Bone cancer

You are here: 

What is bone cancer?

Bone cancer is a malignant tumour that starts in bone or cartilage cells. Malignant means that it can spread (metastasize) to other parts of the body. When cancer starts in bone or cartilage cells, it is called primary bone cancer.

Together, groups of bones and cartilages form the skeleton. Bones protect organs inside the body and give the body structure and support. Cartilage covers the ends of bones. It stops bones from rubbing together and acts like a cushion.

Bone or cartilage cells sometimes change and no longer grow or behave normally. These changes may lead to benign conditions such as bone cysts. They can also lead to benign tumours such as osteochondroma or enchondroma. Benign conditions and tumours are not cancerous. But in some cases, changes to bone or cartilage cells cause bone cancer.

The most common type of bone cancer is called osteosarcoma. It starts in bone cells. The second most common type of bone cancer starts in cartilage cells and is called chondrosarcoma. Ewing sarcoma is the third most common bone cancer in adults, but it occurs more often in children and teenagers.

Rare types of bone cancer can also develop. These include fibrosarcoma and malignant fibrous histiocytoma (MFH), which develop in the arms, legs or jaw bones. Chordoma is another rare tumour. It can develop in the spine.

Other types of cancer can spread to the bones, but this is not the same disease as primary bone cancer. Cancer that starts in another part of the body and spreads to the bone is called bone metastasis. It is not treated in the same way as primary bone cancer. Find out more about bone metastasis.

Diagram of the human skeleton

Stories

Dr Peter Dirks A driving force behind relapse in childhood brain cancer

Read more

Funding world-class research

Icon - paper

Cancer affects all Canadians but together we can reduce the burden by investing in research and prevention efforts. Learn about the impact of our funded research.

Learn more

Cancer des os

Vous êtes ici:

Qu’est-ce que le cancer des os?

Le cancer des os est une tumeur maligne qui prend naissance dans les cellules osseuses ou cartilagineuses. Le mot « maligne » signifie que la tumeur peut se propager (métastases) à d’autres parties du corps. Un cancer qui débute dans les cellules osseuses ou cartilagineuses est appelé cancer primitif des os.

L’ensemble des os et des cartilages forme le squelette. Les os protègent les organes internes du corps, soutiennent l’ensemble du corps et lui donnent sa structure. Le cartilage couvre les extrémités des os et leur sert de coussin. Il empêche ainsi les os de frotter les uns contre les autres.

Les cellules osseuses ou cartilagineuses subissent parfois des changements qui rendent leur mode de croissance ou leur comportement anormal. Ces changements peuvent engendrer des affections bénignes, comme des kystes osseux. Ils peuvent aussi entraîner la formation de tumeurs bénignes, dont l’ostéochondrome ou l’enchondrome. Les affections et les tumeurs bénignes sont non cancéreuses. Cependant, dans certains cas, des modifications dans les cellules osseuses ou cartilagineuses peuvent causer un cancer des os.

L’ostéosarcome est le type le plus courant de cancer des os. Il prend naissance dans les cellules osseuses. Le deuxième type le plus courant de cancer des os, appelé chondrosarcome, apparaît dans les cellules cartilagineuses. Le sarcome d’Ewing est au troisième rang des cancers des os chez l’adulte, mais il affecte plus souvent les enfants et les adolescents.

Des types rares de cancers des os peuvent aussi se manifester. Le fibrosarcome et l’histiocytome fibreux malin (HFM), qui se développent dans les bras, les jambes ou les mâchoires, en sont des exemples. Le chordome est une autre tumeur rare qui peut se développer dans la colonne vertébrale.

D’autres types de cancers peuvent se propager aux os, mais ce n’est pas la même maladie qu’un cancer primitif des os. Un cancer qui prend naissance dans une autre partie du corps et qui se répand ensuite aux os est appelé métastase osseuse; celle-ci est traitée différemment d’un cancer primitif des os. Apprenez-en davantage sur les métastases osseuses.

Schéma du squelette humain

Histoires

David Rex Lorsque j’ai reçu mon diagnostic de cancer, une foule de questions me sont venues à l’esprit.

Lisez l’histoire de David

Comment stopper le cancer avant qu’il n’apparaisse?

Découvrez l’impact de vos habitudes de vie sur le risque de cancer et voyez comment prendre les choses en main à l’aide de notre outil interactif – C’est ma vie!

Apprenez-en plus