Childhood leukemia

You are here: 

Prognosis and survival for childhood leukemia

If your child has leukemia, you will have questions about their prognosis. A prognosis is the doctor’s best estimate of how cancer will affect someone and how well it will respond to treatment. Prognosis and survival depend on many factors. Only a doctor familiar with your child’s medical history, the type and subtype and other features of the leukemia, the treatments chosen and the response to treatment can put all of this information together with survival statistics to arrive at a prognosis.

A prognostic factor is an aspect of the leukemia or a characteristic of the child that the doctor will consider when making a prognosis. A predictive factor influences how the leukemia will respond to a certain treatment. Prognostic and predictive factors are often discussed together. They both play a part in deciding on a treatment plan and prognosis.

Prognostic factors vary according to the type of leukemia. For childhood leukemia, certain prognostic factors are used to give the cancer a level of risk or risk group. The risk group includes the likelihood that cancer will not respond to treatment or will come back after treatment. Doctors use this information to guide treatment.

Find out more about prognostic factors for childhood ALL, prognostic factors for childhood AML, risk groups for childhood ALL and risk groups for childhood AML.

Stories

Canadian Cancer Trials Group researcher Dr Christopher O’Callaghan The Canadian Cancer Trials Group is improving glioblastoma survival in the elderly.

Learn more

Investing to reduce cancer burden

Icon - piggy bank

Last year CCS funded $40 million in cancer research, thanks to our donors. Discover how you can help reduce the burden of cancer.

Learn more

Leucémie chez
l’enfant

Vous êtes ici:

Pronostic et survie pour la leucémie chez l'enfant

Il est possible qu’un enfant atteint de leucémie ainsi que ses parents se posent des questions sur son pronostic et sa survie. Le pronostic et la survie dépendent de nombreux facteurs. Seul le médecin qui connaît bien les antécédents médicaux de l'enfant, le type de cancer dont il est atteint, les caractéristiques de la maladie, les traitements choisis et la réaction au traitement peut examiner toutes ces données de concert avec les statistiques de survie pour en arriver à un pronostic.

Un pronostic est l’acte par lequel le médecin évalue le mieux comment le cancer affectera un enfant et comment il réagira au traitement. Un facteur pronostique est un aspect du cancer ou une caractéristique de l'enfant que le médecin prend en considération lorsqu'il fait un pronostic. Un facteur prédictif influence la façon dont le cancer répond à un certain traitement. On aborde souvent les facteurs pronostiques et les facteurs prédictifs ensemble, et ils jouent tous les deux un rôle dans le choix du plan de traitement et dans l'établissement du pronostic.

Les facteurs pronostiques peuvent varier selon le type de leucémie dont l'enfant est atteint, soit une leucémie aiguë lymphoblastique (LAL) ou une leucémie aiguë myéloblastique (LAM).

Histoires

Parker Murchison Ce que j’aime le plus du camp Goodtime, c’est la compagnie d’autres enfants qui ont survécu au cancer. Ils comprennent ce que tu vis et peuvent t’aider à traverser les moments difficiles.

Lisez l’histoire de Parker

Défense des intérêts des personnes atteintes de cancer

Illustration d’un mégaphone

Nos employés et bénévoles rencontrent les élus des divers paliers de gouvernement (municipal, provincial et fédéral) pour les convaincre de faire de la lutte contre le cancer une de leurs priorités.

Apprenez-en plus