Breast cancer

You are here: 

Targeted therapy for breast cancer

Targeted therapy is usually used to treat breast cancer. It uses drugs to target specific molecules (such as proteins) on cancer cells or inside them. These molecules help send signals that tell cells to grow or divide. By targeting these molecules, the drugs stop the growth and spread of cancer cells and limit harm to normal cells. Targeted therapy may also be called molecular targeted therapy.

You may have targeted therapy to:

  • stop breast cancer cells from growing and spreading
  • lower the risk that the cancer will come back (recur)
  • treat breast cancer that has spread (metastasized) to other parts of the body and that no longer responds to other breast cancer treatments

Your healthcare team will consider your personal needs to plan the drugs, doses and schedules of targeted therapy. You may also receive other treatments.

HER2 targeted therapy drugs

ERBB2 is a gene that has changed (mutated), so that it helps a tumour grow (called an oncogene). It is more commonly known as HER2 (or HER2/neu). HER2 stands for human epidermal growth factor receptor 2.

HER2 controls a protein on the surface of breast cells that helps them grow. Each healthy cell contains 2 copies of the HER2 gene. Sometimes too many copies of the HER2 gene are present in a cell and the body makes too much HER2 protein. This is called overexpression of HER2.

HER2 status testing is done on all breast cancer tumours at the time of diagnosis. If the breast cancer cells overexpress HER2, it is called HER2-positive breast cancer.

The following targeted therapy drugs have been specially designed to attach to the extra HER2 proteins to stop the growth of HER2-positive breast cancer cells.

Trastuzumab (Herceptin)

Trastuzumab is the most common targeted therapy drug used to treat HER2-positive breast cancer. It is given through a needle in a vein (intravenously).

Women with invasive or locally advanced breast cancer may be given trastuzumab in combination with chemotherapy drugs after surgery (called adjuvant therapy). Trastuzumab is usually given for up to a year after chemotherapy for breast cancer has finished.

Women with breast cancer that has spread to other parts of the body (called metastatic breast cancer) may be given trastuzumab by itself. It is continued until the breast cancer does not respond to the drug.

Pertuzumab (Perjeta)

Pertuzumab may be used to treat metastatic HER2-positive breast cancer in women who have not had trastuzumab or chemotherapy to treat it.

Pertuzumab is combined with trastuzumab and docetaxel (Taxotere). It is given intravenously. This drug may not be covered by all provincial health plans.

Trastuzumab emtansine (Kadcyla or T-DM1)

Trastuzumab emtansine is a combination of trastuzumab and the chemotherapy drug emtansine (DM1). It may be used to treat HER2-positive metastatic breast cancer that has already been treated with one of the following:

  • trastuzumab alone
  • chemotherapy with paclitaxel (Taxol) or docetaxel
  • trastuzumab with either paclitaxel or docetaxel

Tyrosine kinase inhibitors

Tyrosine kinases are a type of enzyme (proteins that speed up certain chemical reactions in the body). They play an important role in cell development and division. Tyrosine kinase inhibitors block specific tyrosine kinases that tell cancer cells to grow. These drugs are also called signal-transduction inhibitors or small-molecule drugs.

Lapatinib (Tykerb)

Lapatinib and capecitabine (Xeloda) may be given to treat metastatic HER2-positive breast cancer when other types of chemotherapy or trastuzumab (Herceptin) no longer work.

Lapatinib and letrozole (Femara) may be given to post-menopausal women with HER2-positive and hormone receptor–positive metastatic breast cancer. Letrozole is a type of hormonal therapy. This combination is given when hormonal therapy stops working.

Palbociclib (Ibrance)

Palbociclib may be given with letrozole to treat post-menopausal women with estrogen receptor–positive (ER+) and HER2-negative metastatic breast cancer.

Mammalian target of rapamycin (mTOR) inhibitors

mTOR inhibitors block the mammalian target of rapamyin (mTOR). mTOR is a protein that regulates cell growth and reproduction. It is abnormal in some types of cancer, including breast cancer, which causes cancer cells to keep growing and dividing. mTOR inhibitors block the action of mTOR, which can stop the growth of cancer.

Everolimus (Afinitor) is the mTOR inhibitor used for metastatic breast cancer. It is given with the hormonal therapy drug exemestane (Aromasin). This combination is used to treat post-menopausal women with hormone receptor–positive, HER2-negative metastatic breast cancer that no longer responds to hormonal therapy with letrozole or anastrozole (Arimidex).

Side effects

Side effects can happen with any type of treatment for breast cancer, but everyone’s experience is different. Some people have many side effects. Other people have few or none at all.

Targeted therapy attacks cancer cells but doesn’t usually damage healthy cells, so there are fewer and less severe side effects than with chemotherapy and radiation therapy. Chemotherapy and radiation therapy can damage healthy cells along with cancer cells.

If you develop side effects, they can happen any time during, immediately after or a few days or weeks after targeted therapy. Sometimes late side effects develop months or years after targeted therapy. Most side effects go away on their own or can be treated, but some side effects may last a long time or become permanent.

Side effects of targeted therapy will depend mainly on the type of drug or combination of drugs, the dose, how it’s given and your overall health. Some common side effects of targeted therapy for breast cancer are:

Some people may have a reaction when the drugs are given, including:

  • wheezing, difficulty breathing or coughing
  • skin rash, flushing or itching
  • anxiety
  • chest pain or irregular heartbeat
  • high or low blood pressure

Trastuzumab can cause heart damage, especially when it is given with doxorubicin (Adriamycin), which is a chemotherapy drug commonly used for breast cancer. Lapatinib can also cause heart damage. Heart function tests, such as a multigated acquisition (MUGA) scan or an echocardiogram, are done before the start of treatment and then regularly during treatment with trastuzumab.

Tell your healthcare team if you have these side effects or others you think might be from targeted therapy. The sooner you tell them of any problems, the sooner they can suggest ways to help you deal with them.

Information about specific cancer drugs

Details on specific drugs change regularly. Find out more about sources of drug information and where to get details on specific drugs.

Questions to ask about targeted therapy

Find out more about targeted therapy. To make the decisions that are right for you, ask your healthcare team questions about targeted therapy.

Stories

Dr David Huntsman Genetic risk of aggressive stomach cancer

Read more

Reduce your risk

Icon - figure running

The most recent Canadian Cancer Statistics report shows cancer is the leading cause of death in Canada. Learn how you can reduce your risk.

Learn more

Cancer du sein

Vous êtes ici:

Traitement ciblé pour le cancer du sein

On administre habituellement un traitement ciblé pour traiter le cancer du sein. On a recours à des médicaments pour cibler des molécules spécifiques, comme des protéines, présentes à la surface ou à l’intérieur des cellules cancéreuses. Ces molécules contribuent à l’envoi de signaux qui indiquent aux cellules de croître ou de se diviser. En ciblant ces molécules, les médicaments interrompent la croissance et la propagation des cellules cancéreuses tout en limitant les dommages aux cellules normales. Le traitement ciblé peut aussi être appelé traitement à ciblage moléculaire.

Vous pourriez recevoir un traitement ciblé pour :

  • interrompre la croissance et la propagation des cellules du cancer du sein;
  • réduire le risque de réapparition (récidive) du cancer;
  • traiter un cancer du sein qui s’est propagé (métastases) à d’autres parties du corps et qui ne réagit plus à d’autres traitements.

Votre équipe de soins prendra en considération vos propres besoins pour choisir les médicaments, les doses et le mode d’administration du traitement ciblé. Vous pourriez aussi recevoir d’autres traitements.

Médicaments qui ciblent le HER2

L’ErbB2 est un gène qui a subi un changement (mutation) et qui peut ainsi favoriser la croissance d’une tumeur (oncogène). Il est plus connu sous le nom de HER2 (ou HER2/neu). HER2 signifie human epidermal growth factor receptor 2 (récepteur 2 du facteur de croissance épidermique humain).

Le HER2 contrôle une protéine située à la surface des cellules du sein qui favorise leur croissance. Chaque cellule saine contient 2 copies du gène HER2. Il arrive qu’il y ait trop de copies du gène HER2 dans une cellule et que le corps fabrique une trop grande quantité de la protéine HER2. On parle alors de surexpression de la HER2.

L’analyse du statut HER2 est effectuée sur toutes les tumeurs au sein lors du processus diagnostique. Si les cellules du cancer du sein surexpriment la HER2, on dit que le cancer du sein est HER2 positif.

Les médicaments ciblés qui suivent ont été spécialement conçus pour se fixer aux protéines HER2 supplémentaires afin d’interrompre la croissance des cellules d’un cancer du sein HER2 positif.

Trastuzumab (Herceptin)

Le trastuzumab est le médicament ciblé auquel on a le plus souvent recours pour traiter le cancer du sein HER2 positif. On l’administre par une aiguille insérée dans une veine (voie intraveineuse).

Les femmes atteintes d’un cancer du sein infiltrant ou localement avancé peuvent recevoir du trastuzumab qu’on associe à des agents chimiothérapeutiques après une chirurgie (traitement adjuvant). On administre habituellement le trastuzumab pendant jusqu’à 1 an à la suite de la chimiothérapie.

Les femmes atteintes d’un cancer du sein qui s’est propagé à d’autres parties du corps (cancer du sein métastatique) pourraient recevoir seulement du trastuzumab. On l’administre jusqu’à ce que le cancer n’y réagisse plus.

Pertuzumab (Perjeta)

On peut avoir recours au pertuzumab (Perjeta) pour traiter le cancer du sein métastatique HER2 positif chez les femmes qui n’ont pas reçu de trastuzumab ou de chimiothérapie.

On associe le pertuzumab au trastuzumab et au docétaxel (Taxotere). On l’administre par voie intraveineuse. Il est possible que ce médicament ne soit pas couvert par tous les régimes provinciaux d’assurance maladie.

Trastuzumab emtansine (Kadcyla ou T-DM1)

Le trastuzumab emtansine est une association de trastuzumab et de l’agent chimiothérapeutique appelé emtansine (DM1). On peut y avoir recours pour le cancer du sein métastatique HER2 positif qui a déjà été traité avec l’un des protocoles suivants :

  • trastuzumab seulement
  • chimiothérapie à base de paclitaxel (Taxol) ou de docétaxel
  • trastuzumab avec paclitaxel ou docétaxel

Inhibiteurs de la tyrosine kinase

Les tyrosines kinases sont un type d’enzyme (protéine qui accélère certaines réactions chimiques dans le corps). Elles jouent un rôle important dans le développement et la division des cellules. Les inhibiteurs de la tyrosine kinase bloquent des tyrosines kinases spécifiques qui indiquent aux cellules cancéreuses de se développer. Ces médicaments sont aussi appelés inhibiteurs de la transduction des signaux ou médicaments à petites molécules.

Lapatinib (Tykerb)

Le lapatinib et la capécitabine (Xeloda) peuvent être administrés pour traiter un cancer du sein métastatique HER2 positif quand d’autres types de chimiothérapie ou le trastuzumab (Herceptin) ne sont plus efficaces.

On peut administrer le lapatinib et le létrozole (Femara) aux femmes postménopausées atteintes d’un cancer du sein métastatique HER2 positif et à récepteurs hormonaux positifs. Le létrozole est un type de médicament hormonal. On a recours à cette association quand l’hormonothérapie cesse d’être efficace.

Palbociclib (Ibrance)

Le palbociclib peut être associé au létrozole pour traiter les femmes postménopausées dont le cancer du sein métastatique est HER2 négatif et à récepteurs d’œstrogènes positif (ER+).

Inhibiteurs de la cible de la rapamycine chez les mammifères (mTOR)

Les inhibiteurs de la mTOR bloquent la cible de la rapamycine chez les mammifères (mTOR). La mTOR est une protéine qui régule la croissance et la reproduction des cellules. La mTOR est anormale dans certains types de cancer, dont le cancer du sein, alors les cellules cancéreuses continuent de se développer et de se diviser. Les inhibiteurs de la mTOR bloquent l’action de la mTOR, ce qui peut interrompre la croissance du cancer.

L’évérolimus (Afinitor) est l’inhibiteur de la mTOR administré pour traiter le cancer du sein métastatique. On l’associe au médicament hormonal appelé exémestane (Aromasin). Cette association permet de traiter les femmes postménopausées atteintes d’un cancer du sein métastatique HER2 négatif et à récepteurs hormonaux positifs qui ne réagit plus à l’hormonothérapie à base de létrozole ou d’anastrozole (Arimidex).

Effets secondaires

Peu importe le traitement du cancer du sein, il est possible que des effets secondaires se produisent, mais chaque personne les ressent différemment. Certaines en ont beaucoup alors que d’autres en éprouvent peu ou pas du tout.

Le traitement ciblé attaque les cellules cancéreuses mais n’endommage habituellement pas les cellules saines, alors les effets secondaires sont moins nombreux et moins graves que dans le cas de la chimiothérapie et de la radiothérapie. La chimiothérapie et la radiothérapie peuvent endommager les cellules saines tout comme les cellules cancéreuses.

Si des effets secondaires se manifestent, ils peuvent le faire n’importe quand pendant le traitement ciblé, tout de suite après ou quelques jours voire quelques semaines plus tard. Il arrive que des effets secondaires apparaissent des mois ou des années à la suite du traitement ciblé (effets tardifs). La plupart disparaissent d’eux-mêmes ou peuvent être traités, mais certains risquent de durer longtemps ou d’être permanents.

Les effets secondaires du traitement ciblé dépendent surtout du type de médicament ou d’association médicamenteuse, de la dose, du mode d’administration et de votre état de santé global. Voici certains effets secondaires fréquents du traitement ciblé administré pour traiter le cancer du sein :

Certaines personnes peuvent avoir une réaction quand on administre les médicaments dont :

  • une respiration sifflante, de la difficulté à respirer ou une toux;
  • une éruption cutanée, des rougeurs de la face et du cou ou des démangeaisons;
  • de l’anxiété;
  • une douleur thoracique ou un rythme cardiaque irrégulier;
  • une hausse ou une baisse de la pression artérielle.

Le trastuzumab peut causer des dommages au cœur, en particulier s’il est associé à la doxorubicine (Adriamycin), qui est un agent chimiothérapeutique couramment administré pour traiter le cancer du sein. Le lapatinib peut aussi causer des dommages au cœur. On fait des tests de la fonction cardiaque, comme la ventriculographie isotopique (MUGA) ou un échocardiogramme, avant de commencer le traitement puis on les répète régulièrement lors du traitement à base de trastuzumab.

Avisez votre équipe de soins si vous éprouvez ces effets secondaires ou d’autres que vous croyez liés au traitement ciblé. Plus vite vous leur mentionnez tout problème, plus rapidement ils pourront vous dire comment aider à les soulager.

Informations sur des médicaments anticancéreux spécifiques

Les renseignements sur des médicaments spécifiques changent régulièrement. Apprenez-en davantage sur les sources d’information sur les médicaments ainsi que sur les sites où vous pouvez obtenir des renseignements sur des médicaments spécifiques.

Questions à poser sur le traitement ciblé

Apprenez-en davantage sur le traitement ciblé. Afin de prendre les bonnes décisions pour vous, posez des questions sur le traitement ciblé à votre équipe de soins.

Histoires

Sarah Metcalfe Il est primordial que la Société canadienne du cancer offre du soutien et finance la recherche.

Lisez l'histoire de Sarah

Quel est le risque à vie d’avoir le cancer?

Icône - 1 sur 2

Selon le plus récent rapport Statistiques canadiennes sur le cancer, environ la moitié des Canadiens pourraient recevoir un diagnostic de cancer au cours de leur vie.

Apprenez-en plus