Canadian Cancer Society logo

Brain and spinal tumours

You are here: 

Chemotherapy for brain and spinal cord cancer

Chemotherapy is commonly used to treat brain cancer. Chemotherapy is not usually used with tumours that start in the spine (primary spinal cord tumours), but may be used for tumours that have spread to the spine from other parts of the body (metastatic spinal cord tumours). The chemotherapy drugs used will depend on the type of primary cancer.

Chemotherapy is the use of anti-cancer (cytotoxic) drugs to treat cancer. It is usually a systemic therapysystemic therapyTreatment that travels through the bloodstream to reach cells all over the body. that circulates throughout the body and destroys cancer cells, including those that may have broken away from the primary tumour. Chemotherapy may also be a regional therapy, given to specific areas of the body.

The blood-brain barrier is a protective network of blood vessels and cells that filters blood flowing to the brain. This barrier makes it hard for some substances (such as anti-cancer drugs) to enter the brain. It prevents many chemotherapy drugs from reaching brain tumour cells in large enough amounts to destroy them. The chemotherapy drugs used to treat brain tumours must be able to cross the blood-brain barrier.

Many types of brain tumours are naturally resistant to the effects of chemotherapy. However, some brain tumours, such as oligodendroglioma, may have genetic changes that make them more sensitive to chemotherapy drugs. Primary central nervous system lymphoma (PCNSL) is also sensitive to chemotherapy.

Chemotherapy may be used:

  • after surgery or radiation therapy to destroy cancer cells left behind and to reduce the risk of the cancer recurring (adjuvantadjuvantTreatment given in addition to the first-line therapy (the first or standard treatment) to help reduce the risk of a disease (such as cancer) coming back (recurring). chemotherapy)
  • with radiation therapy to improve the effect of radiation

Drugs, doses and schedules vary from person to person.

Chemotherapy drugs

The most common chemotherapy drugs used to treat brain cancer are:

  • temozolomide (Temodal)
  • carmustine (BiCNU, BCNU)
  • lomustine (CeeNU, CCNU)
  • cisplatin (Platinol AQ)
  • carboplatin (Paraplatin, Paraplatin AQ)
  • etoposide (Vepesid)
  • irinotecan (Camptosar)
  • methotrexate
    • Methotrexate may be injected directly into the fluid-filled space around the brain and spinal cord (intrathecal injection).
  • procarbazine hydrochloride (Matulane)
  • vincristine (Oncovin)

These drugs may be used alone or in combination, depending on the type of brain tumour. The most common chemotherapy combinations used to treat brain cancer are:

  • PCV – procarbazine hydrochloride, lomustine and vincristine
  • vincristine (Oncovin) and cisplatin (Platinol) with either lomustine (CCNU) or cyclophosphamide (Cytoxan, Procytox)

If brain cancer does not respond to drugs used in earlier treatments or if it recurs, other drugs that may be used are:

  • tamoxifen (Nolvadex, Tamofen)
  • carboplatin (Paraplatin)
  • etoposide (Vepesid)

For more detailed information on specific drugs, go to sources of drug information.

Intraventrical chemotherapy

Chemotherapy for brain tumours may be given directly into the cerebrospinal fluid (CSF) in the ventricles of the brain. It is given through an Ommaya reservoir, which is a small, dome-shaped device with a short tube (catheter) attached to it that is placed during surgery. The chemotherapy drug is injected using a small needle inserted through the scalp into the Ommaya reservoir.

Interstitial chemotherapy

With some types of brain tumours, the surgeon may line the area from where the tumour was removed with special wafers (glial wafers or Gliadel). These wafers have concentrated doses of the drug carmustine (BiCNU, BCNU), which is released into the brain tissue as the wafers break down.

This method of chemotherapy delivers a concentrated amount of the chemotherapy drug to the area where the tumour was in the brain, while limiting the amount of normal cells in the body affected by the drug.

Glial wafers are not used often because other methods of delivering chemotherapy are simpler and more effective.

Convection-enhanced delivery

Convection-enhanced delivery (CED) is another way of giving chemotherapy that may be used to treat some cases of brain and spinal cord cancer. With CED, chemotherapy drugs are delivered by a small (tube) catheter placed into the tumour or the area where the tumour was removed (surgical bed). The catheter may come out through the skin or be attached to a reservoir under the skin. A pump is used to slowly infuse the chemotherapy drug into the tumour through the catheter.

See a list of questions to ask your doctor about chemotherapy.

Stories

photo of Dan I feel honoured that I was a part of these people’s lives … honoured to have been there for them, to have listened and offered hope that it will be okay.

Read Dan's story

Providing rides to cancer treatment

Illustration of car

For more than 50 years, the Canadian Cancer Society’s transportation program has enabled patients to focus their energy on fighting cancer and not on worrying about how they will get to treatment.

Learn more

Logo Société canadienne du cancer

Tumeurs au cerveau et à la moelle épinière

Vous êtes ici:

Chimiothérapie du cancer du cerveau et de la moelle épinière

On a couramment recours à la chimiothérapie pour traiter le cancer du cerveau. On n’administre habituellement pas de chimiothérapie pour traiter les tumeurs qui prennent naissance dans la colonne vertébrale (tumeurs primitives), mais on peut le faire pour les tumeurs qui se sont propagées à la colonne vertébrale à partir d’autres parties du corps (métastases rachidiennes). Les agents chimiothérapeutiques employés dépendent du type de cancer primitif.

En chimiothérapie, on a recours à des médicaments anticancéreux (cytotoxiques) pour traiter le cancer. Il s’agit habituellement d’un traitement systémiquetraitement systémiqueTraitement qui consiste à administrer une substance qui voyage par les vaisseaux sanguins pour atteindre les cellules du corps tout entier. qui circule dans tout le corps et qui détruit les cellules cancéreuses dont celles qui auraient pu s’échapper de la tumeur primitive. La chimiothérapie peut aussi être régionale, c’est-à-dire qu’elle cible des régions spécifiques du corps.

La barrière hémato-encéphalique est un réseau de protection fait de vaisseaux sanguins et de cellules qui filtrent le sang qui circule vers le cerveau. À cause de cette barrière, il est difficile pour certaines substances, comme les médicaments anticancéreux, d’entrer dans le cerveau. Elle empêche de nombreux agents chimiothérapeutiques d'atteindre les tumeurs cérébrales en quantité suffisante pour les détruire. Les agents chimiothérapeutiques employés dans le traitement des tumeurs cérébrales doivent être capables de traverser la barrière hémato-encéphalique.

De nombreux types de tumeurs cérébrales sont naturellement résistants aux effets de la chimiothérapie. Cependant, certaines tumeurs cérébrales, comme l’oligodendrogliome, peuvent avoir subi des changements génétiques qui les rendent plus sensibles aux agents chimiothérapeutiques. Le lymphome primitif du système nerveux central (LPSNC) est également sensible à la chimiothérapie.

On peut administrer une chimiothérapie :

  • après une chirurgie ou une radiothérapie afin de détruire les cellules cancéreuses qui restent et de réduire le risque de réapparition du cancer (chimiothérapie adjuvanteadjuvanteTraitement administré en plus du traitement de première intention (premier traitement ou traitement standard) pour aider à réduire le risque de réapparition (récidive) de la maladie (comme le cancer).)
  • ainsi qu’une radiothérapie afin d’accroître l’effet de la radiation

Les médicaments employés, les doses administrées ainsi que les horaires suivis varient d’une personne à l’autre.

Agents chimiothérapeutiques

Les agents chimiothérapeutiques les plus couramment utilisés pour traiter le cancer du cerveau sont les suivants :

  • témozolomide (Temodal)
  • carmustine (BiCNU, BCNU)
  • lomustine (CeeNU, CCNU)
  • cisplatine (Platinol AQ)
  • carboplatine (Paraplatin, Paraplatin AQ)
  • étoposide (Vepesid)
  • irinotécane (Camptosar)
  • méthotrexate
    • Le méthotrexate peut être injecté directement dans l’espace rempli de liquide qui entoure le cerveau et la moelle épinière (injection intrathécale).
  • chlorhydrate de procarbazine (Matulane)
  • vincristine (Oncovin)

On peut administrer un seul de ces médicaments à la fois ou bien les associer, selon le type de tumeur cérébrale. Les associations chimiothérapeutiques les plus couramment employées pour traiter le cancer du cerveau sont les suivantes :

  • protocole PCV – chlorhydrate de procarbazine, lomustine et vincristine
  • vincristine (Oncovin) et cisplatine (Platinol) avec lomustine (CCNU) ou cyclophosphamide (Cytoxan, Procytox)

Si un cancer du cerveau ne réagit pas aux médicaments administrés plus tôt dans le traitement ou s’il réapparaît, on peut avoir recours à d'autres médicaments tels que ceux-ci :

  • tamoxifène (Nolvadex, Tamofen)
  • carboplatine (Paraplatin)
  • étoposide (Vepesid)

Pour obtenir des renseignements sur des médicaments spécifiques, consultez la section Sources d’information sur les médicaments.

Chimiothérapie intraventriculaire

Dans le cas des tumeurs cérébrales, on peut administrer la chimiothérapie directement dans le liquide céphalorachidien (LCR), dans les ventricules de l’encéphale, au moyen du réservoir d'Ommaya. C’est un petit dispositif en forme de dôme muni d'un tube court (cathéter), qui est mis en place par chirurgie. On injecte l'agent chimiothérapeutique à l'aide d'une aiguille fine qui est insérée à travers du cuir chevelu dans le réservoir d'Ommaya.

Chimiothérapie interstitielle

Pour certains types de tumeurs cérébrales, le chirurgien peut tapisser la région où se trouvait la tumeur de gaufrettes spéciales (gaufrettes gliales, Gliadel). Elles contiennent une dose concentrée du médicament appelé carmustine (BiCNU, BCNU) qui est libéré dans le tissu cérébral au fur et à mesure que les gaufrettes se décomposent.

Ce mode de chimiothérapie permet d'administrer une dose concentrée d'un agent chimiothérapeutique dans la région du cerveau où la tumeur était située, tout en limitant la quantité de cellules normales qui seront affectées par le médicament.

On utilise rarement les gaufrettes gliales, car il y a d'autres modes d'administration de la chimiothérapie qui sont plus simples et efficaces.

Administration améliorée par convection

L’administration améliorée par convection (CED) est une autre façon de donner une chimiothérapie comme traitement de certaines tumeurs au cerveau et à la moelle épinière. Lorsqu’on a recours à la CED, les agents chimiothérapeutiques sont introduits dans un petit tube (cathéter) inséré dans la tumeur ou dans la région d’où la tumeur a été enlevée (lit chirurgical). Le cathéter peut sortir à travers la peau ou être fixé à un réservoir sous la peau. On se sert d’une pompe pour injecter lentement l’agent chimiothérapeutique dans la tumeur par le cathéter.

Consultez la liste de questions à poser à votre médecin sur la chimiothérapie.

Histoires

Dr Troy Harkness À la recherche de nouveaux moyens de traiter les cancers pharmacorésistants

Plus de details

Transport vers les centres de traitement du cancer

Illustration d’une automobile

Depuis plus de 50 ans, le programme de transport de la Société canadienne du cancer aide les patients à canaliser leurs énergies dans leur combat contre le cancer sans avoir à se préoccuper de trouver un moyen de se rendre à leurs traitements.

Apprenez-en plus