Coping when your child has cancer

You are here: 

Watching for late effects

Cancer treatments can damage healthy cells when they are doing their job of removing or destroying cancer cells. This damage can lead to health problems months or years after cancer treatment is finished. Health problems that develop after cancer treatment is finished are called late effects.

Children who were treated for cancer will need follow-up care by a cancer specialist for the rest of their lives. This care includes regular testing to look for any late effects. This is one of the reasons why it is important to keep a record of their treatment. The record has important information, including the risk of late effects and a plan for follow-up. Having this information will help other healthcare providers know which late effects to watch for in the future.

The Children’s Oncology Group (COG) provides detailed information for survivors of childhood, adolescent and young adult cancer. Find out more about COG’s long-term follow-up guidelines for survivors.

Types of late effects

People who are treated for cancer as children can develop both physical and emotional late effects. Cancer treatments may affect:

  • organ or body function
  • growth and physical development
  • mood and feelings
  • thinking, learning and memory
  • social and emotional development

Being treated for cancer as a child also increases the risk of developing a second cancer later in life.

Risk of late effects

The risk of developing late effects and the types of problems that can develop depend on many factors, including:

  • the type of cancer
  • where the cancer was in the body
  • the child’s age at treatment
  • the type of chemotherapy and cumulative dose (how much was given in total)
  • the dose of radiation
  • the area of the body treated with radiation
  • genetic factors or health problems the child had before cancer

Follow-up visits

Follow-up visits after treatment for childhood cancer are done to make sure that the child recovers from treatment and stays healthy. For the first few years, the doctor will watch for any signs that the cancer may be coming back (recurring), which in most cases is unlikely. After a few years, follow-up visits focus more on monitoring for late effects from treatment. Children’s growing and developing bodies are at risk of permanent effects from treatment, which may not appear until much later in life.

Doctors will also use visits to:

  • monitor normal growth and progression through puberty
  • check for any problems with cognitive and psychosocial skills, including success in school
  • teach health promotion and disease prevention

Schedule

All survivors of childhood cancer should be followed for life because of the potential for long-term problems. Also, there is a slightly higher risk for children treated for cancer to develop second cancers in adulthood compared to children who have not been treated for cancer.

Appointments are more frequent right after the end of treatment, usually every 1–3 months. As time goes on, visits become less frequent. After a few years, visits are usually every 1–2 years. The schedule will vary depending on the type of cancer, treatment given and any problems the child may be having.

What to expect at a follow-up visit

The tests that may be done and how often they may be done depend on several factors, including:

  • the type of cancer
  • the area of the body affected
  • the type of treatment received
  • the child’s age during treatment
  • how long it has been since treatment finished

A child who is part of a research protocol (clinical trial) will be followed up according to the guidelines in the protocol.

If a recurrence is found during any of the follow-up procedures, the oncology team will assess the child with cancer to determine the best treatment options.

Follow-up visits usually include the following procedures.

Physical examination

A physical examination is a routine test done to assess the child’s general health and development. It often includes a medical history. The doctor may ask about any symptoms or health problems the child has and how they are coping. The physical examination may include:

  • questions about the child’s general health
  • physical examination of the body systems
  • questions about nutrition
  • measurement of standing and sitting height and weight – recorded on a growth chart
  • puberty status – based on Tanner Stages that describe the development of secondary sex characteristics (pubic hair, breast development in girls, penis and testicle development in boys)
  • measurement of head circumference – for infants and young children

Imaging

Imaging tests may be done to monitor for recurrence. These may include:

After a few years, the focus is to monitor for late side effects rather than recurrence of cancer, so routine imaging tests like those listed above are often stopped. They are done only if the child has symptoms that are worrisome. Imaging tests to monitor for late side effects may include:

  • Echocardiogram (Echo) and electrocardiogram (ECG) may be used if the child had anthracycline drugs, had radiation involving the chest (mediastinal radiation) or has chronic graft-versus-host disease after stem cell transplant.
  • Glomerular filtration rate (GFR) is used to monitor for kidney damage from chemotherapy or radiation therapy.
  • Bone density scan checks bone density in children at risk for osteoporosis as a late side effect from chemotherapy or radiation therapy.
  • Regular mammograms may be used for girls who had radiation involving the chest or spine (either at age 25 or 8 years after their last radiation treatment, whichever is later).

Laboratory tests

Follow-up blood tests may include:

  • complete blood count
  • blood chemistry
  • bleeding and blood clotting factors (coagulation studies such as PT, PTT, INR, fibrinogen)
  • growth hormone (GH) deficiency
  • antibody studies to check for antibodies to viruses such as measles, mumps, rubella, tetanus, polio, hepatitis, HIV, cytomegalovirus, herpes simplex virus, Epstein-Barr virus and varicella virus (chicken pox virus)
  • thyroid-stimulating hormone (TSH) and thyroxine (T4) levels if the child received radiation to the chest, head or total body
  • hormone levels if there is a problem with puberty development

Children who were treated with radiation to the head and neck, chest, abdomen or pelvis may experience problems with puberty development and will be tested for hormone levels. Often a referral is made to an endocrinologist for specialized follow-up in this area. Males are tested for follicle stimulating hormone (FSH), luteinizing hormone (LH) and testosterone. Females are tested for follicle stimulating hormone (FSH), luteinizing hormone (LH) and estrogen.

Follow-up urine tests may include:

  • urinalysis
  • homovanillic acid (HVA) and vanillylmandelic acid (VMA) may be used for children treated for neuroblastoma

Other tests and consultations

Depending on the type of cancer, these tests and consultations may be part of follow-up care:

Pulmonary function test (PFT) is most often used if the child was treated with chemotherapy drugs that could affect the lungs, such as bleomycin (Blenoxane), busulfan (Busulfex), carmustine (BiCNU, BCNU) and lomustine (CeeNU, CCNU). It is also used if the child had surgery or radiation therapy to the chest. History of infection, being ventilated, chronic graft-versus-host disease (after stem cell transplant) and asthma are other reasons why a child might have PFT.

Hearing exams are used to test hearing after treatment or if any new problems develop. Children are often followed up by an audiologist if they were treated with radiation therapy to the brain or head or had chemotherapy drugs that could affect hearing, such as cisplatin or aminoglycosides.

Eye exams are usually done every year. Eye exams check for the development of cataracts and changes in vision. Children are often followed up by an eye doctor, especially if they were treated with radiation therapy to the brain or head, have graft-versus-host disease or were treated with steroids.

Orthopedics may be part of follow-up after surgery for bone cancer.

Physiotherapy may be part of follow-up for children having problems with muscle strength, physical function and mobility (due to peripheral neuropathy).

Occupational therapy may be part of follow-up for children having problems with physical and cognitive skills.

Dental exams are usually done every year. Special follow-up may be necessary for children who had radiation therapy to the head or neck area, had chemotherapy when they were 5 years or younger or have chronic graft-versus-host disease.

Psychology consults may be part of follow-up for children who have learning disabilities or trouble coping, such as anxiety, mood disturbances, low self-esteem, anger or post-traumatic stress disorder.

Stories

Paul Newcombe Volunteering during Daffodil Month is an incredibly rewarding experience, whether you have been touched by cancer or not.

Read Paul's story

How can you stop cancer before it starts?

It's My Life! icon

Discover how your lifestyle choices can affect cancer risk and how you can take action with our interactive tool – It’s My Life!

Learn more

Faire face quand votre enfant a le cancer

Vous êtes ici:

Surveiller l’apparition d’effets tardifs

Les traitements du cancer risquent d’endommager les cellules saines quand ils font leur travail, qui est d’enlever ou de détruire les cellules cancéreuses. Ces dommages peuvent engendrer des problèmes de santé des mois voire des années après le traitement. Les problèmes de santé qui se manifestent après le traitement du cancer sont appelés effets tardifs.

Les enfants qui ont été traités pour un cancer devront être suivis toute leur vie par un spécialiste du cancer. Le suivi comporte des tests effectués sur une base régulière qui permettront de vérifier la présence de tout effet tardif. C’est l’une des raisons pour lesquelles il est important de conserver un dossier sur le traitement. Ce dossier comprend des informations importantes, dont le risque d'apparition d'effets tardifs et un plan de suivi. Ces renseignements permettront aux autres fournisseurs de soins de savoir quels effets tardifs pourraient survenir.

Le site Web du Children's Oncology Group (COG) offre des renseignements détaillés sur les survivants au cancer qui les a atteints alors qu’ils étaient enfant, adolescent ou jeune adulte. Apprenez-en davantage sur les lignes directrices relatives au suivi à long terme des survivants du COG.

Types d’effets tardifs

Les personnes qui ont été traitées pour un cancer alors qu’elles étaient enfant peuvent éprouver des effets tardifs physiques et émotionnels. Les traitements du cancer risquent d’affecter :

  • le fonctionnement d’un organe ou une fonction du corps;
  • la croissance et le développement physique;
  • l’humeur et les sentiments;
  • la pensée, l’apprentissage et la mémoire;
  • le développement social et affectif.

Être traité pour un cancer quand on est enfant fait aussi augmenter le risque d’apparition future d’un cancer secondaire.

Risque d'effets tardifs

Le risque d’éprouver des effets tardifs et les types de problèmes qui peuvent se manifester dépendent de nombreux facteurs dont ceux-ci :

  • type de cancer
  • emplacement du cancer dans le corps
  • âge de l'enfant au moment du traitement
  • type de chimiothérapie et dose cumulative (dose totale administrée)
  • dose de radiation
  • région du corps traitée par radiothérapie
  • facteurs génétiques ou problèmes de santé présents chez l'enfant avant le diagnostic de cancer

Visites de suivi

Les visites de suivi après le traitement d’un cancer chez l’enfant permettent de s’assurer que l’enfant se rétablit du traitement et qu’il reste en santé. Au cours des premières années qui suivent le traitement, le médecin surveille tout signe de réapparition (récidive) possible du cancer, ce qui est peu probable dans la plupart des cas. Après quelques années, les visites de suivi sont plus axées sur la surveillance de l’apparition d’effets tardifs du traitement. Le corps de l’enfant qui grandit et qui se développe risque de subir des effets permanents du traitement, qui pourraient n'apparaître que beaucoup plus tard au cours de sa vie.

Les visites permettront aussi aux médecins de :

  • surveiller la croissance et l'évolution normales à la puberté;
  • vérifier la présence de tout problème cognitif ou psychosocial, dont le succès scolaire;
  • promouvoir la santé et d'apprendre à prévenir la maladie.

Planification des visites de suivi

Tous les survivants au cancer infantile devraient être suivis toute leur vie puisque des troubles tardifs peuvent se manifester. Le risque d’avoir un cancer secondaire à l'âge adulte est également un peu plus élevé chez les enfants ayant reçu un traitement du cancer comparativement aux enfants qui n'ont pas été traités pour cette maladie.

Les rendez-vous sont plus fréquents tout juste une fois le traitement terminé, habituellement aux 1 à 3 mois. Mais au fil du temps, ils le deviennent moins. Après quelques années, les visites ont généralement lieu aux 1 à 2 ans. Le suivi varie selon le type de cancer, le traitement administré et tout problème que pourrait éprouver l'enfant.

À quoi s'attendre lors d'une visite de suivi

Les examens effectués et la fréquence à laquelle on les fait dépendent de plusieurs facteurs dont ceux-ci :

  • type de cancer
  • région du corps atteinte
  • type de traitement administré
  • âge de l'enfant au moment du traitement
  • depuis combien de temps le traitement est terminé

Un enfant qui prend part à un protocole de recherche (essai clinique) sera suivi selon les lignes directrices du protocole.

Si on observe une récidive lors de l'une des interventions de suivi, l'équipe d'oncologie évaluera l'enfant atteint de cancer afin de déterminer les meilleures options de traitement.

Une visite de suivi comporte habituellement les éléments suivants.

Examen physique

L'examen physique est un examen courant qu'on fait pour évaluer l'état général de santé et le développement de l'enfant. Il comporte souvent la prise en note des antécédents médicaux. Le médecin peut poser des questions sur tout symptôme ou problème de santé éprouvé par l'enfant et sur son adaptation à la situation. L'examen physique peut comprendre ce qui suit :

  • questions sur l’état général de santé de l’enfant
  • examen physique des systèmes et appareils du corps
  • questions sur la nutrition
  • mesure de la taille debout et assis et du poids – notés sur des courbes de croissance
  • stade de développement pubertaire – selon la classification de Tanner qui décrit le développement des caractères sexuels secondaires (poils pubiens, développement des seins chez la fille, développement du pénis et des testicules chez le garçon)
  • mesure de la circonférence de la tête – chez le nourrisson et le jeune enfant

Imagerie

On peut effectuer des examens d'imagerie pour surveiller l'apparition d'une récidive, dont ceux qui suivent :

Après quelques années, on surveille surtout l'apparition d'effets secondaires tardifs plutôt qu'une récidive de cancer. C'est pourquoi on cesse souvent de pratiquer les examens d'imagerie habituels comme ceux qui sont mentionnés ci-dessus. On y a recours seulement si l'enfant éprouve des symptômes inquiétants. Les examens d'imagerie permettant de surveiller l'apparition d'effets tardifs peuvent être les suivants.

  • L’échocardiogramme (écho) et l’électrocardiogramme (ECG) peuvent être utiles si l’enfant a reçu des anthracyclines, s’il a reçu une radiothérapie au thorax (radiothérapie médiastinale) ou s’il souffre d'une réaction chronique du greffon contre l’hôte après une greffe de cellules souches.
  • On prend la mesure du débit de filtration glomérulaire (DFG) pour savoir si les reins ont été endommagés par la chimiothérapie ou la radiothérapie.
  • L’ostéodensitométrie permet de connaître la densité osseuse de l'enfant qui risque de faire de l'ostéoporose, un effet secondaire tardif de la chimiothérapie et de la radiothérapie.
  • Une fille qui a reçu une radiothérapie au thorax ou à la colonne vertébrale devrait passer une mammographie régulièrement à partir de 25 ans ou 8 ans après sa dernière séance de radiothérapie, selon ce qui arrive le plus tard.

Épreuves de laboratoire

Lors du suivi, on peut faire les analyses sanguines suivantes :

  • formule sanguine complète
  • analyses biochimiques sanguines
  • facteurs de saignement et de coagulation sanguine (analyses de coagulation comme le temps de Quick, le temps de céphaline, le Rapport international normalisé, le taux de fibrinogène)
  • carence en hormone de croissance
  • études sur les anticorps pour vérifier la présence d'anticorps aux virus de la rougeole, des oreillons, de la rubéole, du tétanos, de la poliomyélite, de l'hépatite, du VIH, de l'herpès simplex, d'Epstein-Barr, de la varicelle et au cytomégalovirus
  • taux de thyréostimuline (TSH) et de thyroxine (T4) si l'enfant a reçu une radiothérapie au thorax, à la tête ou au corps entier
  • taux d'hormones si la puberté ne se déroule pas normalement

Les enfants qui ont reçu une radiothérapie à la tête et au cou, au thorax, à l'abdomen ou au bassin peuvent éprouver des problèmes de développement à la puberté et passeront des tests afin qu’on connaisse leurs taux d’hormones. On dirige souvent l'enfant vers un endocrinologue pour qu'il ait un suivi spécialisé dans ce domaine. Chez le garçon, on vérifie le taux d'hormone folliculostimulante (FSH), d'hormone lutéinisante (LH) et de testostérone. Chez la fille, on vérifie le taux d'hormone folliculostimulante (FSH), d'hormone lutéinisante (LH) et d'œstrogène.

Lors du suivi, on peut faire les tests d'urine suivants :

  • analyse d’urine
  • acide homovanillique (HVA) et acide vanilmandélique (VMA) chez l'enfant qui a été traité pour un neuroblastome

Autres examens et consultations

Selon le type de cancer, ces examens et consultations peuvent faire partie du suivi.

On a le plus souvent recours au test de la fonction respiratoire si l'enfant a été traité avec des agents chimiothérapeutiques qui pourraient affecter ses poumons, comme la bléomycine (Blenoxane), le busulfan (Busulfex), la carmustine (BiCNU, BCNU) et la lomustine (CeeNU, CCNU). On y a également recours si l'enfant a subi une chirurgie ou une radiothérapie au thorax. S'il y a des antécédents d'infection, de ventilation, de réaction chronique du greffon contre l’hôte (après une greffe de cellules souches) et d'asthme, on pourrait aussi faire passer un test de la fonction respiratoire à l'enfant.

On a recours aux tests auditifs pour évaluer l’ouïe après le traitement ou si de nouveaux problèmes apparaissent. Un audiologiste suit souvent les enfants qui ont reçu une radiothérapie au cerveau ou à la tête ou des agents chimiothérapeutiques qui pourraient affecter leur ouïe, comme le cisplatine et les aminoglycosides.

On fait habituellement un examen de la vue chaque année. Il permet de vérifier si des cataractes se forment et si la vue change. Un ophtalmologiste suit souvent les enfants, en particulier s'ils ont reçu une radiothérapie au cerveau ou à la tête, s'ils souffrent d'une réaction chronique du greffon contre l'hôte ou s'ils ont pris des stéroïdes.

L’orthopédie peut faire partie du suivi après une chirurgie pour un cancer des os.

La physiothérapie peut faire partie du suivi de l'enfant dont la force musculaire, les fonctions physiques et la mobilité sont problématiques (à cause d'une neuropathie périphérique).

L’ergothérapie peut faire partie du suivi de l'enfant dont les capacités physiques et cognitives sont problématiques.

On fait habituellement un examen dentaire chaque année. Un suivi particulier pourrait être nécessaire pour l’enfant qui a reçu une radiothérapie à la tête ou au cou, ou une chimiothérapie lorsqu'il avait 5 ans ou moins ou bien qui souffre de la réaction chronique du greffon contre l'hôte.

La consultation en psychologie peut faire partie du suivi de l’enfant qui éprouve des troubles d'apprentissage ou d'adaptation comme l'anxiété, les troubles de l'humeur, une faible estime de soi, la colère ou le syndrome de stress post-traumatique.

Histoires

Dr Edward Chow Une nouvelle norme pour le soulagement de la douleur

Plus de details

Ne manquez pas la Journée de sensibilisation à la reconstruction mammaire

La Journée de sensibilisation à la reconstruction mammaire est un événement annuel GRATUIT qui vous met en lien avec des experts en reconstruction mammaire renommés afin de répondre à toutes vos questions.

Plus de 30 événements à travers le Canada!

Apprenez-en plus