Canadian Cancer Society logo

Brain and spinal tumours

You are here: 

Primary central nervous system (CNS) lymphoma

Primary central nervous system (CNS) lymphoma (PCNSL) is a rare form of non-Hodgkin lymphoma (NHL). PCNSL starts in B cells (a type of white blood cell). It does not spread outside the central nervous system (CNS). Most PCNSLs are intermediate to high grade.

PCNSL occurs most often in the cerebral hemisphere but may involve the cerebrospinal fluid, vitreous humor (jelly-like substance in the centre of the eye), meninges and other places within the brain and spinal cord. PCNSL may be found in several places because it has the potential to spread throughout the central nervous system.


Morgan Smith Even though we are high school students, we were able to raise so much money for the Canadian Cancer Society. It just goes to show what can happen when a small group of people come together for a great cause.

Read Morgan's story

Help for smokers trying to quit

Illustration of no smoking symbol

It’s okay to need help to quit smoking. The Canadian Cancer Society is here to support people who are ready to quit and even those people who aren’t ready.

Learn more

Tumeurs au cerveau et à la moelle épinière

Vous êtes ici:

Lymphome primitif du système nerveux central

Le lymphome primitif du système nerveux central (LPSNC) est une forme rare de lymphome non hodgkinien (LNH). Le LPSNC prend naissance dans les lymphocytes B, un type de globule blanc. Il ne se propage pas hors du système nerveux central (SNC). La plupart des LPSNC sont des cancers de grade intermédiaire ou de haut grade.

Le LPSNC apparaît le plus souvent dans l’hémisphère cérébral mais peut affecter le liquide céphalorachidien, le corps vitré (substance semblable à de la gélatine située au centre de l’œil), les méninges et d’autres régions de l’encéphale et de la moelle épinière. On peut observer le LPSNC à plusieurs endroits puisqu’il peut se propager dans tout le système nerveux central.

Histoires

Dre Xiaoyan Jiang La Dre Xiaoyan Jiang a trouvé un moyen de prédire la réaction au traitement d’un type particulier de leucémie.

Plus de details

Devenez bénévole pour le Mois de la jonquille

une épinglette jonquille

Nous avons grandement besoin de bénévoles en avril. En donnant quelques heures de votre temps durant le Mois de la jonquille, vous aidez à sauver des vies et à soutenir les personnes touchées par le cancer.

Apprenez-en plus