Colorectal cancer

You are here: 

Stages of colorectal cancer

Staging describes or classifies a cancer based on how much cancer there is in the body and where it is when first diagnosed. This is often called the extent of cancer. Information from tests is used to find out the size of the tumour, which parts of the colon or rectum have cancer, whether the cancer has spread from where it first started and where the cancer has spread. Your healthcare team uses the stage to plan treatment and estimate the outcome (your prognosis).

The most common staging system for colorectal cancer is the TNM system. For colorectal cancer there are 5 stages – stage 0 followed by stages 1 to 4. Often the stages 1 to 4 are written as the Roman numerals I, II, III and IV. Generally, the higher the stage number, the more the cancer has spread. Talk to your doctor if you have questions about staging.

When describing the stage, doctors may use the words local, regional or distant. Local means that the cancer is only in the colon or rectum and has not spread to other parts of the body. Regional means close to or around the colon or rectum. Distant means in a part of the body farther from the colon or rectum.

Find out more about staging cancer.

The colon and rectum are made up of different layers of tissues. The stage often depends on which layer the tumour has grown into.

Diagram of the layers of the colon and rectum

Stage 0 (carcinoma in situ)

The cancer cells are only in the inner lining of the colon or rectum (mucosa). They may be in the epithelium, or they may have grown into the layer of connective tissue of the mucosa. The cancer cells have not grown past the muscle layer of the mucosa.

Stage 1

The tumour has grown into the layer of connective tissue that surrounds the mucosa (submucosa) or into the thick outer muscle layer of the colon or rectum (muscularis propria).

Stage 2

Stage 2 can be divided into stages 2A, 2B and 2C.

For stage 2A, the tumour has grown into the layer of tissue between the muscularis propria and serosa, or it has grown into tissues beyond the muscularis propria (when there is no serosa).

For stage 2B, the tumour has grown through the membrane that covers and supports the colon and rectum (called the serosa or visceral peritoneum).

For stage 2C, the tumour has grown through the wall of the colon or rectum and into other organs or areas, such as the bladder, prostate or uterus.

Stage 3

There are cancer cells in lymph nodes near the colon or rectum. Stage 3 can be divided into stages 3A, 3B and 3C depending on where the tumour has grown and how many lymph nodes have cancer.

Stage 4

The cancer has spread to other parts of the body (called distant metastasis), such as to the liver or lungs. This is also called metastatic colorectal cancer. The cancer may be in only 1 organ or in distant lymph nodes (stage 4A). It may be in more than 1 organ (stage 4B). The cancer may be in the peritoneum (stage 4C).

Recurrent colorectal cancer

Recurrent colorectal cancer means that the cancer has come back after it has been treated. If it comes back in the same place that the cancer first started, it’s called local recurrence. If it comes back in tissues or lymph nodes close to where it first started, it’s called regional recurrence. It can also recur in another part of the body. This is called distant metastasis or distant recurrence.

epithelium

A tissue made up of epithelial cells. It makes up the surface of the skin. It also lines hollow areas of the body (called cavities), glands and the passages of the respiratory, digestive, reproductive and urinary systems.

peritoneum

The membrane that lines the walls of the abdomen and pelvis (parietal peritoneum), and covers and supports most of the abdominal organs (visceral peritoneum).

Stories

Brock Taraba Brock has been cancer free for over a decade, thanks to the support we received from the Canadian Cancer Society.

Read Brock's story

How can you stop cancer before it starts?

It's My Life! icon

Discover how your lifestyle choices can affect cancer risk and how you can take action with our interactive tool – It’s My Life!

Learn more

Cancer colorectal

Vous êtes ici:

Stades du cancer colorectal

La stadification décrit ou classe un cancer en fonction de la quantité de cancer présente dans le corps et de son emplacement lors du diagnostic initial. C’est ce qu’on appelle souvent l’étendue du cancer. On se sert de l’information révélée par les examens pour savoir quelle est la taille de la tumeur, quelles parties du côlon ou du rectum sont atteintes par le cancer, si le cancer s’est propagé à partir de son lieu d’origine et où il s’est propagé. Votre équipe de soins a recours au stade pour planifier votre traitement et prévoir l’issue (votre pronostic).

Le système de stadification le plus fréquemment employé pour le cancer colorectal est la classification TNM. Dans le cas du cancer colorectal, il y a 5 stades, soit le stade 0 suivi des stades 1 à 4. Pour les stades 1 à 4, on utilise souvent les chiffres romains I, II, III et IV. Mais dans le but de rendre le texte plus clair, nous emploierons les chiffres arabes 1, 2, 3 et 4. En général, plus le numéro du stade est élevé, plus le cancer s’est propagé. Parlez à votre médecin si vous vous posez des questions sur la stadification.

Quand les médecins décrivent le stade, ils peuvent employer les mots local, régional ou distant. Local signifie que le cancer se trouve seulement dans le côlon ou le rectum et qu’il ne s’est pas propagé à d’autres parties du corps. Régional signifie près ou autour du côlon ou du rectum. Distant signifie dans une partie du corps plus éloignée du côlon ou du rectum.

Apprenez-en davantage sur la stadification du cancer.

Le côlon et le rectum sont constitués de différentes couches de tissus. Le stade dépend souvent de la couche de tissu qui est envahie par la tumeur.

Schéma des couches du côlon et du rectum

Stade 0 (carcinome in situ)

Les cellules cancéreuses se trouvent seulement dans le revêtement interne (muqueuse) du côlon ou du rectum. On pourrait les observer dans l’épithélium, ou elles pourraient avoir envahi la couche de tissu conjonctif de la muqueuse. Les cellules cancéreuses ne se sont pas développées au-delà de la couche musculaire de la muqueuse.

Stade 1

La tumeur a envahi la couche de tissu conjonctif qui entoure la muqueuse, soit la sous-muqueuse, ou la couche musculaire externe épaisse du côlon ou du rectum appelée musculeuse.

Stade 2

On peut diviser le stade 2 en stades 2A, 2B et 2C.

Dans le cas du stade 2A, la tumeur a envahi la couche de tissu située entre la musculeuse et la séreuse ou bien elle a envahi des tissus au-delà de la musculeuse, là où il n’y a pas de séreuse.

Dans le cas du stade 2B, la tumeur a traversé la membrane qui recouvre et soutient le côlon et le rectum (séreuse ou péritoine viscéral).

Dans le cas du stade 2C, la tumeur a traversé la paroi du côlon ou du rectum jusqu’à d’autres organes ou régions du corps, comme la vessie, la prostate ou l’utérus.

Stade 3

On observe des cellules cancéreuses dans les ganglions lymphatiques situés près du côlon ou du rectum. On peut diviser le stade 3 en stades 3A, 3B et 3C selon l’étendue de la tumeur et le nombre de ganglions lymphatiques atteints par le cancer.

Stade 4

Le cancer s’est propagé à d’autres parties du corps (métastases à distance), comme au foie ou aux poumons. On parle aussi de cancer colorectal métastatique. Le cancer peut avoir atteint 1 seul organe ou des ganglions lymphatiques éloignés (stade 4A). Le cancer peut avoir atteint plus d’un organe (stade 4B). Le cancer peut avoir atteint le péritoine (stade 4C).

Récidive de cancer colorectal

La récidive d'un cancer colorectal signifie que le cancer réapparaît à la suite du traitement. S’il réapparaît à l’endroit où il a d’abord pris naissance, on parle de récidive locale. S’il réapparaît dans des tissus ou des ganglions lymphatiques situés près de l’endroit où il a d’abord pris naissance, on parle de récidive régionale. Il peut aussi réapparaître dans une autre partie du corps : on parle alors de récidive ou de métastase à distance.

épithélium

Tissu fait de cellules épithéliales. Il forme la surface de la peau. Il tapisse aussi les régions creuses du corps appelées cavités, les glandes et les voies de passage des appareils respiratoire, digestif, reproducteur et urinaire.

péritoine

Membrane qui tapisse les parois internes de la cavité abdominale et pelvienne (péritoine pariétal) et qui recouvre et soutient la plupart des organes abdominaux (péritoine viscéral).

Histoires

Désormais, je sais que même après ma mort, je continuerai d’aider des femmes et des hommes atteints de cancer. C’est une trace que je veux laisser dans le monde.

Plus de details

Faire avancer la lutte contre le cancer

Icône – flèche

Le taux de survie au cancer après cinq ans a augmenté, passant de 25 pour cent dans les années 1940 à 60 pour cent aujourd’hui.

Apprenez-en plus