Eye cancer

You are here: 

Active surveillance for eye cancer

Active surveillance may be a treatment option for some people with eye cancer who are not experiencing symptoms. Active surveillance means the healthcare team watches the cancer closely. Treatment is given when the signs and symptoms of eye cancer appear or change.

Small, slow-growing melanomas in the iris, ciliary body or choroid may not need treatment right away if they appear to be stable. Smaller tumours are less than 2.5 mm (about 0.1 inches) in height (thickness) and less than 10 mm (0.4 inch) in diameter (largest diameter measured at the base of the tumour). Treatment is given if the tumour starts to get bigger and causes vision problems.

Active surveillance is not known to have negative effects or to reduce long-term survival.

Stories

Harold Johns His amazing career and legacy live on today, inspiring a new generation of scientists who are discovering new ways to harness the power of medical imaging to improve cancer diagnosis and treatment.

Read Harold's story

Help for smokers trying to quit

Illustration of no smoking symbol

It’s okay to need help to quit smoking. The Canadian Cancer Society is here to support people who are ready to quit and even those people who aren’t ready.

Learn more

Logo Société canadienne du cancer

Cancer de l’œil

Vous êtes ici:

Surveillance active du cancer de l’œil

La surveillance active peut être une option de traitement pour certaines personnes qui sont atteintes d’un cancer de l’œil et qui ne présentent aucun symptôme. La surveillance active consiste pour l’équipe soignante à observer attentivement la personne atteinte de cancer. On administre le traitement dès que les signes et symptômes du cancer de l’œil apparaissent ou changent.

Les petits mélanomes de l’iris, du corps ciliaire ou de la choroïde se développant lentement peuvent ne pas nécessiter de traitement immédiat s’ils semblent stables. Les petites tumeurs mesurent moins de 2,5 mm (environ 0,1 pouce) de hauteur (épaisseur) et moins de 10 mm (0,4 pouce) de diamètre (le plus grand diamètre mesuré à la base de la tumeur). On administre un traitement si la tumeur commence à grossir et cause des problèmes de vision.

La surveillance active n’est pas reconnue pour causer des effets négatifs ni pour réduire la survie à long terme.

Histoires

Dr Roger Zemp Le Dr Roger Zemp a conçu une technique innovatrice de suivi des cellules cancéreuses.

Plus de details

Une meilleure qualité de vie grâce à un essai clinique

Illustration d’éprouvettes

Lors d’un essai clinique dirigé par le Groupe d’essais cliniques de l’INCC pour la Société, on a découvert que les hommes atteints d’un cancer de la prostate qui reçoivent un traitement hormonal intermittent vivent aussi longtemps que ceux dont le traitement est ininterrompu.

Apprenez-en plus