Brain and spinal tumours

You are here: 

Chemotherapy for brain and spinal cord tumours

Chemotherapy uses anticancer (cytotoxic) drugs to destroy cancer cells. It is sometimes used to treat brain and spinal cord tumours. Your healthcare team will consider your personal needs to plan the drugs, doses and schedules of chemotherapy. You may also receive other treatments.

Chemotherapy is given for different reasons. You may have chemotherapy to:

  • destroy cancer cells left behind after surgery and reduce the risk that the cancer will come back (recur) (called adjuvant chemotherapy)
  • treat recurrent tumours after or along with radiation therapy
  • treat cancer that has spread to the spine from other areas of the body

Chemotherapy is usually a systemic therapy. This means that the drugs travel through the bloodstream to reach and destroy cancer cells all over the body, including those that may have broken away from the primary tumour in the brain or spinal cord. Brain tumours are different from most other types of cancer because they rarely spread outside the central nervous system (CNS) to other parts of the body. They may spread to nearby tissue in the area where they begin.

The blood-brain barrier is a protective network of blood vessels and cells that filters blood flowing to the brain. This barrier makes it hard for some substances (such as anticancer drugs) to enter the brain. It prevents many chemotherapy drugs from reaching brain tumour cells in large enough amounts to destroy them. The chemotherapy drugs used to treat brain tumours must be able to cross the blood-brain barrier.

Regional chemotherapy

Chemotherapy may also be a regional therapy, which means that it is given to a specific area of the body.

Intraventrical chemotherapy

Chemotherapy for brain tumours may be given directly into the cerebrospinal fluid (CSF) in the ventricles of the brain. It is given through an Ommaya reservoir, which is a small, dome-shaped device with a short tube (catheter) attached to it that is placed during surgery. The chemotherapy drug is injected using a small needle inserted through the scalp into the Ommaya reservoir.

Ommaya Reservoir

Intrathecal chemotherapy

Chemotherapy may be given through a lumbar puncture into the space around the spinal cord containing CSF.

Localized chemotherapy

With some types of brain tumours, the surgeon may line the area where the tumour was removed with special wafers (glial wafers or Gliadel). These wafers have concentrated doses of the drug carmustine (BiCNU, BCNU), which is released into the brain tissue as the wafers break down.

This method of chemotherapy delivers a concentrated amount of the chemotherapy drug to the area where the tumour was in the brain, while limiting the amount of normal cells in the body affected by the drug.

Chemotherapy drugs used for brain and spinal cord tumours

The most common chemotherapy drugs used to treat brain and spinal cord tumours are:

  • temozolomide (Temodal)
  • carmustine
  • lomustine (CeeNU, CCNU)
  • cisplatin (Platinol AQ)
  • carboplatin (Paraplatin, Paraplatin AQ)
  • etoposide (Vepesid, VP-16)
  • irinotecan (Camptosar)
  • methotrexate
  • procarbazine (Matulane)
  • vincristine (Oncovin)
  • cyclophosphamide (Cytoxan, Procytox)

The most common chemotherapy drug combination used to treat brain and spinal cord tumours is PCV (procarbazine, lomustine and vincristine).

Side effects

Side effects can happen with any type of treatment for brain and spinal cord tumours, but everyone’s experience is different. Some people have many side effects. Other people have few or none at all.

Chemotherapy may cause side effects because it can damage healthy cells as it kills cancer cells. If you develop side effects, they can happen any time during, immediately after or a few days or weeks after chemotherapy. Sometimes late side effects develop months or years after chemotherapy. Most side effects go away on their own or can be treated, but some side effects may last a long time or become permanent.

Side effects of chemotherapy will depend mainly on the type of drug, the dose, how it’s given and your overall health. Some common side effects of chemotherapy drugs used for brain and spinal cord tumors are:

Tell your healthcare team if you have these side effects or others you think might be from chemotherapy. The sooner you tell them of any problems, the sooner they can suggest ways to help you deal with them.

Information about specific cancer drugs

Details on specific drugs change regularly. Find out more about sources of drug information and where to get details on specific drugs.

Questions to ask about chemotherapy

Find out more about chemotherapy and side effects of chemotherapy. To make the decisions that are right for you, ask your healthcare team questions about chemotherapy.

Stories

Catherine Coulson Slowly, it dawned on me that I, too, could be a survivor

Read Catherine's story

Together we can reduce the burden of cancer

Icon - beaker

Last year, we only had the resources available to fund 40% of high-priority research projects. Imagine the impact we could have if we were able to fund 100%.

Learn more

Tumeurs au cerveau et à la moelle épinière

Vous êtes ici:

Chimiothérapie des tumeurs au cerveau et à la moelle épinière

En chimiothérapie, on a recours à des médicaments anticancéreux, ou cytotoxiques, pour détruire les cellules cancéreuses. On l’administre parfois pour traiter les tumeurs au cerveau et à la moelle épinière. L’équipe de soins prendra en considération vos besoins personnels pour choisir les agents chimiothérapeutiques, les doses et les modes d’administration. Vous pourriez aussi recevoir d’autres traitements.

On administre une chimiothérapie pour différentes raisons. Vous pouvez recevoir une chimiothérapie :

  • pour détruire les cellules cancéreuses qui restent après la chirurgie et réduire le risque de réapparition, ou récidive, du cancer (chimiothérapie adjuvante);
  • pour traiter une tumeur récidivante après une radiothérapie ou durant la même période;
  • pour traiter un cancer qui s’est propagé à la colonne vertébrale à partir d’autres régions du corps.

La chimiothérapie est habituellement systémique, ce qui signifie que les médicaments circulent dans le sang pour atteindre et détruire les cellules cancéreuses dans tout le corps, dont celles qui auraient pu se détacher de la tumeur primitive au cerveau ou à la moelle épinière. Les tumeurs au cerveau diffèrent de la plupart des autres types de cancer puisqu’elles se propagent rarement hors du système nerveux central (SNC) jusqu’à d’autres parties du corps. Elles peuvent se propager au tissu voisin de la région où elles ont pris naissance.

La barrière hémato-encéphalique est un réseau de protection fait de vaisseaux sanguins et de cellules qui filtrent le sang qui circule vers le cerveau. À cause de cette barrière, il est difficile pour certaines substances, comme les médicaments anticancéreux, d’entrer dans le cerveau. Elle empêche de nombreux agents chimiothérapeutiques d'atteindre les tumeurs cérébrales en quantité suffisante pour les détruire. Les agents chimiothérapeutiques employés dans le traitement des tumeurs cérébrales doivent être capables de traverser la barrière hémato-encéphalique.

Chimiothérapie régionale

La chimiothérapie peut aussi être régionale, c’est-à-dire qu’elle est administrée à une région spécifique du corps.

Chimiothérapie intraventriculaire

Dans le cas des tumeurs cérébrales, on peut administrer la chimiothérapie directement dans le liquide céphalorachidien (LCR), dans les ventricules du cerveau, au moyen du réservoir d'Ommaya. C’est un petit dispositif en forme de dôme muni d'un tube court (cathéter), qui est mis en place par chirurgie. On injecte l'agent chimiothérapeutique à l'aide d'une aiguille fine qui est insérée à travers du cuir chevelu dans le réservoir d'Ommaya.

Schéma du réservoir d'Ommaya

Chimiothérapie intrathécale

On peut administrer la chimiothérapie par ponction lombaire dans l’espace entourant la moelle épinière qui contient le liquide céphalorachidien (LCR).

Chimiothérapie localisée

Pour certains types de tumeurs cérébrales, le chirurgien peut tapisser la région où se trouvait la tumeur de gaufrettes spéciales (gaufrettes gliales, Gliadel). Elles contiennent une dose concentrée du médicament appelé carmustine (BiCNU, BCNU) qui est libéré dans le tissu cérébral au fur et à mesure que les gaufrettes se décomposent.

Ce mode de chimiothérapie permet d'administrer une dose concentrée d'un agent chimiothérapeutique dans la région du cerveau où la tumeur était située, tout en limitant la quantité de cellules normales qui seront affectées par le médicament.

Agents chimiothérapeutiques administrés pour les tumeurs au cerveau et à la moelle épinière

Les agents chimiothérapeutiques les plus souvent employés pour traiter les tumeurs au cerveau et à la moelle épinière sont les suivants :

  • témozolomide (Temodal)
  • carmustine
  • lomustine (CeeNU, CCNU)
  • cisplatine (Platinol AQ)
  • carboplatine (Paraplatin, Paraplatin AQ)
  • étoposide (Vepesid, VP-16)
  • irinotécane (Camptosar)
  • méthotrexate
  • procarbazine (Matulane)
  • vincristine (Oncovin)
  • cyclophosphamide (Cytoxan, Procytox)

L’association chimiothérapeutique la plus couramment employée pour traiter les tumeurs au cerveau et à la moelle épinière est le protocole PCV (procarbazine, lomustine et vincristine).

Effets secondaires

Peu importe le traitement des tumeurs au cerveau et à la moelle épinière, il est possible que des effets secondaires se produisent, mais chaque personne les ressent différemment. Certaines en ont beaucoup alors que d’autres en éprouvent peu ou pas du tout.

La chimiothérapie peut causer des effets secondaires puisqu’elle risque d’endommager les cellules saines tout en détruisant les cellules cancéreuses. Si des effets secondaires se manifestent, ils peuvent le faire n’importe quand pendant la chimiothérapie, tout de suite après ou quelques jours voire quelques semaines plus tard. Il arrive que des effets secondaires apparaissent des mois ou des années à la suite de la chimiothérapie (effets tardifs). La plupart disparaissent d’eux-mêmes ou peuvent être traités, mais certains risquent de durer longtemps ou d’être permanents.

Les effets secondaires de la chimiothérapie dépendent surtout du type de médicament, de la dose, de la façon de l’administrer et de votre état de santé global. Voici certains effets secondaires fréquents des agents chimiothérapeutiques administrés pour traiter les tumeurs au cerveau et à la moelle épinière :

Avisez votre équipe de soins si vous éprouvez ces effets secondaires ou d’autres que vous croyez liés à la chimiothérapie. Plus vite vous leur mentionnez tout problème, plus rapidement ils pourront vous dire comment aider à les soulager.

Informations sur des médicaments anticancéreux spécifiques

Les renseignements sur des médicaments spécifiques changent régulièrement. Apprenez-en davantage sur les sources d’information sur les médicaments ainsi que sur les sites où vous pouvez obtenir des renseignements sur des médicaments spécifiques.

Questions à poser sur la chimiothérapie

Apprenez-en davantage sur la chimiothérapie et les effets secondaires de la chimiothérapie. Afin de prendre les bonnes décisions pour vous, posez des questions sur la chimiothérapie à votre équipe de soins.

Histoires

Rosemary Pedlar Lorsqu’elle a lu, dans les pages d’un journal, que la Société canadienne du cancer recherchait des bénévoles, Rosemary a tout de suite compris que c’était là sa chance de mettre le pied à l’étrier.

Lisez l’histoire de Rosemary

Investir pour réduire le fardeau du cancer

Icône – tirelire

L’an dernier, la SCC a financé la recherche sur le cancer à hauteur de 40 millions de dollars, grâce à nos donateurs. Découvrez comment vous pouvez aider à réduire le fardeau du cancer.

Apprenez-en plus