Canadian Cancer Society logo

Gallbladder cancer

You are here: 

Staging gallbladder cancer

Staging is a way of describing or classifying a cancer based on the extent of cancer in the body. Extent includes the size of the tumour and where the cancer is in the body. The cancer may grow into the wall of the gallbladder and spread into nearby organs and lymph nodes or other parts of the body. Your healthcare team uses the stage to plan treatment and estimate your prognosis.

The most common staging system for gallbladder cancer is the TNM system. Each stage is given a number from 0 to 4. Stages 1 to 4 are usually given as the Roman numerals I, II, III and IV. Generally, the higher the number, the more the cancer has spread.

When describing the stage, doctors may use the terms local, regional and distant. Local means that the cancer is only in the gallbladder and has not spread to other parts of the body. Regional means close to or around the gallbladder. Distant means in a part of the body farther from the gallbladder.

TNM descriptions

T describes where the primary tumour has grown into the gallbladder wall and other tissues around the gallbladder. T is usually given as a number from 0 to 4. A higher number means that the tumour has grown farther into nearby tissues.

 

N describes whether or not cancer has spread to lymph nodes around the gallbladder. N0 means the cancer hasn’t spread to the lymph nodes. N1 means cancer has spread to the lymph nodes.

 

M describes whether or not the cancer has spread (metastasized) to other parts of the body. M0 means that cancer has not spread to other parts of the body. M1 means that it has spread to other parts of the body.

Stage 0 (or carcinoma in situ)
TNMDescription

Tis

N0

M0

Cancer is found only on the innermost surface of the gallbladder, without growing into the wall.

Stage I
TNMDescription

T1a or T1b

N0

M0

The tumour has grown into the wall of the gallbladder (lamina propria or the muscular layer).

Stage II
TNMDescription

T2

N0

M0

The tumour has grown into the perimuscular layer (connective tissue that covers the muscular layer).

Stage IIIA
TNMDescription

T3

N0

M0

The tumour has grown through the outer surface of the gallbladder (serosa) or has spread to the liver or one other nearby organ.

Stage IIIB
TNMDescription

T1, T2 or T3

N1

M0

The tumour has grown through the outer surface of the gallbladder (serosa) or has spread to the liver or one other nearby organ. It has also spread to nearby lymph nodes.

Stage IVA
TNMDescription

T4

Any N

M0

The tumour has spread to a main blood vessel leading to the liver or to 2 or more nearby organs other than the liver.

The cancer may or may not have spread to nearby lymph nodes.

Stage IVB
TNMDescription

any T

any N

M1

The cancer has spread to organs far away from the gallbladder. The cancer may or may not have spread to nearby lymph nodes.

Recurrent gallbladder cancer

Recurrent gallbladder cancer means that the cancer has come back after it has been treated. If it comes back in the same place that the cancer first started, it’s called local recurrence. If it comes back in tissues or lymph nodes close to the primary tumour, it’s called regional recurrence. It can also recur in another part of the body, which is called a distant metastasis, or a a distant recurrence.

Stories

Helen Storey Thanks to her legacy to ovarian cancer research, Helen Storey is still looking after others.

Read Helen's story

Facing the financial burden of cancer

Illustration of coins

The Canadian Cancer Society provides helpful information about government income programs, financial resources and other resources available to families struggling to make sense of the personal financial burden they face.

Learn more

Logo Société canadienne du cancer

Cancer de la vésicule biliaire

Vous êtes ici:

Stadification du cancer de la vésicule biliaire

La stadification est une façon de décrire ou de classer un cancer selon l’étendue de la maladie dans le corps. L’étendue comprend la taille de la tumeur et l’emplacement du cancer dans l’organisme. Le cancer peut envahir la paroi de la vésicule biliaire et se propager aux organes et aux ganglions lymphatiques voisins ou à d’autres parties du corps. Votre équipe de soins se fonde sur le stade pour planifier votre traitement et évaluer votre pronostic.

Le système de stadification le plus souvent employé dans le cas du cancer de la vésicule biliaire est la classification TNM. On assigne un numéro de 0 à 4 à chaque stade. Pour les stades de 1 à 4, on utilise habituellement les chiffres romains, soit I, II, III et IV. En général, plus le numéro est élevé, plus le cancer s’est propagé.

Quand les médecins décrivent le stade, ils peuvent employer des mots comme local, régional et distant. Local signifie que le cancer se trouve seulement dans la vésicule biliaire et qu’il ne s’est pas propagé à d’autres parties du corps. Régional signifie que le cancer s’est répandu près ou autour de la vésicule biliaire. Distant signifie que le cancer s’est propagé à une partie du corps éloignée de la vésicule biliaire.

Descriptions de la classification TNM

T décrit l’endroit où la tumeur primitive a envahi la paroi de la vésicule biliaire et les tissus qui entourent cet organe. T est habituellement classé de 0 à 4. Un numéro plus élevé signifie que la tumeur s’est développée plus en profondeur dans les tissus voisins.

 

N décrit la propagation du cancer aux ganglions lymphatiques entourant la vésicule biliaire. N0 signifie que le cancer ne s’est pas propagé aux ganglions lymphatiques. N1 signifie que le cancer s’est propagé aux ganglions lymphatiques.

 

M décrit la propagation du cancer à d’autres parties du corps (métastases). M0 signifie que le cancer ne s’est pas propagé à d’autres parties du corps. M1 signifie que le cancer s’est propagé à d’autres parties du corps.

Stade 0 (carcinome in situ)
Classification TNMDescription

Tis

N0

M0

On observe le cancer seulement sur la surface la plus interne de la vésicule biliaire, sans envahissement de la paroi.

Stade I
Classification TNMDescription

T1a ou T1b

N0

M0

La tumeur a envahi la paroi de la vésicule biliaire (lamina propria ou couche musculaire).

Stade II
Classification TNMDescription

T2

N0

M0

La tumeur a envahi la couche périmusculaire (tissu conjonctif qui recouvre la couche musculaire).

Stade IIIA
Classification TNMDescription

T3

N0

M0

La tumeur a traversé la surface externe de la vésicule biliaire (séreuse) ou s’est propagée au foie ou à un autre organe voisin.

Stade IIIB
Classification TNMDescription

T1, T2 ou T3

N1

M0

La tumeur a traversé la surface externe de la vésicule biliaire (séreuse) ou s’est propagée au foie ou à un autre organe voisin. Elle s’est aussi propagée aux ganglions lymphatiques avoisinants.

Stade IVA
Classification TNMDescription

T4

Tout N

M0

La tumeur s’est propagée à un vaisseau sanguin principal menant au foie ou à 2 ou plusieurs organes voisins autres que le foie.

Le cancer peut s’être propagé ou non aux ganglions lymphatiques avoisinants.

Stade IVB
Classification TNMDescription

Tout T

Tout N

M1

Le cancer s’est propagé à des organes éloignés de la vésicule biliaire. Le cancer peut s’être propagé ou non aux ganglions lymphatiques avoisinants.

Cancer de la vésicule biliaire récidivant

Une récidive du cancer de la vésicule biliaire signifie que le cancer réapparaît à la suite du traitement. S’il réapparaît à l’endroit où il a d’abord pris naissance, on parle de récidive locale. S’il réapparaît dans des tissus ou des ganglions lymphatiques situés près de la tumeur primitive, on parle de récidive régionale. Le cancer peut aussi réapparaître dans une autre partie du corps : on parle alors de récidive à distance (ou métastase à distance).

Histoires

Dr Christopher Phenix Le Dr Christopher Phenix a conçu un nouvel outil pour surveiller les formes agressives de cancer.

Plus de details

Une meilleure qualité de vie grâce à un essai clinique

Illustration d’éprouvettes

Lors d’un essai clinique dirigé par le Groupe d’essais cliniques de l’INCC pour la Société, on a découvert que les hommes atteints d’un cancer de la prostate qui reçoivent un traitement hormonal intermittent vivent aussi longtemps que ceux dont le traitement est ininterrompu.

Apprenez-en plus