Canadian Cancer Society logo

Breast cancer

You are here: 

Invasive lobular carcinoma

Invasive lobular carcinoma, also called infiltrating lobular carcinoma, is less common than invasive ductal carcinoma. It accounts for about 10% of all invasive breast cancers.

Invasive lobular carcinoma starts in the lobules of the breast, but grows through the lobules and spreads into nearby breast tissue. It can also spread (metastasize) to the lymph nodes and other parts of the body.

Lobular carcinoma can occur in several areas in one breast (called multi-focal or multi-centric) or in both breasts. Lobular carcinoma is more likely to occur in both breasts than other types of breast cancer.

Rather than forming a lump, lobular carcinoma grows in a single strand into the fatty tissues of the breast, creating a thickened area of breast tissue. There may be skin changes on the breast, such as a different texture or dimpling.

It is difficult to diagnose invasive lobular carcinoma by mammography. Ultrasound or magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) may be used to find lobular carcinoma, but biopsybiopsyThe removal of cells or tissues for examination under a microscope. is the most common diagnostic test for lobular carcinoma.

Most lobular carcinoma tumours are hormone receptor positive and respond well to hormonal therapyhormonal therapyTreatment that adds, blocks or removes hormones..

Stories

Helen Storey Thanks to her legacy to ovarian cancer research, Helen Storey is still looking after others.

Read Helen's story

Facing the financial burden of cancer

Illustration of coins

The Canadian Cancer Society provides helpful information about government income programs, financial resources and other resources available to families struggling to make sense of the personal financial burden they face.

Learn more

Logo Société canadienne du cancer

Cancer du sein

Vous êtes ici:

Carcinome lobulaire infiltrant

Le carcinome lobulaire infiltrant, aussi appelé carcinome lobulaire envahissant, est moins courant que le carcinome canalaire infiltrant. Il représente environ 10 % de tous les cancers du sein infiltrants.

Le carcinome lobulaire infiltrant prend naissance dans les lobules du sein mais traverse ces glandes et se propage au tissu mammaire voisin. Il peut aussi se propager (métastases) aux ganglions lymphatiques et à d’autres parties du corps.

Le carcinome lobulaire peut se développer à plusieurs endroits dans un seul sein (carcinome multifocal ou multicentrique) ou dans les deux seins. Il est plus susceptible d'affecter les deux seins que d'autres types de cancers du sein.

Plutôt que de former une masse, le carcinome lobulaire forme une seule bande dans les tissus graisseux du sein, créant ainsi une zone épaisse de tissu mammaire. Il peut y avoir des changements de la peau du sein, comme une texture différente ou des capitons.

Il est difficile de diagnostiquer le carcinome lobulaire infiltrant par mammographie. On peut avoir recours à l’échographie ou à l’imagerie par résonance magnétique (IRM) pour détecter un carcinome lobulaire, mais la biopsiebiopsiePrélèvement de cellules ou de fragments de tissu qui seront examinés au microscope. reste l’examen le plus fréquemment employé pour diagnostiquer le carcinome lobulaire.

La plupart des carcinomes lobulaires ont des récepteurs hormonaux positifs et réagissent bien à l'hormonothérapiehormonothérapieTraitement qui consiste à ajouter ou à supprimer des hormones ou à bloquer leur effet..

Histoires

Dre Christine Friedenreich Prévenir le cancer par l’activité physique

Plus de details

Faire face au fardeau financier du cancer

Illustration de pièces de monnaie

La Société canadienne du cancer fournit de précieux renseignements sur les programmes gouvernementaux en matière de revenu, l’aide financière et les autres ressources à la disposition des familles qui essaient de boucler leur budget en cette période difficile.

Apprenez-en plus