Childhood leukemia

You are here: 

Treatments for childhood ALL

The main treatment for childhood acute lymphoblastic leukemia (ALL) is long-term chemotherapy. An important part of this treatment is central nervous system (CNS) therapy, which is given to prevent or treat the spread of leukemia to the brain or spinal fluid. Treatment for childhood ALL usually takes 2–4 years.

Some children are very ill when they are diagnosed with ALL. Others become ill during treatment. Low blood cell counts due to ALL or its treatment can cause serious problems, such as infections, bleeding and even heart failure. Supportive therapy, such as antibiotics or blood transfusions, may be needed to treat or prevent some of these problems before and during treatment for ALL.

Planning treatment

Treatment plans are designed to meet the unique needs of each child with cancer. Doctors make treatment decisions for ALL based on certain prognostic factors. These prognostic factors can be combined to give a level of risk.

This approach means that children with a very good prognosis or lower level of risk are treated with less intensive and less toxic therapy. It also means that children with a less favourable prognosis or higher level of risk will be given more intensive therapy to increase their chances of survival.

The prognosis factors used to design a treatment plan include:

  • age of the child at diagnosis (children younger than 1 or older than 9 need more aggressive treatment)
  • white blood cell (WBC) count at diagnosis (children with a WBC count higher than 50,000 cells/mm3, or 50.0 x 109 cells/L, need more aggressive treatment)
  • subtype of ALL (mature B-cell ALL is often treated with more intense chemotherapy because it has a poorer prognosis)
  • leukemia has spread to the CNS or testicles (children with leukemia cells, or blasts, in the spinal fluid or testicles at diagnosis need more aggressive treatment)
  • chromosome changes in the leukemia cells
  • response to treatment (children whose leukemia responds more slowly to initial treatment need more aggressive treatment)

Find out more about prognosis and survival for childhood ALL and levels of risk for childhood ALL.

Back to top

Chemotherapy

Many different protocols are used to treat childhood ALL, but they generally follow a similar pattern. Treatment usually includes different phases of chemotherapy. Central nervous system (CNS) therapy is given during each phase.

Chemotherapy for ALL usually includes the following phases.

Induction chemotherapy

The goal of induction chemotherapy for childhood ALL is to bring about remission by killing all the leukemia cells, or blasts, in the blood, bone marrow and cerebrospinal fluid (CSF). Induction chemotherapy lasts 4–6 weeks. The child may need to spend some or much of this time in hospital. Over 95% of children with ALL go into remission after 1 month of treatment.

Bone marrow aspiration and biopsy may be done during induction chemotherapy to find out how the leukemia is responding to treatment.

The drugs given during induction chemotherapy vary depending on the level of risk. The most common chemotherapy combination used for standard-risk or low-risk ALL includes:

  • vincristine (Oncovin)
  • asparaginase (Kidrolase), asparaginase erwinia (Erwinase) or pegaspargase (Oncaspar)
  • dexamethasone (Decadron, Dexasone) or prednisone

For higher-risk ALL, one of the following drugs is added to the above combination:

  • daunorubicin (Cerubidine, daunomycin)
  • doxorubicin (Adriamycin)

Consolidation chemotherapy

Consolidation, or intensification, chemotherapy is the second phase of treatment. All children with ALL receive consolidation chemotherapy after induction chemotherapy. The goal of consolidation therapy is to kill any leukemia cells, or blasts, that are still in the blood or bone marrow once complete remission has been reached. It helps prevent recurrence in distant sites, such as the CNS or testicles.

Different drugs are given during consolidation chemotherapy than those used during the induction phase. The intensity and type of consolidation chemotherapy can vary depending on the level of risk. The consolidation phase lasts 4–6 weeks.

The most common chemotherapy drugs used during consolidation include:

  • asparaginase
  • vincristine
  • cyclophosphamide (Cytoxan, Procytox)
  • cytarabine (Cytosar, Ara-C)
  • mercaptopurine (Purinethol, 6-MP)

Other chemotherapy drugs that may be used during this phase include:

  • prednisone
  • dexamethasone
  • doxorubicin
  • daunorubicin

Interim maintenance chemotherapy

An interim maintenance phase usually follows consolidation chemotherapy. This phase is similar to a standard maintenance cycle. It allows the bone marrow to recover while maintaining remission. Interim maintenance may last 6–8 weeks.

Chemotherapy drugs used during interim maintenance may include:

  • intermediate or high-dose methotrexate
  • mercaptopurine
  • vincristine
  • asparaginase
  • prednisone or dexamethasone

Delayed intensification chemotherapy

The delayed intensification, or re-induction, phase gives more intense chemotherapy before maintenance chemotherapy starts. It helps to prevent leukemia from recurring.

Delayed intensification is usually given 3–4 months after the child reaches remission from induction chemotherapy. It is given in blocks that usually last 8 weeks.

For some children at high risk, an extra block of delayed intensification chemotherapy may be given, depending on the child’s particular treatment plan. Delayed intensification chemotherapy may be followed by another block of interim maintenance chemotherapy.

The chemotherapy drugs used during delayed intensification may be the same as those used during the induction and consolidation phases. The exact timing of treatments and the drugs used are specific to each child’s leukemia.

Drugs that may be used during delayed intensification chemotherapy include:

  • vincristine
  • dexamethasone
  • asparaginase
  • doxorubicin
  • cyclophosphamide
  • thioguanine (Lanvis, 6-TG)
  • cytarabine

Maintenance chemotherapy

Once the other treatment phases lower the number of leukemia cells, or blasts, maintenance chemotherapy begins. During this final phase, chemotherapy is given at a low level of intensity (lower doses given less frequently) over a longer period of time to maintain remission.

The maintenance phase usually lasts 2 years for girls and 3 years for boys. In general, maintenance chemotherapy is longer for boys because leukemia cells can spread to the testicles.

The maintenance chemotherapy phase is much less intensive than the other phases. It mainly involves taking oral (by mouth) medicine at home each day. Intermittent intravenous and intrathecal chemotherapy is also given during this phase. Intrathecal chemotherapy is given directly into the cerebrospinal fluid (CFS) by lumbar puncture. Children can usually take part in their normal daily activities as soon as they feel well enough and most children return to school during this phase.

Chemotherapy drugs used during the maintenance phase include:

  • daily oral mercaptopurine
  • weekly oral methotrexate

Intermittent doses or pulses of other chemotherapy drugs are often added, such as:

  • vincristine
  • dexamethasone

Back to top

Central nervous system (CNS) therapy

The central nervous system (CNS) is made up of the brain and spinal cord. CNS therapy is given during all phases of treatment for childhood ALL. It helps prevent any leukemia cells, or blasts, from spreading to the CNS and kills any leukemia cells in the CNS. This helps to keep the leukemia from recurring.

The type of CNS therapy given will depend on the level of risk and whether or not there is evidence that the cancer has spread to the CNS at diagnosis. CNS therapy usually involves intrathecal chemotherapy, where the drugs are given directly into the cerebrospinal fluid (CSF). Intrathecal chemotherapy may be given alone or with systemic chemotherapy, radiation therapy or both.

Chemotherapy

Intrathecal chemotherapy is most commonly used for CNS therapy. It is usually started at the beginning of the induction phase. It may be given 2 or more times during the first month of treatment. Intrathecal chemotherapy is usually intensified (given more frequently) during consolidation chemotherapy, and then continued during the maintenance phase and delayed intensification. During these phases, intrathecal chemotherapy may be given as 4–8 doses every 2–3 weeks.

The most common chemotherapy used for low-risk or standard-risk ALL is methotrexate. For higher-risk groups, intrathecal chemotherapy may include methotrexate, cytarabine and hydrocortisone.

Moderate- or high-dose methotrexate may also be given by mouth (orally) or through a needle in a vein (intravenously) as systemic chemotherapy during CNS therapy.

Radiation therapy

Radiation therapy to the head (called cranial radiation therapy) may sometimes be used as part of CNS therapy. It is usually avoided if at all possible because radiation therapy to the brain can affect growth and development in young children.

Cranial radiation therapy may be given to children who have leukemia cells, or blasts, in the CNS at diagnosis, or those in the high-risk group.

Back to top

Stem cell transplant

A stem cell transplant may sometimes be used to treat certain cases of childhood ALL. It may be used for:

  • ALL that doesn’t respond well to treatment or that recurs soon after it goes into remission
  • ALL that is in remission but has a high risk of recurring, or relapsing
  • children with Philadelphia chromosome–positive ALL
  • rarer forms of ALL (after first remission is reached with induction chemotherapy)

The rarer forms of ALL that may be treated with stem cell transplant are:

  • T-cell ALL that does not respond well to chemotherapy
  • ALL in infants under the age of 1 year

Back to top

Clinical trials

Many children with leukemia enter a clinical trial that is tailored to their subtype and risk level of ALL. The clinical trial protocol outlines the new combinations and doses of the chemotherapy drugs used.

For more information, go to clinical trials.

Back to top

Stories

Researcher Dr Réjean Lapointe Dr Réjean Lapointe is developing a gel to improve immunotherapy.

Learn more

Together we can reduce the burden of cancer

Icon - beaker

Last year, we only had the resources available to fund 40% of high-priority research projects. Imagine the impact we could have if we were able to fund 100%.

Learn more

Leucémie chez
l’enfant

Vous êtes ici:

Traitements de la LAL chez l’enfant

Le traitement principal de la leucémie aiguë lymphoblastique (LAL) chez l’enfant est la chimiothérapie à long terme dont une importante partie consiste à traiter le système nerveux central (SNC) pour prévenir ou soigner la propagation de la leucémie au cerveau ou au liquide céphalorachidien. Le traitement de la LAL infantile dure habituellement de 2 à 4 ans.

Certains enfants sont très malades lorsqu’ils reçoivent un diagnostic de LAL. D’autres tombent malades en cours de traitement. Un nombre peu élevé de cellules sanguines dû à la LAL ou à son traitement peut causer de graves problèmes, comme des infections, des saignements et même l’insuffisance cardiaque. Un traitement de soutien, comme des antibiotiques ou des transfusions sanguines, peut être nécessaire pour traiter ou prévenir certains de ces problèmes avant et pendant le traitement de la LAL.

Planification du traitement

Les plans de traitement sont conçus de façon à répondre aux besoins uniques de chaque enfant atteint de cancer. Les médecins prennent des décisions relativement au traitement de la LAL en fonction de certains facteurs pronostiques. On peut associer ces facteurs pronostiques pour obtenir un niveau de risque.

Cette approche signifie que les enfants dont le pronostic est très bon ou dont le niveau de risque est plus faible reçoivent un traitement moins intensif et moins toxique. Cela signifie aussi que les enfants dont le pronostic est moins bon ou dont le niveau de risque est plus élevé recevront un traitement plus intensif afin d’accroître leurs chances de survie.

Les facteurs pronostiques dont on se sert pour concevoir un plan de traitement sont entre autres ceux-ci :

  • âge de l’enfant lors du diagnostic (traitement plus agressif pour les enfants âgés de moins de 1 an ou de plus de 9 ans);
  • nombre de globules blancs (GB) lors du diagnostic (traitement plus agressif pour les enfants dont le nombre de GB est supérieur à 50 000 cellules/mm3, ou 50,0 x  109 cellules/L);
  • sous-type de LAL (LAL à cellules B matures souvent traitée par chimiothérapie plus intensive en raison de son pronostic plus sombre);
  • propagation de la leucémie au SNC ou aux testicules (traitement plus agressif pour les enfants dont le liquide céphalorachidien ou les testicules contiennent des cellules leucémiques, ou blastes, lors du diagnostic);
  • changements dans les chromosomes des cellules leucémiques;
  • réponse au traitement (traitement plus agressif pour les enfants dont la leucémie réagit plus lentement au traitement initial).

Apprenez-en davantage sur le pronostic et la survie pour la LAL chez l’enfant et les niveaux de risque pour la LAL chez l’enfant.

Retour au menu

Chimiothérapie

On a recours à de nombreux protocoles différents pour traiter la LAL chez l’enfant, mais ils suivent généralement un modèle semblable. Le traitement comporte habituellement différentes phases de chimiothérapie. Le traitement du système nerveux central (SNC) est administré à chacune des phases.

La chimiothérapie administrée pour traiter la LAL chez l’enfant comporte habituellement les phases suivantes.

Chimiothérapie d’induction

Le but de la chimiothérapie d'induction de la LAL chez l’enfant est de parvenir à la rémission en détruisant toutes les cellules leucémiques (blastes) présentes dans le sang, la moelle osseuse et le liquide céphalorachidien (LCR). La chimiothérapie d'induction dure de 4 à 6 semaines. Il est possible que l’enfant passe une petite ou une grande partie de ce temps à l’hôpital. Plus de 95 % des enfants atteints de LAL parviennent à la rémission après 1 mois de traitement.

On peut faire une ponction et une biopsie de la moelle osseuse lors de la chimiothérapie d’induction afin de savoir comment la leucémie réagit au traitement.

Les médicaments administrés lors de la chimiothérapie d’induction varient selon le niveau de risque. L’association chimiothérapeutique à laquelle on a le plus couramment recours pour traiter la LAL à risque standard ou faible est entre autres celle-ci :

  • vincristine (Oncovin)
  • asparaginase (Kidrolase), asparaginase Erwinia (Erwinase) ou pegaspargase (Oncaspar)
  • dexaméthasone (Decadron, Dexasone) ou prednisone

Pour traiter une LAL à risque plus élevé, on y ajoute l’un des médicaments suivants :

  • daunorubicine (Cerubidine, daunomycine)
  • doxorubicine (Adriamycin)

Chimiothérapie de consolidation

La chimiothérapie de consolidation, ou d’intensification, est la deuxième phase du traitement. Tous les enfants atteints de LAL reçoivent une chimiothérapie de consolidation après une chimiothérapie d’induction. Le but du traitement de consolidation est de détruire toutes les cellules leucémiques, ou blastes, qui restent dans le sang ou la moelle osseuse une fois que la rémission est complète. Ce traitement aide à prévenir la récidive dans des emplacements éloignés comme le SNC ou les testicules.

Lors de la chimiothérapie de consolidation, on a recours à d’autres médicaments que ceux qu’on administre à la phase d’induction. L’intensité de la chimiothérapie de consolidation et le type peuvent varier selon le niveau de risque. La phase de consolidation dure de 4 à 6 semaines.

Les agents chimiothérapeutiques les plus couramment administrés lors de la phase de consolidation sont entre autres ceux-ci :

  • asparaginase
  • vincristine
  • cyclophosphamide (Cytoxan, Procytox)
  • cytarabine (Cytosar, Ara-C)
  • mercaptopurine (Purinethol, 6-MP)

On peut avoir recours à d’autres médicaments lors de cette phase dont ceux-ci :

  • prednisone
  • dexaméthasone
  • doxorubicine
  • daunorubicine

Chimiothérapie d’entretien provisoire

La phase d’entretien provisoire suit habituellement la chimiothérapie de consolidation. Cette phase ressemble au cycle d’entretien standard. Elle permet à la moelle osseuse de se rétablir tout en maintenant la rémission. L’entretien provisoire peut durer de 6 à 8 semaines.

Les agents chimiothérapeutiques administrés lors de la phase d’entretien provisoire peuvent comprendre ceux-ci :

  • méthotrexate à dose intermédiaire ou à forte dose
  • mercaptopurine
  • vincristine
  • asparaginase
  • prednisone ou dexaméthasone

Chimiothérapie d’intensification différée

La phase d’intensification différée, ou de réinduction, permet d’administrer une chimiothérapie plus intense avant la chimiothérapie d’entretien. Elle aide à empêcher la leucémie de réapparaître.

On administre habituellement la chimiothérapie d’intensification différée de 3 à 4 mois après que l’enfant ait atteint la rémission à la suite d’une chimiothérapie d’induction. La phase d’intensification différée se déroule en blocs qui durent généralement 8 semaines.

Certains enfants dont le risque est élevé pourraient recevoir un bloc supplémentaire de chimiothérapie d’intensification différée selon leur propre plan de traitement. Elle peut être suivie d’un autre bloc de chimiothérapie d’entretien provisoire.

Les agents chimiothérapeutiques administrés au cours de la phase d’intensification différée peuvent être les mêmes qu’aux phases d’induction et de consolidation. Le calendrier d’administration des traitements et des médicaments est spécifique à chaque cas.

On peut avoir recours aux médicaments suivants lors de la phase d’intensification différée :

  • vincristine
  • dexaméthasone
  • asparaginase
  • doxorubicine
  • cyclophosphamide
  • thioguanine (Lanvis, 6-TG)
  • cytarabine

Chimiothérapie d’entretien

Une fois que les autres phases du traitement ont réussi à faire baisser le nombre de cellules leucémiques, ou blastes, on commence la chimiothérapie d’entretien. Au cours de cette dernière phase, on administre une chimiothérapie de faible intensité (doses moins fortes et moins fréquentes) sur une longue période pour maintenir la rémission.

La phase d’entretien dure habituellement 2 ans chez les filles et 3 ans chez les garçons. En général, la chimiothérapie d’entretien est plus longue chez les garçons parce que les cellules leucémiques peuvent se propager aux testicules.

La phase d’entretien est beaucoup moins intensive que les autres phases. Elle comporte surtout la prise orale (par la bouche) de médicaments chaque jour à la maison. On administre aussi une chimiothérapie intraveineuse et intrathécale intermittente au cours de cette phase. La chimiothérapie intrathécale est administrée directement dans le liquide céphalorachidien (LCR) par ponction lombaire. Les enfants sont habituellement en mesure de prendre part à leurs activités quotidiennes habituelles dès qu’ils se sentent assez bien et la plupart retournent à l’école au cours de cette phase.

Les agents chimiothérapeutiques administrés lors de la phase d’entretien sont entre autres ceux-ci :

  • mercaptopurine orale au quotidien
  • méthotrexate oral une fois par semaine

On y ajoute souvent des doses, ou pulses, intermittentes d’autres agents chimiothérapeutiques tels que ceux-ci :

  • vincristine
  • dexaméthasone

Retour au menu

Traitement du système nerveux central (SNC)

Le système nerveux central (SNC) est composé du cerveau et de la moelle épinière. Le traitement du SNC est administré à toutes les phases du traitement de la LAL chez l’enfant. Il aide à prévenir la propagation de toute cellule leucémique, ou blaste, au SNC et détruit toutes les cellules leucémiques présentes dans le SNC. Cela aide à empêcher la leucémie de réapparaître.

Le type de traitement du SNC administré dépend du niveau de risque et de la présence de signes que le cancer s’est déjà propagé au SNC lors du diagnostic. Le traitement du SNC comporte habituellement une chimiothérapie intrathécale, c’est-à-dire l’administration de médicaments directement dans le liquide céphalorachidien (LCR). On peut administrer seulement une chimiothérapie intrathécale ou l’associer à une chimiothérapie systémique, à une radiothérapie ou aux deux.

Chimiothérapie

On a le plus souvent recours à la chimiothérapie intrathécale comme traitement du SNC. On commence habituellement à l’administrer à la phase d’induction. On peut l’administrer 2 fois ou plus au cours du premier mois de traitement. On intensifie généralement la chimiothérapie intrathécale, c’est-à-dire que l’enfant la reçoit plus souvent, lors de la chimiothérapie de consolidation et on la prolonge aux phases d’entretien et d’intensification différée. Au cours de ces phases, on peut administrer de 4 à 8 doses de chimiothérapie intrathécale aux 2 à 3 semaines.

L’agent chimiothérapeutique auquel on a le plus souvent recours pour la LAL à faible risque ou à risque standard est le méthotrexate. Les LAL à risque plus élevé peuvent être traitées avec du méthotrexate, de la cytarabine et de l’hydrocortisone.

On peut aussi administrer des doses modérées ou élevées de méthotrexate par la bouche (voie orale) ou dans une veine à l’aide d’une aiguille (voie intraveineuse) comme chimiothérapie systémique lors du traitement du SNC.

Radiothérapie

On administre parfois une radiothérapie à la tête, soit une irradiation cérébrale, dans le cadre du traitement du SNC. On évite de le faire si c’est possible puisqu’une radiothérapie à la tête risque d’affecter la croissance et le développement des jeunes enfants.

L’irradiation cérébrale peut être administrée aux enfants qui ont des cellules leucémiques, ou blastes, dans le SNC lors du diagnostic ou à ceux qui font partie du groupe à risque élevé.

Retour au menu

Greffe de cellules souches

On fait parfois une greffe de cellules souches pour traiter certains cas de LAL chez l’enfant. On peut y avoir recours pour :

  • une LAL qui ne réagit pas bien au traitement ou qui récidive peu après être entrée en rémission;
  • une LAL en rémission dont le risque de récidive est élevé;
  • les enfants atteints d’une LAL porteuse du chromosome Philadelphie;
  • des formes plus rares de LAL (après une première rémission obtenue à la suite d’une chimiothérapie d’induction).

Les formes plus rares de LAL qu’on peut traiter par greffe de cellules souches sont les suivantes :

  • LAL à cellules T qui ne réagit pas bien à la chimiothérapie;
  • LAL chez les nourrissons âgés de moins de 1 an.

Retour au menu

Essais cliniques

De nombreux enfants atteints de leucémie participent à un essai clinique conçu selon le sous-type et le niveau de risque de leur LAL. Dans le protocole de l'essai, on indique quelles sont les nouvelles associations chimiothérapeutiques administrées ainsi que leurs doses.

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements, consultez la section « Essais cliniques ».

Retour au menu

Histoires

Dr Troy Harkness À la recherche de nouveaux moyens de traiter les cancers pharmacorésistants

Plus de details

Comment stopper le cancer avant qu’il n’apparaisse?

Découvrez l’impact de vos habitudes de vie sur le risque de cancer et voyez comment prendre les choses en main à l’aide de notre outil interactif – C’est ma vie!

Apprenez-en plus