Canadian Cancer Society logo

Kidney cancer

You are here: 

What is kidney cancer?

Kidney cancer is a malignant tumour that starts in the cells of the kidney. Malignant means that it can spread, or metastasize, to other parts of the body.

The kidney is part of the urinary system. The 2 kidneys are on either side of the backbone, deep inside the upper part of the abdomen.

On the top of each kidney is an adrenal gland. The kidneys make urine by filtering water and waste material from the blood. Inside each kidney is a network of millions of small tubes called nephrons. Each nephron is made up of a tubule and a corpuscle. Tubules are tiny tubes that collect the waste materials and chemicals. Corpuscles have a clump of tiny blood vessels that filter the blood.

Cells in the kidney sometimes change and no longer grow or behave normally. These changes may lead to benign conditions such as cysts. They can also lead to benign tumours such as renal adenoma. Benign conditions and tumours are not cancerous. But in some cases, changes to kidney cells can cause cancer.

Most often, kidney cancer starts in cells that line the tubules. This type of cancer is called renal cell carcinoma. There are several different types of renal cell carcinoma.

Rare types of kidney cancer can also develop. These include renal sarcoma and primary renal lymphoma.

Stories

Lusomé Founder and CEO Lara Smith Seeing my sister Erin – a young mother – struggle with the emotional blow and then the physical toll of cancer treatment made me want to do something to help women feel confident.

Read Lara's story

Clinical trial discovery improves quality of life

Illustration of test tubes

A clinical trial led by the Society’s NCIC Clinical Trials group found that men with prostate cancer who are treated with intermittent courses of hormone therapy live as long as those receiving continuous therapy.

Learn more

Cancer du rein

Vous êtes ici:

Qu’est-ce que le cancer du rein?

Le cancer du rein est une tumeur maligne qui prend naissance dans les cellules du rein. Le mot « maligne » signifie que la tumeur peut se propager (métastases) à d’autres parties du corps.

Le rein fait partie de l’appareil urinaire. Il y a 2 reins, 1 de chaque côté de la colonne vertébrale, tout en profondeur dans la partie supérieure de l’abdomen.

Schéma de l'emplacement des reins

Une glande surrénale se trouve au-dessus de chaque rein. Ce sont les reins qui fabriquent l’urine en filtrant l’eau et les déchets contenus dans le sang. À l’intérieur de chaque rein, il y a un réseau de millions de petits tubes appelés néphrons. Chaque néphron est constitué d’un tubule et d’un corpuscule. Les tubules sont des tubes minuscules qui recueillent les déchets et les substances chimiques. Les corpuscules contiennent une grappe de très petits vaisseaux sanguins qui filtrent le sang.

Les cellules rénales subissent parfois des changements qui rendent leur mode de croissance ou leur comportement anormal. Ces changements peuvent engendrer des affections bénignes, comme des kystes. Ils peuvent aussi entraîner la formation de tumeurs bénignes, dont l’adénome rénal. Les affections et les tumeurs bénignes ne sont pas cancéreuses. Mais dans certains cas, des modifications dans les cellules rénales peuvent causer un cancer.

Le cancer du rein apparaît le plus souvent dans les cellules qui tapissent les tubules. Ce type de cancer est appelé carcinome à cellules rénales. Il existe plusieurs types différents de carcinome à cellules rénales.

Des types rares de cancer du rein peuvent aussi se manifester. Le sarcome rénal et le lymphome rénal primitif en sont des exemples.

Histoires

Dr Vuk Stambolic Le Dr Vuk Stambolic et ses collègues se penchent sur la capacité d’un médicament antidiabétique à combattre le cancer.

Plus de details

Une meilleure qualité de vie grâce à un essai clinique

Illustration d’éprouvettes

Lors d’un essai clinique dirigé par le Groupe d’essais cliniques de l’INCC pour la Société, on a découvert que les hommes atteints d’un cancer de la prostate qui reçoivent un traitement hormonal intermittent vivent aussi longtemps que ceux dont le traitement est ininterrompu.

Apprenez-en plus