Hodgkin lymphoma

You are here: 

If Hodgkin lymphoma spreads

Hodgkin lymphoma (HL) cells can spread from the lymph nodes where the cancer started to other parts of the body. This spread is called metastasis.

Understanding how a type of cancer usually grows and spreads helps your healthcare team plan your treatment and future care. HL usually spreads in a predictable way, starting with the closest lymph nodes. This is unlike non-Hodgkin lymphomas (NHLs), which don’t spread in a predictable way.

If HL spreads, it can spread to the following:

  • other groups of lymph nodes
  • spleen
  • liver
  • lungs and pleura
  • bone marrow
  • bones
  • skin
  • central nervous system (CNS)

pleura

The thin layer of tissue that covers the lungs and lines the chest cavity. It protects and cushions the lungs and produces a fluid that acts like a lubricant so the lungs can move smoothly in the chest cavity.

Stories

Morgan Smith Even though we are high school students, we were able to raise so much money for the Canadian Cancer Society. It just goes to show what can happen when a small group of people come together for a great cause.

Read Morgan's story

What’s the lifetime risk of getting cancer?

Icon - 1 in 2

The latest Canadian Cancer Statistics report shows about half of Canadians are expected to be diagnosed with cancer in their lifetime.

Learn more

Lymphome
hodgkinien

Vous êtes ici:

Si le lymphome hodgkinien se propage

Des cellules du lymphome hodgkinien (LH) peuvent se propager des ganglions lymphatiques où le cancer a pris naissance jusqu’à d’autres parties du corps. Cette propagation porte le nom de métastase.

Comprendre comment un type de cancer a tendance à croître et à se propager aide votre équipe de soins à planifier votre traitement et vos soins futurs. Le LH se propage généralement de façon prévisible, envahissant d’abord les ganglions lymphatiques les plus proches. À l’inverse, le lymphome non hodgkinien (LNH) ne se propage pas de façon prévisible.

SI le LH se propage, il peut le faire dans les structures suivantes :

  • autres groupes de ganglions lymphatiques
  • rate
  • foie
  • poumon et plèvre
  • moelle osseuse
  • os
  • peau
  • système nerveux central (SNC)

plèvre

Fine membrane de tissu qui recouvre les poumons et tapisse la cavité thoracique. Elle a une fonction de protection et d’amortissement des poumons et produit un liquide qui agit comme un lubrifiant afin que les poumons puissent bouger doucement à l'intérieur de la cage thoracique.

Histoires

Sarah Metcalfe Il est primordial que la Société canadienne du cancer offre du soutien et finance la recherche.

Lisez l'histoire de Sarah

Passer à l’action contre tous les cancers

Icône – point d’interrogation

Le plus récent rapport Statistiques canadiennes sur le cancer révèle que les cancers du poumon, colorectal, du sein et de la prostate devraient représenter la moitié de tous les nouveaux cas de cancer diagnostiqués en 2017. Découvrez ce que vous pouvez faire pour réduire le fardeau du cancer.

Apprenez-en plus