Childhood brain and spinal tumours

You are here: 

The brain and spinal cord

The brain is a complex organ made up of specialized nerve and supportive tissues. It’s surrounded by many bones that together form the skull. The part of the skull where the brain sits is called the cranium. The base, or lower part, of the brain is connected to the spinal cord. Together, the brain and spinal cord are known as the central nervous system (CNS). Many nerves send electrical signals to and from the brain and spinal cord.

Structure and function of the brain

The brain is the body’s control centre. It constantly receives and interprets nerve signals from the body and sends new signals based on this information. Different parts of the brain control movement, speech, emotions, consciousness and internal body functions, such as heart rate, breathing and body temperature.

The brain has 3 main parts: cerebrum, cerebellum and brain stem.

Diagram of the central nervous system

Types of cells in the brain

The brain is made up of 2 main types of cells:

Nerve cells (neurons) are cells that carry the electrical signals that make the nervous system work. They cannot be replaced or repaired if they are damaged. They are the longest cells in the body.

Diagram of the structure of a neuron

 

 

Glial cells (neuroglial cells) are cells that support, feed and protect the nerve cells. The different types of glial cells are:

  • astrocytes
  • oligodendrocytes
  • ependymal cells
  • microglial cells

Cerebrum

The cerebrum is the largest part of the brain. It is divided into 2 halves called the left and right cerebral hemispheres. The 2 hemispheres are connected by a bridge of nerve fibres called the corpus callosum.

The right half of the cerebrum (right hemisphere) controls the left side of the body. The left half of the cerebrum (left hemisphere) controls the right side of the body.

The cerebral cortex is the outer, folded part of the brain. It is also called the grey matter. The cerebral cortex is mostly made up of the cell bodies and dendrites of nerve cells (neurons). Cell bodies contain the nucleus and other main parts of the cell. Dendrites are the short branching fibres that receive signals from other nerve cells. The inner part of the cerebrum is called the white matter. It is mostly made up of the long fibres of a nerve cell (called axons) that send signals to and from the brain to the rest of the body. The fatty coating that surrounds axons (called myelin) gives this part of the brain a whitish appearance.

Each hemisphere is divided into 4 sections called lobes. These include the frontal, parietal, temporal and occipital lobes.

Diagram of the lobes of the brain

Each lobe has different functions:

The frontal lobe controls movement, speech, behaviour, memory, emotions and intellectual functions, such as thought processes, reasoning, problem solving, decision-making and planning.

The parietal lobe controls sensations, such as touch, pressure, pain and temperature. It also controls the understanding of size, shape and direction (called spatial orientation).

The temporal lobe controls hearing, memory and emotions. The dominant (left side in most right-handed people) temporal lobe also controls speech.

The occipital lobe controls vision.

Cerebellum

The cerebellum is located under the cerebrum at the back of the brain. It is divided into 2 parts or hemispheres and also has grey and white matter.

The cerebellum is responsible for:

  • movement
  • posture
  • balance
  • reflexes
  • complex actions (walking, talking)
  • collecting sensory information from the body

Brain stem

The brain stem is a bundle of nerve tissue at the base of the brain. It connects the cerebrum and cerebellum to the spinal cord.

The brain stem has 3 areas:

  • midbrain (also called the mesencephalon)
  • pons
  • medulla oblongata

The brain stem sends information to and from the other parts of the brain to the rest of the body and controls:

  • breathing
  • body temperature
  • blood pressure
  • heart rate
  • hunger and thirst
  • digestion of food

Cerebrospinal fluid (CSF)

The cerebrospinal fluid (CSF) is a clear, watery liquid that surrounds, cushions and protects the brain and spinal cord. The CSF also carries nutrients in the blood to (and removes waste products from) the brain. It circulates through chambers called ventricles and over the surface of the brain and spinal cord.

Meninges

The brain and spinal cord are covered and protected by 3 layers of tissue (membranes) called the meninges:

  • dura mater – thickest outer membrane
  • arachnoid layer – middle, thin membrane
  • pia mater – inner, thin membrane

The CSF flows in the space between the arachnoid layer and the pia mater. This space is called the subarachnoid space.

Corpus callosum

The corpus callosum is a bundle of nerve fibres that allows communication between the 2 cerebral hemispheres. It is the largest fibre bundle in the brain.

Thalamus

The thalamus is a structure in the middle of the brain that has 2 lobes or sections. It acts as a relay station for almost all information that comes and goes between the brain and the rest of the nervous system in the body.

Hypothalamus

The hypothalamus is a small structure in the middle of the brain below the thalamus. It plays a part in controlling body temperature, hormonehormoneA substance that regulates specific body functions, such as metabolism, growth and reproduction. secretion, blood pressure, emotions, appetite and sleep patterns.

Pituitary gland

The pituitary gland is a small, pea-sized organ in the centre of the brain. It is attached to the hypothalamus and makes a number of different hormones that affect other glands of the body’s endocrine systemendocrine systemThe group of glands and cells in the body that make and release hormones (which control many functions such as growth, reproduction, sleep, hunger and metabolism) into the blood.. It receives messages from the hypothalamus and releases hormones that control the thyroid and adrenal gland, as well as growth and physical and sexual development.

Pineal gland

The pineal gland is a very small gland in the third ventricle of the brain. It produces the hormone melatonin, which influences sleeping and waking patterns and sexual development.

Choroid plexus

The choroid plexus is a small organ in the ventricles that makes CSF.

Cranial nerves

There are 12 pairs of cranial nerves that perform specific functions in the head and neck, including giving us our sense of smell, sight (vision), hearing, taste, speech, feeling in the face and movement of the muscles in the face, eyes and tongue. One pair of nerves starts in specialized cells in the roof of the nose and another pair starts in the retina of the eye. The other 10 pairs start in the brain stem.

Blood-brain barrier (BBB)

The blood-brain barrier (BBB) is a specialized system of cells lining blood vessels in the brain. The BBB prevents most substances in the blood from passing into the brain and helps maintain a constant environment so the nerve cells in the brain can work properly.

The BBB is made up of very small blood vessels (capillaries) that are lined with thin, flat endothelial cells. In other parts of the body, endothelial cells have small spaces between them that allow substances to move in and out of the capillary so they can reach other cells and tissues. In the brain, the endothelial cells are packed tightly together so substances cannot pass out of the bloodstream into the brain.

Structure and function of the spine

Graphic of the spine

The spine is made up of 26 bones divided into 5 sections. These bones surround and protect the spinal cord. This includes 24 vertebrae (divided into cervical, thoracic and lumbar regions), the sacrum and the coccyx.

Cervical region – These are 7 vertebrae at the top of the spine that run from the base of the skull to the lowest part of the neck.

 

Thoracic region – These are 12 vertebrae that run from the shoulders to the middle of the back.

Lumbar region – These are 5 vertebrae that run from the middle of the back to the hips.

Sacrum – This is a large section of fused vertebrae at the base of the spine.

Coccyx (tail bone) – This is a small, thin section of fused vertebrae at the end of the spine.

Between the vertebrae are the discs (intervertebral discs).

 

Disc – A layer of cartilage found between the vertebrae. Discs cushion and protect the vertebrae and spinal cord.

Spinal cord

The spinal cord is a thick column of nerves surrounded by vertebrae that runs from the brain stem to the lumbar region of the spine. Like the brain, the spinal cord has both grey and white matter. The spinal cord sends information between the brain and most of the body through the spinal nerves.

Spinal nerves

Pairs of spinal nerves exit the vertebrae along the length of the spinal cord. At the lumbar region, the spinal cord branches into a group of spinal nerves that exit the lumbar vertebrae and sacrum. The spinal nerves control body functions like movement, bladder and bowel control and breathing. The spinal nerves are numbered after nearby vertebrae.

Stories

Dr Troy Harkness Finding new ways to treat drug-resistant cancers

Read more

How can you stop cancer before it starts?

It's My Life! icon

Discover how your lifestyle choices can affect cancer risk and how you can take action with our interactive tool – It’s My Life!

Learn more

Tumeurs au cerveau et à la moelle épinière chez l’enfant

Vous êtes ici:

L’encéphale et la moelle épinière

L’encéphale, communément appelé cerveau puisqu’il occupe la majeure partie de l’encéphale, est un organe complexe fait de tissus nerveux et de tissus de soutien spécialisés. Il est entouré de nombreux os qui forment le crâne. La partie du crâne où loge l’encéphale est appelée boîte crânienne. La partie inférieure de l’encéphale, soit la base, est liée à la moelle épinière. Ensemble, l'encéphale et la moelle épinière forment le système nerveux central (SNC). De nombreux nerfs transmettent des signaux électriques en direction et en provenance de l’encéphale et de la moelle épinière.

Structure et fonction de l’encéphale

L'encéphale est le centre de commande du corps. Il reçoit et interprète constamment les signaux nerveux du corps et envoie de nouveaux signaux fondés sur ces informations. Différentes parties de l'encéphale commandent les mouvements, la parole, les émotions et la conscience, de même que les fonctions internes du corps dont la fréquence cardiaque, la respiration et la température corporelle.

L’encéphale est constitué de 3 parties principales soit le cerveau, le cervelet et le tronc cérébral.

Schéma du système nerveux central

Types de cellules dans l’encéphale

L’encéphale est formé de 2 types principaux de cellules.

Les cellules nerveuses (neurones) transmettent les signaux électriques qui font fonctionner le système nerveux. Elles ne peuvent pas être remplacées ni réparées lorsqu'elles sont endommagées. Ce sont les cellules les plus longues du corps.

Schéma de la structure d'un neurone

Les cellules gliales (cellules neurogliales) soutiennent, alimentent et protègent les cellules nerveuses. Les différents types de cellules gliales sont les suivants :

  • astrocytes
  • oligodendrocytes
  • épendymocytes
  • cellules microgliales

Cerveau

Le cerveau est la partie la plus volumineuse de l'encéphale (ce qui explique l’emploi fréquent du mot « cerveau » plutôt que « encéphale » dans le langage courant). Il est divisé en 2 moitiés appelées hémisphère cérébral gauche et hémisphère cérébral droit. Ces 2 hémisphères sont reliés par un pont de fibres nerveuses appelé corps calleux.

La moitié droite du cerveau (hémisphère droit) commande le côté gauche du corps tandis que la moitié gauche du cerveau (hémisphère gauche) commande le côté droit du corps.

Le cortex cérébral est la partie externe du cerveau qui est formée de replis. On l’appelle aussi substance grise. Le cortex cérébral est surtout constitué des corps cellulaires et des dendrites des cellules nerveuses (neurones). Les corps cellulaires contiennent le noyau et d’autres parties essentielles de la cellule. Les dendrites sont les courts prolongements fibreux qui reçoivent des signaux d’autres cellules nerveuses. La partie interne du cerveau est appelée substance blanche. Elle est surtout composée des longues fibres des cellules nerveuses appelées axones qui font circuler des signaux entre le cerveau et le reste du corps. L’enveloppe graisseuse des axones, soit la myéline, donne à cette partie du cerveau une teinte blanchâtre.

Chaque hémisphère est divisé en 4 sections appelées lobes qui comprennent les lobes frontal, pariétal, temporal et occipital.

Schéma des lobes du cerveau

Chaque lobe a des fonctions différentes.

Le lobe frontal contrôle les mouvements, la parole, le comportement, la mémoire, les émotions et les fonctions intellectuelles comme la réflexion, le raisonnement, la résolution de problèmes, la prise de décisions et la planification.

Le lobe pariétal contrôle les sensations comme le toucher, la pression, la douleur et la température. Il commande aussi la compréhension de la taille, de la forme et de la direction, ce qu’on appelle orientation spatiale.

Le lobe temporal contrôle l’ouïe, la mémoire et les émotions. Le lobe temporal dominant, soit le côté gauche chez la plupart des droitiers, commande aussi la parole.

Le lobe occipital contrôle la vision.

Cervelet

Le cervelet est situé sous le cerveau, dans la partie arrière de l’encéphale. Il est divisé en 2 parties, ou hémisphères, et contient aussi de la substance grise et de la substance blanche.

Le cervelet est responsable :

  • des mouvements;
  • de la posture;
  • de l'équilibre;
  • des réflexes;
  • des actions complexes, comme marcher et parler;
  • de la collecte d’informations sensorielles du corps.

Tronc cérébral

Le tronc cérébral est un faisceau de tissu nerveux situé à la base de l'encéphale. Il relie le cerveau et le cervelet à la moelle épinière.

Le tronc cérébral est composé des 3 régions suivantes :

  • mésencéphale
  • pont
  • bulbe rachidien

Le tronc cérébral fait circuler des messages entre les autres parties de l’encéphale et le reste du corps et il contrôle les fonctions suivantes :

  • respiration
  • température du corps
  • pression artérielle
  • fréquence cardiaque
  • faim et soif
  • digestion des aliments

Liquide céphalorachidien

Le liquide céphalorachidien (LCR) est un liquide clair et aqueux qui entoure et protège le cerveau et la moelle épinière et leur sert de coussinet. Le LCR transporte aussi les éléments nutritifs du sang au cerveau et il en élimine les déchets. Le LCR circule dans des cavités appelées ventricules et à la surface du cerveau et de la moelle épinière.

Méninges

L'encéphale et la moelle épinière sont recouverts de 3 couches de tissu (membranes) qui les protègent appelées méninges :

  • dure-mère – couche externe, la plus épaisse
  • arachnoïde – membrane intermédiaire, mince
  • pie-mère – membrane interne, mince

Le LCR circule dans l’espace situé entre l’arachnoïde et la pie-mère. Cet espace est appelé espace sous-arachnoïdien.

Corps calleux

Le corps calleux est un faisceau de fibres nerveuses qui permet la communication entre les 2 hémisphères cérébraux. C’est le plus gros faisceau de fibres dans le cerveau.

Thalamus

Le thalamus est une structure située au centre de l’encéphale qui est composée de 2 lobes, ou sections. Il sert de relais à presque toute l’information qui circule entre l’encéphale et le reste du système nerveux.

Hypothalamus

L'hypothalamus est une petite structure au centre de l’encéphale, sous le thalamus. Il joue un rôle dans la régulation de la température corporelle, de la sécrétion d'hormones, de la pression artérielle, des émotions, de l’appétit et des habitudes de sommeil.

Hypophyse

L'hypophyse est un petit organe de la grosseur d'un pois, qui est situé au centre de l’encéphale. Elle est fixée à l'hypothalamus et produit un certain nombre d’hormones différentes qui affectent d’autres glandes du système endocrinien. Elle reçoit des messages en provenance de l’hypothalamus et libère des hormones qui contrôlent la glande thyroïde, la glande surrénale, la croissance et le développement physique ainsi que le développement sexuel.

Corps pinéal

Le corps pinéal est une très petite glande située dans le troisième ventricule de l’encéphale. Il produit l’hormone appelée mélatonine, qui affecte les rythmes veille-sommeil et le développement sexuel.

Plexus choroïde

Le plexus choroïde est un petit organe situé dans les ventricules qui fabrique le LCR.

Nerfs crâniens

Il y a 12 paires de nerfs crâniens qui exécutent des fonctions spécifiques dans la tête et le cou, dont nous procurer le sens de l’odorat, de la vue (vision), de l’ouïe, du goût ainsi que la parole, les sensations au visage et les mouvements des muscles du visage, des yeux et de la langue. Une paire de nerfs prend naissance dans des cellules spécialisées du toit du nez et une autre dans la rétine de l’œil. Les 10 autres paires de nerfs crâniens prennent naissance dans le tronc cérébral.

Barrière hémato-encéphalique

La barrière hémato-encéphalique (BHE) est un système spécialisé de cellules qui tapissent les vaisseaux sanguins du cerveau. La BHE empêche la plupart des substances présentes dans le sang d’entrer dans le cerveau et aide à maintenir un environnement stable afin que les cellules nerveuses du cerveau puissent fonctionner correctement.

La BHE est formée de très petits vaisseaux sanguins (capillaires) qui sont recouverts de cellules endothéliales minces et plates. Dans d’autres parties du corps, les cellules endothéliales sont séparées l'une de l'autre par de petits espaces qui permettent aux substances d'entrer et de sortir des capillaires et d'aller vers d'autres cellules et tissus. Dans le cerveau, les cellules endothéliales sont très serrées les unes contre les autres de manière à empêcher toute substance de sortir de la circulation sanguine pour aller dans le cerveau.

Structure et fonction de la colonne vertébrale

Schéma de la colonne vertébrale

La colonne vertébrale est composée de 26 os divisés en 5 sections. Ces os entourent et protègent la moelle épinière et comprennent 24 vertèbres (divisées en régions cervicale, thoracique et lombaire), le sacrum et le coccyx.

Région cervicale – Elle comprend 7 vertèbres dans le haut de la colonne vertébrale qui partent de la base du crâne et qui descendent jusqu’à la partie la plus basse du cou.

Région thoracique – Elle comprend 12 vertèbres qui partent des épaules et qui descendent jusqu’au milieu du dos.

Région lombaire – Elle comprend 5 vertèbres qui partent du milieu du dos et qui descendent jusqu’aux hanches.

Sacrum – C’est une large section de vertèbres soudées située à la base de la colonne vertébrale.

Coccyx – C’est une petite section mince de vertèbres soudées située à l’extrémité inférieure de la colonne vertébrale.

Entre les vertèbres se trouvent les disques (disques intervertébraux).

Disque – C’est une couche de cartilage située entre chaque vertèbre qui sert de coussinet aux vertèbres et à la moelle épinière et qui les protège.

Moelle épinière

La moelle épinière est une colonne épaisse de nerfs entourée des vertèbres qui s'étend du tronc cérébral jusqu’à la région lombaire de la colonne vertébrale. Tout comme le cerveau, la moelle épinière contient de la substance grise et de la substance blanche. La moelle épinière fait circuler de l’information entre le cerveau et une grande partie du corps par les nerfs rachidiens.

Nerfs rachidiens

Des paires de nerfs rachidiens émergent entre les vertèbres le long de la moelle épinière. Dans la région lombaire, la moelle épinière se ramifie en un groupe de nerfs rachidiens qui émergent des vertèbres lombaires et du sacrum. Les nerfs rachidiens commandent des fonctions corporelles telles que les mouvements, le contrôle de la vessie et de l'intestin et la respiration. Les nerfs rachidiens sont numérotés d’après les vertèbres voisines.

hormone

Substance qui régule certaines fonctions du corps comme le métabolisme, la croissance et la reproduction.

Les hormones naturelles sont produites par les glandes. Des hormones artificielles, ou synthétiques, peuvent être fabriquées en laboratoire.

système endocrinien

Groupe de glandes et de cellules du corps fabriquant et libérant des hormones dans le sang, qui contrôlent de nombreuses fonctions comme la croissance, la reproduction, le sommeil, la faim et le métabolisme.

Le système endocrinien est constitué de l’hypothalamus, de l’hypophyse, de l’épiphyse, de la glande thyroïde, des glandes parathyroïdes, des glandes surrénales, des îlots pancréatiques (aussi appelés îlots de Langerhans) et des ovaires ou des testicules.

Histoires

Photo of Pat Hartley Malgré l’expérience et les connaissances que j’avais sur le cancer, j’étais en état de choc.

Lisez l'histoire de Pat

Comment stopper le cancer avant qu’il n’apparaisse?

Découvrez l’impact de vos habitudes de vie sur le risque de cancer et voyez comment prendre les choses en main à l’aide de notre outil interactif – C’est ma vie!

Apprenez-en plus