Canadian Cancer Society logo

Cancer of unknown primary

You are here: 

Treatment of adenocarcinoma in axillary lymph nodes

Adenocarcinomas account for most cases of cancer of unknown primary (CUP). Women with adenocarcinoma in the lymph nodes under the arm (axillary lymph nodes) may be treated as if they have a breast cancer. Most cancers in women that spread to these lymph nodes are breast cancers. Treatment of women with adenocarcinoma found only in the axillary lymph nodes is similar to treating women with stage II or stage III breast cancer.

Surgery

Surgery is often among the main treatments for women with adenocarcinoma in the axillary lymph nodes. Surgery is done to remove the axillary lymph nodes (axillary lymph node dissection). Surgery may also include removing the breast (mastectomy) on the same side as the lymph nodes that contain cancer.

Radiation therapy

Radiation therapy to the breast may be done instead of a mastectomy.

Chemotherapy or hormonal therapy

Chemotherapy or hormonal therapy or both may be given in addition to surgery or radiation therapy (adjuvant therapy). The type of therapy given will depend on the woman's age and whether the cancer cells are hormone-receptor positive.

Biological therapy

Women with HER2-positive tumours may also be offered treatment with trastuzumab (Herceptin), a monoclonal antibody used to treat breast cancer tumours that make large amounts of the HER2 (ERBB2) protein.

Clinical trials

Women with CUP may be offered the opportunity to participate in clinical trials. For more information, go to clinical trials.

Stories

Helen Storey Thanks to her legacy to ovarian cancer research, Helen Storey is still looking after others.

Read Helen's story

Funding lifesaving clinical trials

Illustration of science instruments

The Canadian Cancer Society is funding lifesaving clinical trials that give people with cancer access to the newest types of treatment.

Learn more

Logo Société canadienne du cancer

Cancer primitif
inconnu

Vous êtes ici:

Traitement de l'adénocarcinome des ganglions lymphatiques axillaires

Les adénocarcinomes constituent la plupart des cas de cancer primitif inconnu (CPI). Une femme atteinte d'un adénocarcinome des ganglions lymphatiques de l'aisselle (ganglions axillaires) peut être traitée comme si elle avait un cancer du sein. La plupart des cancers chez la femme qui se propagent à ces ganglions sont des cancers du sein. Le traitement des femmes chez lesquelles on détecte un adénocarcinome seulement dans les ganglions axillaires ressemble à celui des femmes atteintes d'un cancer du sein de stade II ou de stade III.

Chirurgie

La chirurgie fait souvent partie des traitements principaux des femmes atteintes d'un adénocarcinome des ganglions lymphatiques axillaires. On fait une chirurgie pour enlever ces ganglions (curage ganglionnaire axillaire). Lors de la chirurgie, on peut aussi enlever le sein (mastectomie) situé du même côté que les ganglions qui sont atteints par le cancer.

Radiothérapie

On peut faire une radiothérapie au sein au lieu d'une mastectomie.

Chimiothérapie ou hormonothérapie

On peut administrer une chimiothérapie ou une hormonothérapie ou bien les deux en plus d'avoir recours à la chirurgie ou à la radiothérapie (traitement adjuvant). Le type de traitement administré dépend de l'âge de la femme et de la présence de récepteurs hormonaux positifs dans les cellules cancéreuses.

Thérapie biologique

On peut aussi proposer aux femmes atteintes d'une tumeur HER2 positive un traitement à base de trastuzumab (Herceptin), un anticorps monoclonal dont on se sert pour traiter les cancers du sein qui fabriquent une grande quantité de la protéine HER2 (ErbB2).

Essais cliniques

On peut offrir aux femmes atteintes d'un CPI la possibilité de participer à des essais cliniques. Pour obtenir plus de renseignements, consultez la section "Essais cliniques".

Histoires

Dr David Huntsman Risque génétique d’une forme agressive de cancer de l’estomac

Plus de details

Une meilleure qualité de vie grâce à un essai clinique

Illustration d’éprouvettes

Lors d’un essai clinique dirigé par le Groupe d’essais cliniques de l’INCC pour la Société, on a découvert que les hommes atteints d’un cancer de la prostate qui reçoivent un traitement hormonal intermittent vivent aussi longtemps que ceux dont le traitement est ininterrompu.

Apprenez-en plus