Eye cancer

You are here: 

Cancerous tumours of the eye

A cancerous tumour of the eye can grow into and destroy nearby tissue. Cancerous tumours are also called malignant tumours. It can also spread (metastasize) to other parts of the body. Most cancers of the eye have spread there from another area of the body, such as the breast or the lung. This is called an eye metastasis. The following information describes cancer that starts in the eye (called primary eye cancer).

Melanoma of the eye

Like melanoma of the skin, melanoma of the eye develops from cells called melanocytes. Melanocytes make melanin, the substance that gives colour to the eyes, skin and hair. Melanoma of the eye can affect the:

  • eyeball – called intraocular melanoma
  • conjunctiva – called conjunctival melanoma
  • eyelid – a type of melanoma of the skin
  • eye socket (orbit) – called orbital melanoma

Intraocular melanoma

Intraocular melanoma is the most common type of eye cancer in adults and accounts for about 5% of all melanomas. Most intraocular melanomas start in the uvea and are called uveal melanoma. Uveal melanoma is divided into anterior uveal melanoma and posterior uveal melanoma. Anterior uveal melanoma affects the iris in the front (anterior) part of the eye. Posterior uveal melanoma affects structures behind the front part of the eye in either the choroid or the ciliary body. Most uveal melanomas start in the choroid so you may also hear the term choroidal melanoma.

The most common types of cells in intraocular melanoma are spindle cells and epithelioid cells. Spindle cells are long and flat and epithelioid cells are round. People with intraocular melanoma often have both types of cells.

Intraocular melanoma is treated differently than melanoma that affects other parts of the eye, such as the conjunctiva or eyelid.

Lymphoma of the eye

Lymphoma of the eye (also called ocular lymphoma) is the 2nd most common type of eye cancer. Lymphoma of the eye is most often a type of non-Hodgkin lymphoma that develops from lymphocytes. Lymphoma of the eye can affect the:

  • eyeball – called intraocular lymphoma
  • eye socket – called orbital lymphoma
  • eyelid
  • conjunctiva
  • tear (lacrimal) gland

Retinoblastoma

Retinoblastoma is the most common eye cancer in children. Find out more about retinoblastoma.

Rare tumours of the eye

The following cancerous tumours of the eye are rare:

Squamous cell carcinoma (SCC) of the eye most often starts in the conjunctiva and the eyelid. SCC is the most common type of cancer of the conjunctiva. SCC of the eyelid is a type of non-melanoma skin cancer.

Basal cell carcinoma (BCC) of the eye usually starts in the eyelid and is the most common type of cancer of the eyelid. BCC of the eyelid is also a type of non-melanoma skin cancer.

Sebaceous carcinoma of the eyelid develops most often on the upper eyelid close to the eyelash line. It is a cancer of the sebaceous glands. These are glands that release an oily substance into tears.

Adenoid cystic carcinoma is the most common type of cancer of the lacrimal (tear) gland. Adenoid cystic carcinoma is a type of adenocarcinoma that starts in gland cells.

Orbital sarcoma is a type of soft tissue sarcoma that starts in the orbit (eye socket). It can start in the muscles that move the eye and it most often affects children.

 

lymphocyte

A type of white blood cell that fights viruses, bacteria, foreign substances or abnormal cells (including cancer cells).

The 3 types of lymphocytes are B cells, T cells and natural killer (NK) cells.

Stories

Robert Heimbecker Kids shouldn’t have to worry about surgery and chemotherapy.

Read Robert's story

Together we can reduce the burden of cancer

Icon - beaker

Last year, we only had the resources available to fund 40% of high-priority research projects. Imagine the impact we could have if we were able to fund 100%.

Learn more

Cancer de l’œil

Vous êtes ici:

Tumeurs cancéreuses de l’œil

Une tumeur cancéreuse de l’œil peut envahir les tissus voisins et les détruire. La tumeur cancéreuse est aussi appelée tumeur maligne. Elle peut également se propager (métastases) à d’autres parties du corps. La plupart des cancers à l’œil s’y sont propagés à partir d’une autre région du corps, comme le sein ou le poumon. C’est ce qu’on appelle une métastase oculaire. Les renseignements suivants se rapportent aux cancers qui prennent naissance dans l’œil, c’est-à-dire des cancers primitifs de l’œil.

Mélanome de l’œil

Tout comme le mélanome de la peau, le mélanome de l’œil prend naissance dans les cellules appelées mélanocytes. Les mélanocytes fabriquent la mélanine, c’est-à-dire la substance qui donne la couleur aux yeux, à la peau, aux poils et aux cheveux. Le mélanome de l’œil peut atteindre les structures suivantes :

  • globe oculaire (mélanome intraoculaire)
  • conjonctive (mélanome conjonctival)
  • paupière (type de mélanome de la peau)
  • orbite, ou cavité orbitaire (mélanome orbitaire)

Mélanome intraoculaire

Le mélanome intraoculaire est le type le plus courant de cancer de l’œil chez l’adulte et il représente environ 5 % de tous les mélanomes. La plupart des mélanomes intraoculaires prennent naissance dans l’uvée et sont appelés mélanome uvéal. Le mélanome uvéal est divisé en mélanome uvéal antérieur et en mélanome uvéal postérieur. Le mélanome uvéal antérieur atteint l’iris situé dans la partie avant (antérieure) de l’œil. Le mélanome uvéal postérieur atteint les structures situées derrière la partie avant de l’œil, soit la choroïde ou le corps ciliaire. La plupart des mélanomes uvéaux prennent naissance dans la choroïde, alors vous pourriez aussi entendre le terme mélanome choroïdien.

Les types de cellules les plus fréquents dans le mélanome intraoculaire sont les cellules fusiformes et les cellules épithélioïdes. Les cellules fusiformes sont longues et plates tandis que les cellules épithélioïdes sont rondes. Le mélanome intraoculaire contient souvent ces deux types de cellules.

On traite le mélanome intraoculaire différemment du mélanome qui affecte d’autres parties de l’œil comme la conjonctive ou la paupière.

Lymphome de l’œil

Le lymphome de l’œil, aussi appelé lymphome oculaire, est le 2e type de cancer de l’œil le plus courant. Le lymphome de l’œil est généralement un type de lymphome non hodgkinien qui prend naissance dans les lymphocytes. Le lymphome de l’œil peut atteindre les structures suivantes :

  • globe oculaire (lymphome intraoculaire)
  • orbite (lymphome orbitaire)
  • paupière
  • conjonctive
  • glande lacrymale

Rétinoblastome

Le rétinoblastome est le cancer de l’œil qui affecte le plus les enfants. Apprenez-en davantage sur le rétinoblastome.

Tumeurs rares de l’œil

Les tumeurs cancéreuses de l’œil qui suivent sont rares.

Le carcinome épidermoïde, ou spinocellulaire, de l’œil prend le plus souvent naissance dans la conjonctive ou la paupière. Le carcinome épidermoïde de l’œil est le type le plus courant de cancer de la conjonctive. Le carcinome épidermoïde de la paupière est un type de cancer de la peau autre que le mélanome.

Le carcinome basocellulaire (CBC) de l’œil prend habituellement naissance dans la paupière et c’est le type le plus courant de cancer de la paupière. Le CBC de la paupière est également un type de cancer de la peau autre que le mélanome.

Le carcinome sébacé de la paupière apparaît le plus souvent sur la paupière supérieure, près de la ligne des cils. C’est un cancer des glandes sébacées. Ces glandes sécrètent une substance huileuse dans les larmes.

Le carcinome adénoïde kystique est le type le plus courant de cancer de la glande lacrymale. Le carcinome adénoïde kystique est un type d’adénocarcinome qui prend naissance dans les cellules glandulaires.

Le sarcome orbitaire est un type de sarcome des tissus mous qui prend naissance dans l’orbite (cavité orbitaire). Il peut apparaître dans les muscles qui déplacent l’œil et il affecte le plus souvent les enfants.

lymphocyte

Type de globule blanc qui a pour fonction de combattre les virus, les bactéries, les substances étrangères ou les cellules anormales, y compris les cellules cancéreuses.

Les 3 types de lymphocyte sont les cellules B, les cellules T et les cellules tueuses naturelles, ou cellules NK.

Histoires

Hannah Toutefois, pouvoir aller au camp Goodtimes tous ensemble en famille nous a aidé.

Lisez l'histoire de Hannah

Faire avancer la lutte contre le cancer

Icône – flèche

Le taux de survie au cancer après cinq ans a augmenté, passant de 25 pour cent dans les années 1940 à 60 pour cent aujourd’hui.

Apprenez-en plus