Kidney cancer

You are here: 

Cancerous tumours of the kidney

A cancerous tumour of the kidney can spread, or metastasize, to other parts of the body. Cancerous tumours are also called malignant tumours. Different types of cancerous tumours can develop in different parts of the kidney.

Renal cell carcinoma

Renal cell carcinoma (RCC) is the most common type of kidney cancer. It starts in the lining of the tubules of the kidney and is found most often in the cortex (the tissue in the body of the kidney).

Types of RCC

There are several types of RCC, including the following.

Clear cell, or conventional, RCC is the most common type of RCC. Most kidney tumours are clear cell RCC. The cancer cells in these tumours are round and filled with clear cellular fluid (called cytoplasm).

Papillary RCC is the second most common type of RCC. The cancer cells in these tumours are shaped like little fingers. Papillary RCC is further divided into 2 types. Type 1 is a low-grade tumour that does not spread very fast. Type 2 is a high-grade tumour that can spread quickly.

Clear cell papillary RCC is a rare, small tumour. They have features of both clear cell and papillary RCCs, so they may have some fluid and some solid parts. Usually only one clear cell papillary RCC develops in a kidney. This type of tumour is usually found in people who have chronic kidney disease.

Multiocular cystic RCC is usually diagnosed around the age of 50. These tumours are made up of many different cysts with thin walls. These cysts are covered by a capsule that separates the tumour from the surrounding normal kidney tissue.

Chromophobe RCC has large, pale brown cancer cells that often look like layers of bricks in a wall. It is usually diagnosed in people between the ages of 50 and 60. Chromophobe RCC has a more favourable prognosis than other types of kidney cancer.

Collecting duct carcinoma is a very rare and aggressive type of RCC. It starts in the ducts at the ends of the tubules in the kidney medulla (the inner tissues of the kidney). It is usually found in younger adults.

Unclassified RCCs are tumours that do not fit into any of the other categories of RCC. The cancer cells look different from any other type of RCC.

Features of RCC

Some RCCs have distinct features (called histological features) that can be seen in the cells when they are examined under a microscope.

Sarcomatoid features means the cancer cells are long and spindle-shaped. RCC with sarcomatoid features usually develops from a clear cell RCC, but sometimes it can start in a clear cell papillary RCC or a chromophobe RCC. They are often high-grade, aggressive tumours.

Rhabdoid features means the cancer cells are shaped like rods. They have large centres (called nuclei) with pockets of fluid in them. RCC with rhabdoid features usually develops from clear cell RCC. They are aggressive tumours with a poor prognosis.

Rare kidney tumours

The following cancerous tumours of the kidney are rare.

Cancer of the renal pelvis starts in the cells that line the renal pelvis of the kidney. These cells are also found along the rest of the urinary tract, including the ureters and bladder. The type of cancer that develops in these cells is called urothelial carcinoma, or transitional cell carcinoma. It is treated like a type of bladder cancer. Find out more about cancer of the renal pelvis.

Renal sarcomas start in the kidney’s connective tissues or blood vessels. Different types of renal sarcomas include leiomyosarcoma, angiosarcoma and rhabdomyosarcoma. They are treated as soft tissue sarcomas.

Renal medullary carcinoma starts in the medulla of the kidney. It is a very aggressive tumour. It is found most often in young people of African ancestry who have sickle cell trait. People with this genetic condition have one copy of the gene that can cause sickle cell disease, but they don’t have the disease.

Primary renal lymphoma is a very rare tumour with a poor prognosis. The most common type is diffuse large B-cell lymphoma (DLBCL).

Primary neuroendocrine tumours of the kidney are very rare. The most common types are small cell carcinoma and large cell neuroendocrine carcinoma. Find out more about the types of neuroendocrine tumours.

Wilms tumour is a type of kidney cancer usually diagnosed in children. It is very rare in adults. Find out more about Wilms tumour.

low-grade

Referring to or having to do with cancer cells that look and act almost like normal cells (differentiated) and tumours that tend to grow and spread slowly.

sickle cell disease

A genetic condition that affects hemoglobin (a protein in red blood cells that carries oxygen and gives blood its red colour) and causes red blood cells to have an abnormal crescent (sickle) shape. The abnormal red blood cells can be damaged easily and die quickly, which can cause anemia (a reduction in red blood cells). They can also block small blood vessels, which can cause tissue and organ damage.

Also called sickle cell anemia.

Stories

Dr John Dick A new understanding of blood cells

Read more

How can you stop cancer before it starts?

It's My Life! icon

Discover how your lifestyle choices can affect cancer risk and how you can take action with our interactive tool – It’s My Life!

Learn more

Cancer du rein

Vous êtes ici:

Tumeurs cancéreuses du rein

La tumeur cancéreuse du rein peut se propager (métastases) à d’autres parties du corps. La tumeur cancéreuse est aussi appelée tumeur maligne. Différents types de tumeurs cancéreuses peuvent apparaître dans différentes parties du rein.

Carcinome à cellules rénales

Le carcinome à cellules rénales (CCR) est le type le plus courant de cancer du rein. Il prend naissance dans le revêtement des tubules du rein et on l'observe le plus souvent dans le cortex (tissu du corps du rein).

Types de CCR

Il existe plusieurs types de CCR, dont ceux qui suivent.

Le carcinome à cellules claires, ou conventionnel, est le type le plus courant de CCR. La plupart des tumeurs au rein sont des carcinomes à cellules claires. Les cellules cancéreuses présentes dans ces tumeurs sont rondes et remplies d’un liquide cellulaire clair appelé cytoplasme.

Le carcinome papillaire est le deuxième type le plus courant de CCR. Les cellules cancéreuses présentes dans cette tumeur ont la forme de petits doigts. Le carcinome papillaire du rein se divise en 2 types. Le type 1 est une tumeur de bas grade qui ne se propage pas très rapidement. Le type 2 est une tumeur de haut grade qui peut se propager rapidement.

Le carcinome papillaire à cellules claires est une petite tumeur rare. Il possède des caractéristiques du carcinome papillaire et du carcinome à cellules claires, alors il peut contenir un peu de liquide et quelques parties solides. Habituellement, une seule tumeur apparaît dans un rein. On observe généralement ce type de tumeur chez les personnes atteintes d’une maladie rénale chronique.

Le carcinome kystique multioculaire est habituellement diagnostiqué autour de l’âge de 50 ans. Cette tumeur est composée de nombreux kystes différents présents dans ses parois minces. Ces kystes sont recouverts d’une capsule qui sépare la tumeur du tissu rénal normal voisin.

Le carcinome chromophobe est composé de grosses cellules cancéreuses brun pâle qui ressemblent souvent aux couches de briques d’un mur. On le diagnostique habituellement chez des gens âgés entre 50 et 60 ans. Le carcinome chromophobe engendre un meilleur pronostic que d’autres types de cancer du rein.

Le carcinome des tubes collecteurs est une forme très rare et agressive de CCR. Il prend naissance dans les tubes situés aux extrémités des tubules de la zone médullaire (tissus internes du rein). On l’observe habituellement chez les jeunes adultes.

Les CCR inclassables sont des tumeurs qui n’entrent dans aucune catégorie de CCR. Les cellules cancéreuses semblent différentes de celles de tout autre type de CCR.

Caractéristiques du CCR

Certains CCR ont des caractéristiques distinctes (composantes histologiques) qu’on peut observer dans les cellules examinées au microscope.

On observe une composante sarcomatoïde quand les cellules cancéreuses sont longues et fusiformes. Le CCR à composante sarcomatoïde prend habituellement naissance dans un carcinome à cellules claires, mais il arrive parfois qu’il apparaisse dans un carcinome papillaire à cellules claires ou un carcinome chromophobe. C’est souvent une tumeur agressive de haut grade.

On observe une composante rhabdoïde quand les cellules cancéreuses ont la forme de bâtonnets. Leur partie centrale, ou noyau, est large et contient des poches de liquide. Le CCR à composante rhabdoïde prend habituellement naissance dans un carcinome à cellules claires. C’est une tumeur agressive dont le pronostic est sombre.

Tumeurs rares du rein

Les tumeurs cancéreuses du rein qui suivent sont rares.

Le cancer du bassinet du rein prend naissance dans les cellules qui tapissent le bassinet du rein. On observe aussi ces cellules le long du reste des voies urinaires, dont les uretères et la vessie. Le type de cancer qui apparaît dans ces cellules est appelé carcinome urothélial, ou transitionnel. On le traite comme un type de cancer de la vessie. Apprenez-en davantage sur le cancer du bassinet du rein.

Le sarcome rénal prend naissance dans les tissus conjonctifs ou les vaisseaux sanguins du rein. Il existe différents types de sarcome rénal dont le léiomyosarcome, l’angiosarcome et le rhabdomyosarcome. On les traite comme des sarcomes des tissus mous.

Le carcinome médullaire du rein prend naissance dans la zone médullaire du rein. C’est une tumeur très agressive. On le détecte le plus souvent chez les jeunes d’origine africaine porteurs du trait drépanocytaire. Les personnes qui ont ce trouble génétique ont une copie du gène qui peut causer la drépanocytose, mais elles ne sont pas atteintes de la maladie.

Le lymphome rénal primitif est une tumeur très rare dont le pronostic est sombre. Le type le plus courant est le lymphome diffus à grandes cellules B (LDGCB).

Les tumeurs neuroendocrines primitives du rein sont très rares. Les types les plus courants sont le carcinome à petites cellules et le carcinome neuroendocrinien à grandes cellules. Apprenez-en davantage sur les types de tumeurs neuroendocrines.

La tumeur de Wilms est un type de cancer du rein qu’on diagnostique habituellement chez l’enfant. Elle affecte très rarement l’adulte. Apprenez-en davantage sur la tumeur de Wilms.

bas grade

Expression qui désigne tout ce qui est relatif aux cellules cancéreuses qui ressemblent à des cellules normales et se comportent presque de la même façon (différenciées) et aux tumeurs qui ont tendance à se développer et à se propager lentement.

drépanocytose

Maladie génétique rare qui affecte l’hémoglobine (protéine des globules rouges qui transporte l’oxygène et donne la couleur rouge au sang) et fait en sorte que les globules rouges ont la forme anormale d'un croissant (aspect de faucille). Les globules rouges anormaux peuvent être endommagés facilement et mourir précocement, ce qui peut causer une anémie (diminution du nombre de globules rouges). Ils peuvent aussi obstruer les petits vaisseaux sanguins et endommager des tissus et des organes.

Cette maladie est aussi appelée anémie drépanocytaire.

Histoires

Dr Robert Day Une nouvelle stratégie thérapeutique pour le cancer de la prostate

Plus de details

D’immenses progrès ont été accomplis

Icône – flèche

Pour certains cancers, comme ceux de la thyroïde et du testicule, les taux de survie dépassent 90 pour cent. Pour d’autres cancers, comme ceux du pancréas, du cerveau et de l’œsophage, les taux de survie demeurent très bas.

Apprenez-en plus