Breast cancer

You are here: 

Breast cysts

Breast cysts are fluid-filled sacs in the breast tissue. They are the most common non-cancerous (benign) breast lumps in women between the ages of 35 and 50. Breast cysts are rarely cancerous, and they do not increase your risk for developing breast cancer.

You can have one or many cysts in your breast. The most common symptom of a breast cyst is a lump that feels smooth and soft. It moves very easily within the breast tissue. Cysts may change with your menstrual cycle. They can become large and tender just before your period and get smaller and less tender after it has finished. Some breast cysts are very small and can’t be felt.

Most breast cysts go away without any treatment. If a cyst is very large or doesn’t go away on its own, doctors may offer to treat it. They may use a fine needle aspiration (FNA) to remove fluid from the cyst. They may do surgery to remove a cyst if there is blood in the fluid from the FNA or if the cyst comes back after the FNA. Doctors may also surgically remove cysts that are very large and painful.

Stories

Morgan Smith Even though we are high school students, we were able to raise so much money for the Canadian Cancer Society. It just goes to show what can happen when a small group of people come together for a great cause.

Read Morgan's story

What’s the lifetime risk of getting cancer?

Icon - 1 in 2

The latest Canadian Cancer Statistics report shows about half of Canadians are expected to be diagnosed with cancer in their lifetime.

Learn more

Cancer du sein

Vous êtes ici:

Kystes mammaires

Le kyste mammaire est un sac rempli de liquide qui se forme dans les tissus du sein. C’est le type le plus courant de masse non cancéreuse, ou bénigne, au sein chez les femmes âgées de 35 à 50 ans. Les kystes mammaires sont rarement cancéreux, et ils ne font pas augmenter le risque de cancer du sein.

Vous pouvez avoir un seul ou plusieurs kystes dans le sein. Le symptôme le plus courant du kyste mammaire est une masse lisse et molle au toucher. On le déplace très facilement dans les tissus. Le kyste peut changer en fonction de votre cycle menstruel. Il peut devenir gros et sensible juste avant vos menstruations et rapetisser et être moins sensible une fois qu’elles sont finies. Certains kystes mammaires sont très petits et impossibles à palper.

La plupart des kystes mammaires disparaissent sans traitement. Si un kyste est très gros ou s’il ne disparaît pas de lui-même, le médecin peut vous proposer de le traiter. Il peut avoir recours à la biopsie à l’aiguille fine (BAF) pour retirer le liquide du kyste. Il peut pratiquer une chirurgie pour l’enlever s’il y a du sang dans le liquide prélevé lors de la BAF ou s’il réapparaît après la BAF. Les médecins peuvent également enlever les kystes par chirurgie s’ils sont très gros et douloureux.

Histoires

Dr Edward Chow Une nouvelle norme pour le soulagement de la douleur

Plus de details

Réduisez votre risque

Icône – silhouette en train de courir

Le plus récent rapport Statistiques canadiennes sur le cancer montre que le cancer est la première cause de mortalité au Canada. Apprenez comment vous pouvez réduire votre risque.

Apprenez-en plus