Childhood brain and spinal tumours

You are here: 

Germ cell tumours of the brain

Germ cell tumours occur mostly in the area above the pituitary gland or in the pineal region of the brain. They start in germ cells found in the brain.

Types of germ cell tumours

There are 2 main types:

Germinomas are more common. Germinomas can cause a small increase in human chorionic gonadotropin (HCG or b-HCG).

Non-germinatous germ cell tumours are less common. They are also known as non-germinomas. They are sometimes called mixed malignant germ cell tumours or secreting tumours because they can secrete substances (tumour markers) such as alpha-fetoprotein (AFP) and HCG.

Recurrent germ cell tumours are tumours that have come back after treatment.

Treatment of germ cell tumours

Treatment of germ cell tumours of the brain depends on the type of germ cell tumour. Surgery is often used to obtain a biopsy for diagnosis. But most germ cell tumours are treated with radiation therapy or a combination of radiation therapy and chemotherapy instead of surgery. This is because germ cell tumours are often hard to reach with surgery.

Germinomas are very sensitive to chemotherapy and radiation therapy. Germinomas may be treated using the following:

  • whole-ventricle radiation therapy
  • radiation therapy to the brain and spine (craniospinal radiation)
  • chemotherapy and radiation therapy to the tumour
  • chemotherapy alone

Non-germinomas are sensitive to chemotherapy but less sensitive to radiation. Non-germinomas may be treated using the following:

  • chemotherapy and craniospinal radiation
  • chemotherapy and radiation therapy to the tumour
  • chemotherapy alone

Radiation therapy

Radiation therapy is commonly used to treat germinomas. It may be the only type of therapy needed because these types of germ cell tumours are very sensitive to radiation and can often be cured with radiation therapy.

In children under 3 years old, radiation is delayed (if possible) to avoid long-term effects of radiation on developing brain cells. In these cases, chemotherapy will be given until the child reaches the age of 3. The type of radiation used is craniospinal radiation or whole-ventricle radiation with a boost to the primary tumour.

Chemotherapy

Chemotherapy is often combined with radiation therapy to treat germ cell tumours. This has proven to improve survival rates and allows doctors to give a lower dose of radiation. Chemotherapy could also be used to delay giving radiation therapy to children under 3 years old.

Chemotherapy drugs that may be used include:

  • cyclophosphamide (Cytoxan, Procytox)
  • ifosfamide (Ifex)
  • etoposide (Vepesid, VP-16)
  • cisplatin (Platinol AQ)
  • carboplatin (Paraplatin, Paraplatin AQ)

Surgery

Surgery is used to treat a type of germ cell tumour called a mature teratoma. Surgery is not usually used to treat any other types of germ cell tumours. If non-germinomas don’t respond to chemotherapy, surgery may be used.

Treatment of recurrent germ cell tumours

Treatment for recurrent germ cell tumours will depend on previous treatment. Children who previously had chemotherapy are often treated with craniospinal radiation therapy. Recurrent germ cell tumours may also be treated with high-dose chemotherapy followed by stem cell transplant.

Clinical trials

Many children with germ cell tumours are treated in a clinical trial. Clinical trials look at new ways to prevent, find and treat cancer. Find out more about clinical trials.

Stories

Photo of Pat Hartley It didn’t matter how much experience and knowledge I had about cancer. I was in shock.

Read Pat's story

How can you stop cancer before it starts?

It's My Life! icon

Discover how your lifestyle choices can affect cancer risk and how you can take action with our interactive tool – It’s My Life!

Learn more

Tumeurs au cerveau et à la moelle épinière chez l’enfant

Vous êtes ici:

Tumeur germinale cérébrale

La tumeur germinale apparaît surtout dans la région située au-dessus de l’hypophyse ou dans la région pinéale. Elle prend naissance dans les cellules germinales.

Types de tumeurs germinales

Il existe 2 types principaux de tumeurs germinales.

Le séminome est plus fréquent. Il peut provoquer une légère hausse du taux de gonadotrophine chorionique humaine (HCG ou BHCG).

La tumeur germinale non séminomateuse est moins fréquente. On la connaît aussi sous le nom de non-séminome. On l’appelle parfois tumeur germinale maligne mixte ou tumeur germinale sécrétante puisqu’elle peut produire des substances (marqueurs tumoraux) comme l’alpha-fœtoprotéine (AFP) et la HCG.

La tumeur germinale récidivante est une tumeur qui est réapparue après avoir été traitée.

Traitement de la tumeur germinale

Le traitement de la tumeur germinale cérébrale dépend du type de tumeur germinale. On pratique souvent une chirurgie pour obtenir un prélèvement (biopsie) qui servira au diagnostic. Mais on traite la plupart des tumeurs germinales par radiothérapie ou une association de radiothérapie et de chimiothérapie au lieu de la chirurgie puisque la tumeur germinale est souvent difficile à atteindre par chirurgie.

Le séminome est très sensible à la chimiothérapie et à la radiothérapie. On peut le traiter des façons suivantes :

  • radiothérapie ventriculaire totale
  • radiothérapie au cerveau et à la colonne vertébrale (radiothérapie craniospinale)
  • chimiothérapie et radiothérapie de la tumeur
  • chimiothérapie seulement

La tumeur germinale non séminomateuse est sensible à la chimiothérapie mais moins à la radiothérapie. On peut la traiter des façons suivantes :

  • chimiothérapie et radiothérapie craniospinale
  • chimiothérapie et radiothérapie de la tumeur
  • chimiothérapie seulement

Radiothérapie

On a couramment recours à la radiothérapie pour traiter le séminome. Elle peut être le seul type de traitement nécessaire puisque cette tumeur germinale est très sensible à la radiation et peut souvent être guérie par radiothérapie.

Chez les enfants âgés de moins de 3 ans, on retarde la radiothérapie, si possible, pour éviter les effets à long terme de la radiation sur les cellules cérébrales en développement. Dans ce cas-là, on administre une chimiothérapie jusqu’à ce que l’enfant atteigne l’âge de 3 ans. Le type de radiothérapie auquel on a alors recours est la radiothérapie craniospinale ou la radiothérapie ventriculaire totale avec un complément d’irradiation à la tumeur primitive.

Chimiothérapie

On associe souvent la chimiothérapie à la radiothérapie pour traiter les tumeurs germinales. Cela s’est révélé efficace pour accroître la survie et permettre aux médecins d’administrer une plus faible dose de radiation. On peut aussi avoir recours à la chimiothérapie pour retarder la radiothérapie chez les enfants âgés de moins de 3 ans.

On peut avoir recours aux agents chimiothérapeutiques suivants :

  • cyclophosphamide (Cytoxan, Procytox)
  • ifosfamide (Ifex)
  • étoposide (Vepesid, VP-16)
  • cisplatine (Platinol AQ)
  • carboplatine (Paraplatin, Paraplatin AQ)

Chirurgie

On pratique une chirurgie pour traiter un type de tumeur germinale appelé tératome mature. On n’a habituellement pas recours à la chirurgie pour traiter tout autre type de tumeur germinale. Si la tumeur germinale non séminomateuse ne réagit pas à la chimiothérapie, on pourrait alors faire une chirurgie.

Traitement de la tumeur germinale récidivante

Le traitement de la tumeur germinale récidivante dépend du traitement administré auparavant. Les enfants qui ont déjà reçu une chimiothérapie sont souvent traités par radiothérapie craniospinale. On peut aussi traiter la tumeur germinale récidivante par chimiothérapie à forte dose suivie d’une greffe de cellules souches.

Essais cliniques

De nombreux enfants atteints d’une tumeur germinale sont traités en essai clinique. Les essais cliniques visent à trouver de nouvelles méthodes de prévention, de détection et de traitement du cancer. Apprenez-en davantage sur les essais cliniques.

Histoires

Dr Lillian Sung Améliorer les soins de soutien pour les enfants atteints de cancer

Plus de details

Investir pour réduire le fardeau du cancer

Icône – tirelire

L’an dernier, la SCC a financé la recherche sur le cancer à hauteur de 40 millions de dollars, grâce à nos donateurs. Découvrez comment vous pouvez aider à réduire le fardeau du cancer.

Apprenez-en plus