Kidney cancer

You are here: 

If kidney cancer spreads

Cancer cells can spread from the kidney to other parts of the body and develop into a new tumour. The new tumour is called a metastasis, or secondary tumour. If more than one tumour develops in another part of the body, they are called metastases.

Understanding how a type of cancer usually grows and spreads helps your healthcare team plan your treatment and future care. If kidney cancer spreads, it is most likely to spread throughout the kidney. Then it can spread through the fibrous tissue covering the kidney (called the renal capsule) and into the fat around the kidney. Kidney cancer can then spread through the fibrous tissue covering the fat around the kidney (called Gerota’s fascia).

If kidney cancer spreads outside of the kidney, it can spread to the following:

  • lymph nodes around the kidney
  • the main vein in the kidney (called the renal vein)
  • the large vein in the abdomen leading to the heart (called the vena cava)
  • adrenal glands
  • the other kidney
  • muscles in the pelvis and abdomen, such as the diaphragm
  • lungs
  • liver
  • bones
  • brain

Very rarely, kidney metastasis can disappear without any treatment. This is called a spontaneous regression. But the metastasis usually comes back, or recurs, where it disappeared. It often comes back within a few months.

Spontaneous regression sometimes happens after doctors remove a kidney with advanced cancer to help relieve pain or bleeding. This doesn’t happen very often, so surgery is not done to try to bring about a spontaneous regression.

adrenal gland

A small gland on top of each kidney that produces a variety of hormones involved in different body functions, including metabolism (the chemical processes needed for cell function, growth and reproduction), heart rate, blood pressure and controlling blood sugar levels.

diaphragm

The thin muscle below the lungs and heart that separates the chest cavity from the abdomen.

When the diaphragm contracts, the lungs expand and take in air. When it relaxes, the lungs deflate and push air out.

Stories

Researcher Dr Trang Hoang Dr Trang Hoang is targeting resistant cells in childhood leukemia.

Learn more

Reducing the burden of cancer

Icon - hand with dollar sign floating above it

Canadians can help CCS fund the best research and support people living with cancer by donating and volunteering.

Learn more

Cancer du rein

Vous êtes ici:

Si le cancer du rein se propage

Des cellules cancéreuses peuvent se propager du rein jusqu’à d’autres parties du corps et former une nouvelle tumeur. Cette nouvelle tumeur est appelée métastase ou tumeur secondaire. Si plus d’une tumeur se forme dans une autre partie du corps, on parle de métastases au pluriel.

Comprendre comment un type de cancer a l’habitude de croître et de se propager aide votre équipe de soins à planifier votre traitement et vos soins futurs. Si le cancer du rein se propage, il est plus susceptible de le faire dans tout le rein. Il peut ensuite se propager à travers le tissu fibreux qui recouvre le rein, soit la capsule rénale, jusqu’à la graisse entourant la capsule rénale. Le cancer du rein peut alors se propager à travers le tissu fibreux recouvrant la graisse, soit le fascia de Gerota.

Si le cancer du rein se propage hors du rein, il peut le faire dans les structures suivantes :

  • ganglions lymphatiques qui entourent le rein;
  • veine principale du rein (veine rénale);
  • grosse veine de l'abdomen qui mène au cœur (veine cave);
  • glandes surrénales;
  • autre rein;
  • muscles du bassin et de l’abdomen, comme le diaphragme;
  • poumons;
  • foie;
  • os;
  • cerveau.

Il arrive très rarement que les métastases au rein disparaissent sans traitement. C’est une régression spontanée. Mais, habituellement, elles réapparaissent, ou récidivent, là où elles ont disparu. Elles le font souvent en quelques mois.

La régression spontanée se produit parfois après que le médecin ait enlevé le rein atteint d’un cancer avancé par chirurgie dans le but de soulager la douleur ou de stopper un saignement. Puisqu’elle est si rare, on ne pratique pas la chirurgie pour tenter de déclencher une régression spontanée.

glande surrénale

Petite glande située au-dessus de chaque rein qui produit diverses hormones participant à différentes fonctions corporelles, dont le métabolisme (processus chimiques nécessaires au fonctionnement, à la croissance et à la reproduction des cellules), la fréquence cardiaque, la pression artérielle et le contrôle du taux de sucre sanguin.

diaphragme

Muscle mince situé sous les poumons et le coeur séparant la cavité thoracique de l’abdomen.

Lorsque le diaphragme se contracte, les poumons prennent de l’expansion et se remplissent d’air. Lorsqu’il se dilate, les poumons s’affaissent et poussent l’air vers l’extérieur.

Histoires

Dr Daniel De Carvalho Déjouer les cellules souches cancéreuses pour stopper leur croissance

Plus de details

Faire avancer la lutte contre le cancer

Icône – flèche

Le taux de survie au cancer après cinq ans a augmenté, passant de 25 pour cent dans les années 1940 à 60 pour cent aujourd’hui.

Apprenez-en plus