Canadian Cancer Society logo

Childhood brain and spinal tumours

You are here: 

Treatment of germ cell tumours of the brain

Treatment of germ cell tumours of the brain depends on:

  • the size and location of the tumour
  • the type of tumour
  • whether the cancer has spread
  • the age of the child

Radiation therapy

Radiation therapy is the standard treatment for germinomas. It may be the only type of therapy needed because these types of germ cell tumours are very sensitive to radiation and can often be cured with radiation therapy. In children under 3 years of age, radiation is delayed (if possible) to avoid long-term complications of radiation on developing brain cells. In these cases chemotherapy will be given until the child reaches the age of 3 years.

Chemotherapy

Chemotherapy is often combined with radiation therapy. This has proven to improve survival rates and allows doctors to give a lower dose of radiation. Chemotherapy could also be used to delay giving radiation therapy to children under 3 years of age.

Surgery

Surgery is the standard treatment for suspected germ cell tumours. Surgery may be limited to a small biopsy, or the surgeon may try to remove all of the tumour (complete resection).

Stories

Dr Artem Cherkasov Research could lead to better cancer treatments with fewer side effects.

Read more

Clinical trial discovery improves quality of life

Illustration of test tubes

A clinical trial led by the Society’s NCIC Clinical Trials group found that men with prostate cancer who are treated with intermittent courses of hormone therapy live as long as those receiving continuous therapy.

Learn more

Logo Société canadienne du cancer

Tumeurs au cerveau et à la moelle épinière chez l’enfant

Vous êtes ici:

Traitement des tumeurs germinales cérébrales

Le traitement des tumeurs germinales cérébrales dépendent des facteurs suivants :

  • taille et emplacement de la tumeur
  • type de tumeur
  • propagation du cancer
  • âge de l’enfant

Radiothérapie

La radiothérapie est le traitement standard des germinomes. C’est possible que ce soit le seul type de traitement nécessaire parce que ces tumeurs germinales sont très sensibles à la radiation et peuvent souvent être guéries grâce à la radiothérapie. Chez les enfants de moins de 3 ans, on retarde la radiothérapie, si possible, pour éviter les complications à long terme de la radiation sur les cellules cérébrales en développement. Dans ce cas, on administre une chimiothérapie jusqu’à ce que l’enfant atteigne l’âge de 3 ans.

Chimiothérapie

On associe souvent la chimiothérapie à la radiothérapie. Cela s’est révélé efficace pour accroître la survie et permettre aux médecins d’administrer une plus faible dose de radiation. La chimiothérapie pourrait aussi permettre de retarder la radiothérapie chez les enfants âgés de moins de 3 ans.

Chirurgie

La chirurgie est le traitement standard si on croit à la présence d’une tumeur germinale. La chirurgie peut se limiter à une petite biopsie ou bien le chirurgien peut essayer d’enlever toute la tumeur (résection complète).

Histoires

Dre Camilla Zimmermann La Dre Camilla Zimmermann a mis au point un modèle d’intervention hâtive en soins palliatifs.

Plus de details

Défense des intérêts des personnes atteintes de cancer

Illustration d’un mégaphone

Nos employés et bénévoles rencontrent les élus des divers paliers de gouvernement (municipal, provincial et fédéral) pour les convaincre de faire de la lutte contre le cancer une de leurs priorités.

Apprenez-en plus