Canadian Cancer Society logo

Childhood bone
cancer

You are here: 

Risk factors for childhood bone cancer

A risk factor is something that increases the risk of developing cancer. It could be a behaviour, substance or condition. Most cancers are the result of many risk factors. But sometimes childhood bone cancer develops in children who don’t have any of the risk factors described below.

Osteosarcoma is the most common type of childhood bone cancer. The risk for this cancer is highest during the growth spurt in the teenage years. It occurs slightly more often in boys and in children of African ancestry.

Ewing sarcoma is the second most common bone tumour in children. It is slightly more common in boys than girls and usually develops in the teenage years. Ewing sarcoma is significantly less common in children of African ancestry.

There are no known risk factors for Ewing sarcoma. The following are risk factors for childhood osteosarcoma. All of the known risk factors for childhood osteosarcoma are not modifiable. This means that you can’t change them. Until we learn more about these risk factors, there are no specific ways to reduce the risk of childhood osteosarcoma.

Risk factors are generally listed in order from most to least important. But in most cases, it is impossible to rank them with absolute certainty.

Known risk factors for childhood osteosarcoma

There is convincing evidence that the following factors increase a child’s risk for osteosarcoma.

Genetic syndromes

Genes are the basic biological unit of heredity passed from parents to a child. A genetic syndrome is a group of conditions or symptoms caused by a mutation (change) in one or more genes. Having any of the following genetic syndromes can raise the risk of developing childhood osteosarcoma.

Familial retinoblastoma

Retinoblastoma is an eye cancer that occurs in children. It can be passed from parents to a child. Children with the inherited form of retinoblastoma have a higher risk of developing osteosarcoma and soft tissue sarcoma.

Li-Fraumeni syndrome

Li-Fraumeni syndrome is a rare inherited condition. It greatly increases the risk of developing several types of cancer in children and young adults, including osteosarcoma, rhabdomyosarcoma and other soft tissue sarcomas, breast cancer, brain tumours and leukemia.

Rothmund-Thompson syndrome

Rothmund-Thompson syndrome is an inherited condition that affects a child’s growth and causes skeletal problems and skin rashes. Children with Rothmund-Thompson syndrome are more likely to develop osteosarcoma.

Werner syndrome

Werner syndrome is an inherited condition that causes children to age very rapidly after puberty. Werner syndrome increases the risk of developing osteosarcoma and other cancers.

Bloom syndrome

Bloom syndrome is an inherited condition caused by a large number of abnormalities in the chromosomes. (A chromosomes is the part of a cell that contains genetic information.) A child with Bloom syndrome is usually smaller than average and has a high-pitched voice and characteristic facial appearance. Bloom syndrome increases the risk of developing osteosarcoma and other childhood cancers, including leukemia and Wilms’ tumour.

Previous radiation therapy

Children who recieved radiation therapy have a higher risk of developing osteosarcoma in the area that was treated with radiation. The risk is greater if higher doses of radiation therapy were used and if the child was treated at a young age. Osteosarcoma typically occurs 5–20 years after radiation therapy.

Previous chemotherapy

Children who received certain types of chemotherapy have a higher risk of developing osteosarcoma. The risk may be increased if the child also received radiation therapy.

Certain bone diseases

Children with certain bone diseases, such as Paget disease of the bone, have a higher risk of developing osteosarcoma later in life (usually as an adult). Paget disease of the bone is a condition that affects the bone so that it breaks down and regrows faster than normal. It causes abnormal bone tissue to form, which makes bones heavier, thicker, weaker and more likely to break than normal bones.

Unknown risk factor for childhood osteosarcoma

It isn’t known whether or not fluoride in drinking water is linked with childhood osteosarcoma. It may be that researchers can’t show a definite link or that studies have had different results. Further study is needed to see if fluoride is a risk factor for osteosarcoma in children.

Questions to ask your healthcare team

Ask your child’s healthcare team questions about risks.

Stories

Dr Claude Perreault Harnessing the immune system to fight cancer

Read more

How can you stop cancer before it starts?

It's My Life! icon

Discover how your lifestyle choices can affect cancer risk and how you can take action with our interactive tool – It’s My Life!

Learn more

Logo Société canadienne du cancer

Cancer des os chez l’enfant

Vous êtes ici:

Facteurs de risque du cancer des os chez l'enfant

Un facteur de risque est quelque chose comme un comportement, une substance ou un état qui accroît le risque d’apparition d’un cancer. La plupart des cancers sont attribuables à de nombreux facteurs de risque, mais il arrive parfois que le cancer des os se manifeste chez des enfants qui ne présentent aucun des facteurs de risque décrits ci-dessous.

L’ostéosarcome est le type le plus courant de cancer des os chez l’enfant. Le risque d’être atteint de ce cancer est le plus élevé au cours de la poussée de croissance de l’adolescence. L’ostéosarcome apparaît un peu plus souvent chez les garçons et les enfants d’origine africaine.

Le sarcome d’Ewing est le deuxième type le plus courant de cancer des os chez l’enfant. Il apparaît un peu plus chez les garçons que chez les filles et se manifeste habituellement à l’adolescence. Le sarcome d’Ewing est beaucoup moins courant chez les enfants d’origine africaine.

On ne connaît pas de facteurs de risque du sarcome d'Ewing. Les facteurs de risque qui suivent se rapportent à l’ostéosarcome chez l’enfant (infantile). Tous les facteurs de risque connus de l’ostéosarcome infantile ne sont pas modifiables. Cela signifie que vous ne pouvez pas les changer. D’ici à ce qu’on en sache davantage sur ces facteurs de risque, il n’y a pas de façon spécifique de réduire le risque d’apparition de l’ostéosarcome infantile.

Les facteurs de risque sont habituellement classés du plus important au moins important. Mais dans la plupart des cas, il est impossible de les classer avec une certitude absolue.

Facteurs de risque connus de l’ostéosarcome infantile

Des preuves convaincantes permettent d’affirmer que les facteurs suivants font augmenter le risque d’un enfant d’être atteint d’un ostéosarcome.

Syndromes génétiques

Les gènes sont les unités biologiques de base de l’hérédité transmises des parents à leurs enfants. Un syndrome génétique est un groupe d’affections ou de symptômes causés par une mutation (changement) dans un ou plusieurs gènes. Être atteint d'un des syndromes génétiques suivants peut accroître le risque d’ostéosarcome infantile.

Rétinoblastome familial

Le rétinoblastome est un cancer de l'oeil qui affecte les enfants. Il peut être transmis des parents à leurs enfants. Les enfants atteints de la forme héréditaire du rétinoblastome risquent davantage d’avoir un ostéosarcome et un sarcome des tissus mous.

Syndrome de Li-Fraumeni

Le syndrome de Li-Fraumeni est une affection héréditaire rare. Il accroît grandement le risque d’apparition de plusieurs types de cancer chez les enfants et les jeunes adultes dont l'ostéosarcome, le rhabdomyosarcome et d’autres sarcomes des tissus mous, le cancer du sein, le cancer du cerveau et la leucémie.

Syndrome de Rothmund-Thompson

Le syndrome de Rothmund-Thompson est une affection héréditaire qui nuit à la croissance de l'enfant et qui cause des troubles squelettiques et des éruptions cutanées. Les enfants atteints de ce syndrome sont plus susceptibles d’avoir un ostéosarcome.

Syndrome de Werner

Le syndrome de Werner est une affection héréditaire qui engendre un vieillissement très rapide de l’enfant après la puberté. Il fait aussi augmenter le risque d’apparition d’un ostéosarcome et d’autres cancers.

Syndrome de Bloom

Le syndrome de Bloom est une affection héréditaire causée par un grand nombre d’anomalies dans les chromosomes. (Le chromosome est la partie d’une cellule qui contient l’information génétique.) L’enfant atteint du syndrome de Bloom est habituellement plus petit que la moyenne, sa voix est aiguë et son visage a un aspect caractéristique. Le syndrome de Bloom accroît le risque d’apparition d’un ostéosarcome et d’autres types de cancer infantile, dont la leucémie et la tumeur de Wilms.

Radiothérapie antérieure

Les enfants qui ont déjà reçu une radiothérapie risquent davantage d'être atteints d'un ostéosarcome dans la région qui a été traitée par radiation. Le risque est encore plus grand si on a administré de fortes doses et si l’enfant a été traité à un jeune âge. L'ostéosarcome se manifeste typiquement de 5 à 20 ans après la radiothérapie.

Chimiothérapie antérieure

Les enfants qui ont déjà reçu certains types de chimiothérapie risquent davantage d'être atteints d'un ostéosarcome. Le risque peut être plus grand si les enfants ont également été traités par radiothérapie.

Certaines maladies osseuses

Les enfants atteints de certaines maladies des os, comme la maladie osseuse de Paget, risquent davantage d’avoir un ostéosarcome plus tard (habituellement à l'âge adulte). La maladie osseuse de Paget affecte les os de telle sorte qu’ils se brisent puis qu’ils croissent de nouveau mais plus vite que la normale. Elle provoque la formation de tissu osseux anormal, qui rend les os plus lourds, plus épais, plus faibles et plus susceptibles de se briser que les os normaux.

Facteur de risque inconnu de l’ostéosarcome infantile

On n’arrive pas encore à déterminer si la présence de fluorure dans l'eau potable est liée à l’ostéosarcome infantile. C’est peut-être parce que les chercheurs ne parviennent pas à établir définitivement ce lien ou que les études ont engendré différents résultats. Il faut mener d’autres études afin de savoir si le fluorure est un facteur de risque de l’ostéosarcome chez l’enfant.

Questions à poser à votre équipe de soins

Posez des questions sur les risques à l’équipe de soins de votre enfant.

Histoires

Lisa Hamel Je suis la preuve qu’il est possible de mener une vie normale après le cancer.

Lisez l’histoire de Lisa

Comment stopper le cancer avant qu’il n’apparaisse?

Découvrez l’impact de vos habitudes de vie sur le risque de cancer et voyez comment prendre les choses en main à l’aide de notre outil interactif – C’est ma vie!

Apprenez-en plus