Hypopharyngeal cancer

You are here: 

What is hypopharyngeal cancer?

Hypopharyngeal cancer is a malignant tumour that starts in the cells of the hypopharynx. Malignant means that it can spread, or metastasize, to other parts of the body.

The hypopharynx is part of the pharynx, or the throat. The pharynx is part of the digestive and respiratory systems. It is divided into 3 parts. The nasopharynx is the top part of the pharynx. The oropharynx is the middle part of the pharynx. The hypopharynx is the bottom part of the pharynx, leading to the esophagus.

Cells in the hypopharynx sometimes change and no longer grow or behave normally. These changes may lead to benign conditions such as Plummer-Vinson syndrome, Zenker’s diverticulum or cysts. They can also lead to benign tumours such as benign tumours of the minor salivary glands or lipomas. Benign conditions and tumours are not cancerous. But in some cases, changes to cells of the hypopharynx can cause cancer.

Most often, hypopharyngeal cancer starts in flat, thin cells called squamous cells. These cells line the inside of the hypopharynx. This type of cancer is called squamous cell carcinoma of the hypopharynx.

Rare types of hypopharyngeal cancer can also develop. These include minor salivary gland carcinomas and neuroendocrine tumours.

Location of the Pharynx

Stories

Dr Senthil Muthuswamy Pancreatic tumours in a dish

Read more

Funding world-class research

Icon - paper

Cancer affects all Canadians but together we can reduce the burden by investing in research and prevention efforts. Learn about the impact of our funded research.

Learn more

Cancer de l'hypopharynx

Vous êtes ici:

Qu’est-ce que le cancer de l’hypopharynx?

Le cancer de l’hypopharynx est une tumeur maligne qui prend naissance dans les cellules de l’hypopharynx. Le mot « maligne » signifie que la tumeur peut se propager (métastases) à d’autres parties du corps.

L’hypopharynx fait partie du pharynx, soit la gorge. Le pharynx fait partie des appareils digestif et respiratoire. Il est divisé en 3 parties. Le nasopharynx forme le haut du pharynx. L’oropharynx est la partie centrale du pharynx. L’hypopharynx forme le bas du pharynx et mène à l’œsophage.

Les cellules de l’hypopharynx subissent parfois des changements qui rendent leur mode de croissance ou leur comportement anormal. Ces changements peuvent engendrer des affections bénignes comme le syndrome de Plummer-Vinson, le diverticule de Zenker ou des kystes. Ils peuvent aussi causer la formation de tumeurs bénignes comme la tumeur bénigne des glandes salivaires accessoires et le lipome. Les affections et les tumeurs bénignes ne sont pas cancéreuses. Mais dans certains cas, les cellules modifiées de l’hypopharynx peuvent devenir cancéreuses.

Le cancer de l’hypopharynx se développe le plus souvent dans des cellules plates et minces appelées cellules pavimenteuses. Ces cellules tapissent l’intérieur de l’hypopharynx. Ce type de cancer porte le nom de carcinome épidermoïde de l’hypopharynx.

Des types rares de cancers de l’hypopharynx peuvent aussi se manifester. Le carcinome des glandes salivaires accessoires et la tumeur neuroendocrine en sont des exemples.

Histoires

Dr Jessie Lee-McIsaac Prévenir le cancer par des politiques de vie saine en milieu scolaire

Plus de details

D’immenses progrès ont été accomplis

Icône – flèche

Pour certains cancers, comme ceux de la thyroïde et du testicule, les taux de survie dépassent 90 pour cent. Pour d’autres cancers, comme ceux du pancréas, du cerveau et de l’œsophage, les taux de survie demeurent très bas.

Apprenez-en plus