Colorectal cancer

You are here: 

Precancerous conditions of the colon or rectum

Precancerous conditions of the colon or rectum are changes to cells that make them more likely to develop into cancer. These conditions are not yet cancer, but there is a higher chance these abnormal changes will become colorectal cancer.

The most common precancerous conditions of the colon or rectum are:

  • adenomas
  • hereditary colorectal syndromes

If you have a precancerous condition, you will likely have regular follow-up and screening tests to find cancer as early as possible if it develops. Some precancerous conditions can be treated with surgery to help reduce the risk that they will become cancer.

Stories

Paul Newcombe Volunteering during Daffodil Month is an incredibly rewarding experience, whether you have been touched by cancer or not.

Read Paul's story

Celebrating cancer survivors at Relay For Life

Relay For Life illustration

For cancer survivors, the Canadian Cancer Society provides a unique opportunity to celebrate their courage in the fight against cancer. During hundreds of Relay For Life events across the country, thousands of survivors join together for the Survivors’ Victory Lap.

Learn more

Cancer colorectal

Vous êtes ici:

États précancéreux du côlon ou du rectum

Un état précancéreux du côlon ou du rectum est caractérisé par des changements subis par les cellules qui les rendent plus susceptibles d’évoluer en cancer. Cet état n’est pas encore un cancer, mais il risque fortement de se transformer en cancer colorectal.

Les états précancéreux du côlon ou du rectum les plus courants sont les suivants :

  • adénomes;
  • syndromes du cancer colorectal héréditaire.

Si vous êtes atteint d’un état précancéreux, vous passerez probablement régulièrement des examens de suivi et des tests de dépistage afin qu’on détecte le cancer le plus tôt possible, s’il apparaît. On peut traiter certains états précancéreux par chirurgie pour aider à réduire le risque d’évolution en cancer.

Histoires

Dr Shawn Li Je suis infiniment reconnaissant envers la Société canadienne du cancer pour son soutien à ma recherche par une Subvention pour l’innovation.

Plus de détails

Devenez bénévole pour le Mois de la jonquille

une épinglette jonquille

Nous avons grandement besoin de bénévoles en avril. En donnant quelques heures de votre temps durant le Mois de la jonquille, vous aidez à sauver des vies et à soutenir les personnes touchées par le cancer.

Apprenez-en plus