Canadian Cancer Society logo

Cervical cancer

You are here: 

Treatments for stage III cervical cancer

The following are treatment options for stage III cervical cancer. Your healthcare team will suggest treatments based on your needs and work with you to develop a treatment plan. You may be offered one or more of the following treatments.

Chemoradiation

Chemoradiation is often used as the main treatment for stage III cervical cancer. This treatment combines chemotherapy with radiation therapy. Chemotherapy is given during the same time period as radiation therapy.

During chemoradiation, chemotherapy is usually given 5 or 6 times (one treatment per week) during the same time period as external beam radiation therapy. Cisplatin (Platinol AQ) is the chemotherapy drug most commonly used to treat stage III cervical cancer. Cisplatin makes external beam radiation therapy more effective. Brachytherapy is usually given during and after external beam radiation therapy.

Surgery

Some women may have surgery to check lymph nodes at the back of the abdomen (called the para-aortic lymph nodes) for cancer. This surgery may be done before chemoradiation to help plan your radiation treatment.

Radiation therapy

You may be offered radiation therapy for stage III cervical cancer. Women who have radiation therapy will often have both external beam radiation therapy and brachytherapy. In most cases radiation therapy is given with chemotherapy (chemoradiation), but in some cases it may be used alone as the main treatment for stage III cervical cancer.

Clinical trials

You may be asked if you want to join a clinical trial for cervical cancer. Find out more about clinical trials.

Stories

Paul Newcombe Volunteering during Daffodil Month is an incredibly rewarding experience, whether you have been touched by cancer or not.

Read Paul's story

Celebrating cancer survivors at Relay For Life

Relay For Life illustration

For cancer survivors, the Canadian Cancer Society provides a unique opportunity to celebrate their courage in the fight against cancer. During hundreds of Relay For Life events across the country, thousands of survivors join together for the Survivors’ Victory Lap.

Learn more

Logo Société canadienne du cancer

Cancer du col de l’utérus

Vous êtes ici:

Traitements du cancer du col de l'utérus de stade III

En présence d’un cancer du col de l'utérus de stade III, on peut avoir recours aux options de traitement suivantes. Votre équipe de soins vous proposera des traitements en fonction de vos besoins et discutera avec vous afin d’élaborer un plan de traitement. On peut vous proposer un ou plusieurs des traitements suivants.

Chimioradiothérapie

On a souvent recours à la chimioradiothérapie comme traitement principal du cancer du col de l’utérus de stade III. Ce traitement associe la chimiothérapie à la radiothérapie. On administre la chimiothérapie et la radiothérapie pendant la même période.

Lors de la chimioradiothérapie, on administre habituellement la chimiothérapie 5 ou 6 fois à raison d’un traitement par semaine pendant la même période qu’est administrée la radiothérapie externe. Le cisplatine (Platinol AQ) est l’agent chimiothérapeutique auquel on a le plus souvent recours pour traiter le cancer du col de l’utérus de stade III. Le cisplatine rend la radiothérapie externe plus efficace. On administre habituellement une curiethérapie pendant et après la radiothérapie externe.

Chirurgie

Certaines femmes peuvent avoir une chirurgie afin qu’on vérifie si les ganglions lymphatiques situés dans la partie arrière de l’abdomen, soit les ganglions para-aortiques, sont atteints par le cancer. On peut faire cette chirurgie avant la chimioradiothérapie pour aider à planifier votre traitement de radiothérapie.

Radiothérapie

On peut vous proposer une radiothérapie comme traitement du cancer du col de l’utérus de stade III. Les femmes à qui on administre une radiothérapie reçoivent souvent une radiothérapie externe ainsi qu’une curiethérapie. Dans la plupart des cas, on associe la radiothérapie à la chimiothérapie (chimioradiothérapie), mais dans certains cas, on peut l’utiliser seule comme traitement principal du cancer du col de l’utérus de stade III.

Essais cliniques

On peut vous demander si vous voulez participer à un essai clinique sur le cancer du col de l’utérus. Apprenez-en davantage sur les essais cliniques.

Histoires

Brock Taraba Brock n'a pas eu de récidive de cancer depuis plus de dix ans, grâce au soutien de la Société canadienne du cancer.

Du soutien de la part de quelqu’un qui « est passé par là »

Illustration d’une conversation

Le programme de soutien par les pairs de la Société canadienne du cancer est un service d’entraide téléphonique qui consiste à jumeler les personnes atteintes de cancer et leurs aidants à des bénévoles ayant reçu une formation spéciale.

Apprenez-en plus