Eye cancer

You are here: 

Active surveillance for eye cancer

Active surveillance may be a treatment option for some people with eye cancer who are not experiencing symptoms. Active surveillance means the healthcare team watches the cancer closely. Treatment is given when the signs and symptoms of eye cancer appear or change.

Small, slow-growing melanomas in the iris, ciliary body or choroid may not need treatment right away if they appear to be stable. Smaller tumours are less than 2.5 mm (about 0.1 inches) in height (thickness) and less than 10 mm (0.4 inch) in diameter (largest diameter measured at the base of the tumour). Treatment is given if the tumour starts to get bigger and causes vision problems.

Active surveillance is not known to have negative effects or to reduce long-term survival.

Stories

Rosemary Pedlar After seeing a Canadian Cancer Society call for volunteers in a newspaper, Rosemary knew that this was her opportunity to get started.

Read Rosemary's story

Facing the financial burden of cancer

Illustration of coins

The Canadian Cancer Society provides helpful information about government income programs, financial resources and other resources available to families struggling to make sense of the personal financial burden they face.

Learn more

Cancer de l’œil

Vous êtes ici:

Surveillance active du cancer de l’œil

La surveillance active peut être une option de traitement pour certaines personnes qui sont atteintes d’un cancer de l’œil et qui ne présentent aucun symptôme. La surveillance active consiste pour l’équipe soignante à observer attentivement la personne atteinte de cancer. On administre le traitement dès que les signes et symptômes du cancer de l’œil apparaissent ou changent.

Les petits mélanomes de l’iris, du corps ciliaire ou de la choroïde se développant lentement peuvent ne pas nécessiter de traitement immédiat s’ils semblent stables. Les petites tumeurs mesurent moins de 2,5 mm (environ 0,1 pouce) de hauteur (épaisseur) et moins de 10 mm (0,4 pouce) de diamètre (le plus grand diamètre mesuré à la base de la tumeur). On administre un traitement si la tumeur commence à grossir et cause des problèmes de vision.

La surveillance active n’est pas reconnue pour causer des effets négatifs ni pour réduire la survie à long terme.

Histoires

Robert Heimbecker Les enfants ne devraient pas s’inquiéter à propos de chirurgie et de chimiothérapie.

Plus de details

Une célébration pour les survivants du cancer au Relais pour la vie

Illustration du Relais pour la vie

La Société canadienne du cancer fournit une occasion en or de célébrer le courage des survivants du cancer dans la bataille contre la maladie. Lors des centaines d’événements du Relais pour la vie qui ont lieu d’un bout à l’autre du pays, des milliers de gens se réunissent pour effectuer le Tour des survivants.

Apprenez-en plus