiste au traitement. Plusieurs essais cliniques d’envergure pour les enfants atteints de LAM ont permis de constater que l’autogreffe de cellules souches et une chimiothérapie intensive sont aussi efficaces.

Retour au menu

Traitement du système nerveux central (SNC)

Le système nerveux central (SNC) est composé du cerveau et de la moelle épinière. Le traitement du SNC est administré à toutes les phases du traitement de la LAM chez l’enfant. Il aide à prévenir la propagation de toute cellule leucémique, ou blaste, au SNC et détruit toutes les cellules leucémiques présentes dans le SNC. Cela aide à empêcher la leucémie de réapparaître.

Le traitement du SNC comporte habituellement une chimiothérapie intrathécale, c’est-à-dire l’administration de médicaments directement dans le liquide céphalorachidien (LCR). On administre habituellement la chimiothérapie intrathécale au début du traitement de la LAM et aux 1 à 2 mois tant et aussi longtemps que dure le traitement. Les médicaments administrés peuvent comprendre le méthotrexate, la cytarabine ou les deux. On peut aussi y ajouter de l’hydrocortisone.

Dans de rares cas, on administre une radiothérapie à la tête, soit une irradiation cérébrale, dans le cadre du traitement du SNC. On évite de le faire si c’est possible puisqu’une radiothérapie à la tête risque d’affecter la croissance et le développement des jeunes enfants.

Retour au menu

Essais cliniques

De nombreux enfants atteints de leucémie participent à un essai clinique conçu selon le sous-type et le niveau de risque de leur LAM. Dans le protocole de l'essai, on indique quelles sont les nouvelles associations chimiothérapeutiques administrées ainsi que leurs doses.

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements, consultez la section « Essais cliniques ».

Retour au menu

rémission

Diminution ou disparition des signes et symptômes d’une maladie (comme le cancer).

La rémission complète est la disparition de tous les signes et symptômes. La rémission partielle est une diminution ou la disparition de certains, mais non de la totalité, des signes et symptômes. La rémission spontanée est une amélioration inattendue de l’état du patient lorsque ce dernier reçoit peu de traitements ou lorsqu'il ne reçoit aucun traitement.

Histoires

Photo of Pat Hartley Malgré l’expérience et les connaissances que j’avais sur le cancer, j’étais en état de choc.

Lisez l'histoire de Pat

Réduire le fardeau du cancer

Icône – main avec signe de dollar flottant au-dessus d’elle

Les Canadiens peuvent aider la SCC à financer les meilleurs projets de recherche et à soutenir les personnes touchées par le cancer en étant donateurs ou bénévoles.

Apprenez-en plus