Childhood bone
cancer

You are here: 

Types of childhood bone cancer

There are 2 main types of bone cancer that develop in children.

Osteosarcoma

Osteosarcoma is the most common type of bone cancer in children. Almost 50% of all childhood bone cancers are osteosarcomas. They occur most often during the second decade of life during the adolescent growth spurt. They most commonly occur at the sites of the most rapid growth in the end (called the metaphysis) of a long bone. This includes the thigh bone (femur) next to the knee, the shin bone (tibia) next to the knee and the upper arm bone (humerus) next to the shoulder.

Ewing sarcoma

Ewing sarcoma of the bone is the second most common type of bone cancer in children. It develops in the middle or shaft of the long bones (called the diaphysis) or the bones of the axial skeleton, which includes the pelvis, ribs, spine and skull.

Stories

Carol Leuken You can’t travel with Prairie Women on Snowmobiles and not be changed.

Read more

Facing the financial burden of cancer

Illustration of coins

The Canadian Cancer Society provides helpful information about government income programs, financial resources and other resources available to families struggling to make sense of the personal financial burden they face.

Learn more

Cancer des os chez l’enfant

Vous êtes ici:

Types de cancer des os chez l’enfant

Il existe 2 types principaux de cancer des os chez l’enfant.

Ostéosarcome

L’ostéosarcome est le type le plus courant de cancer des os chez l’enfant. Près de 50 % de tous les cancers des os chez l’enfant sont des ostéosarcomes. Ils apparaissent le plus souvent au cours de la deuxième décennie, lors de la poussée de croissance de l’adolescence. Ils prennent naissance le plus fréquemment là où la croissance est la plus rapide à l’extrémité (métaphyse) d’un os long. On parle entre autres de l’os de la cuisse (fémur) à côté du genou, du tibia près du genou et de l’os du bras (humérus) à côté de l’épaule.

Sarcome d’Ewing

Le sarcome d’Ewing est le deuxième type le plus courant de cancer des os chez l’enfant. Il prend naissance au centre (corps) des os longs, soit la diaphyse, ou dans les os du squelette axial, qui comprennent le bassin, les côtes, la colonne vertébrale et le crâne.

Histoires

Dr Barbara Triggs Raine Des rongeurs qui nous fournissent des armes contre le cancer

Plus de details

Réconfort et sollicitude des bénévoles

Illustration de bénévoles

Dans les centres régionaux de cancer, les maisons d’hébergement et les hôpitaux communautaires, des milliers de bénévoles de la Société canadienne du cancer apportent leur soutien aux personnes qui reçoivent des traitements.

Apprenez-en plus